Public Mediation

My Claim vs. Dragone Classic Motor Cars

  • FREE crypto coins; suggest a fair resolution to this case
  • 5% of recovery offered for best resolution
W. W. vs. Dragone Classic Motor Cars
5 Connair Rd, Orange, Connecticut, 06477-3658, United States
Amount Involved: Other terms
Complaint(s): Problem with a product
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I, the plaintiff, William E. West am filing this claim against Dragone Classic Motor Cars of Westport, Ct. for the reinbursement of my costs to have a defect fixed on a car that they sold to me.  This defect was listed on the origional "Retail Purchase Order" under "written promises made to the consumer" as "Check and fix turn signals".  Dragone did contact a Mr. Anderson to come to my home and work on the car.  He did come and fixed several items, but did not work on the turn signals which are mounted along with the horn button as an assembly in the center of the stearing wheel.  This assembly rotated with the stearing wheel which it is not supposed to do.  This defect made the car illegle to drive for over two months.  I also have a transcript from a message that Mr. Manny Dragone left on my phone, in which he states his intent to have Mr. Anderson "fix your directional signals" among other things.  As this item was NOT accomplished, I was left to find a solution.
  I did find a dealership, Gassman Automotive Products Ltd. which was able to fix the problem which involved the removal of the Horn Head and substantial work within the stearing column.  The charge for this service was $1,450.89 which I paid and forwarded to Mr. Dragone for repayment. He has offered a payment of $700 which doesn't even cover the cost of the Horn Head, so I am bringing this action for reimbursement of the full amount, $1450.98 "
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 07-06-2017 — Sale of the car
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Dragone Classic Motor Cars Hide
  • Nov 24, 2017, Claiming party added:
  • This is a direct transcription of a message that Dragone left on my phone.
    "THis is Manny from Dragone Classic Cars. Manny Dragone. I spoke to Alex (his son). He said that you had some issues with the car. I have a guy that's down there that's an expert restorer that we know. And he's going to come over and go over the car, and you know make sure that it is running properly. And he's going to fix your directional signals, and just make sure that it is running properly and he straightens your instruments up. He said they were crooked, and have everything correct for you." (Anderson did come and work on the car, but did not work on the turn signals, nor was he able to straighten the instruments!) "I suspect maybe the trucker left the key on and burnt the points, or something that it's running erratically. But, in any case his name is Bill Anderson. I'm going to have him call you in a day or two, and I'm going to give him all your information, so that he can come over and straighten the car for you and make sure that everything is ok."

  • Nov 24, 2017, Claiming party added:
  • Dragone's counter offer is only slightly more than his origional offer!

  • Nov 28, 2017, Claiming party added:
  • I will sell the car back to Dragone for 2500 dollars less than I paid for it! This becomes a total of $4500 that I am willing to forgive on this claim. Dragone shall cover the cost to return the car to them.

  • Nov 28, 2017, Dragone Classic Motor Cars (responding party) added:
  • Mr obviously has made a frivolous claim . First he wants the car fixed then he claims he spent $1400 dolloars on a horn repair and now he wants me the dealer to buy the car back . We offered to settle after we already sent a technician at our expense buy paying 1/2 the bill . But his response is he does not want the car . No dealer will take a car back after 5 monthes . A settlement would be to negotiate between the $700 and the $1400

  • Nov 29, 2017, Claiming party added:
  • Thia claim was not just for a horn repair. It is for major work done by a fully qualified dealer on the car's steering column, to fix the turning signal problem which Dragone acknowledged on the original purchase order, and subsequent communication which was indicative of a much larger problem within the steering column.

  • Dec 01, 2017, Claiming party added:
  • I will settle this claim for $1175

What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
1. Jaguar XK 120 Dec 09, 2017 N/A
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Help out — earn RHUcoin
  • Suggest a fair resolution: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from community: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from disputant: 25 RHU each
  • Get the case resolved: 100 RHU
Jim Wicks says maybe M
Jim Wicks ("MAYBE"):
"The parties should agree to $1175 as full settlement. Mr. Dragone said (November 28), "A settlement would be to negotiate between the $700 and the $1400." Mr. West, the claimant, responded and said (December 1), "I will settle this claim for $1175." That should be a handshake. Right?"
 (12 months ago)
Reply
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with no explanation. This claim will remain posted until resolved.
  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Help out — earn RHUcoin
  • Suggest a fair resolution: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from community: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from disputant: 25 RHU each
  • Get the case resolved: 100 RHU
Offer History
Nov 22, 2017
Dragone Classic Motor Cars's counter offer to Claimant
Nov 17, 2017
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to Dragone Classic Motor Cars
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Alan Trachtman On 03-17-2018
    This sounds like a case of buyer's remorse to me. If the claimant refused a settlement offer of $700 for repair costs involved with the car's turn signals, he is not being reasonable in my professional opinion. The last XK120 Jaguar that was built is now 64 years old. These cars are notoriously unreliable to begin with, and electrical problems on these cars are the most common of all. The only way I would agree with the claimant's demands, would be if he paid a price approaching 6 figures or more for a car that was represented to have a had a thorough frame off top quality restoration that was in top condition with all systems working perfectly. If the turn signals are the only problem he's having with any old Jag, he should consider himself lucky indeed.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Keith Schulner On 12-23-2017
    It seems this case may settle for $1,000. Perhaps either side could do a bit better, but it would not likely be worth the time, so my suggest is, settle for $1,000 and move on.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Fran Fellowes On 12-20-2017
    Dragone Classic Motor Cars should abide by contract More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 12-05-2017
    Claimant's offer of $1175 to settle seems reasonable to me More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim