Public Mediation

Stephanie Simmons vs. Frontier Communications

Worst Customer Services Ever By Frontier Communications! Buyer Beware!

S. S. vs. Frontier Communications
401 Merritt 7, Tampa, Florida, 06851-1000, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"To whom it may concern:
I have been going round and round with frontier Fios about my account. There billing and customer service are the worst I have ever seen. I was a very happy Fios customer for years when Verizon Owned it. As soon as Frontier took over it has been one thing after another. I had major issues when they first switched over from Verizon with bad service and downtime but so did a whole bunch of other people. Here are my current details….Recently FIOS started raising my bill almost monthly over the last few months without me requesting any changes. Details below:

In July our bill was 220.42
August it raised to 246.15
December 261.02
January is 276.76 that’s almost 23%!!

At This point I decided it was not worth it as much cheaper options are available. I decided to call in and cancel my cable and phone services on 12/26/16, with no hard feelings. Upon calling is where the problems start…..I pushed the option to cancel my services which resulted in me being on hold for almost an hour before I got through to the first representative.

Day 1 REP#1 (Didn’t get name)
This representative was very rude and unhelpful. She had loud music playing in the background and put me on hold for long amounts of time on several instances. I explained to her that I wanted to cancel my cable service and phone service. Then I wanted to upgrade my speeds from 50mbs to 150mbs for the price advertised on the FIOS website ($64.99). She let me know that they would not honor that price due to us being existing customers and the BEST she could do was 89.99 per month….. After going back and forth a couple of times she asked me to hold again and actually sent me back to the main menu, which I believe was on purpose. This time from the main menu I decided to push the “other customer services” option instead of the cancel services option and got right through instead of having to wait an hour.

Day 1 REP#2 (Melissa)
The new customer service agent was very helpful and said she would get everything taken care of for me. She said she would put us at the 150 speed internet and cancel other services which would cost us $74.99 a month…… Now 15 minutes ago I was told by rep#1 that $89.99 was the best that they could do…. Where did the 18% difference come from? I was ok with the 74.99 we were quoted even though it was not what was advertised. She then informed us that Frontier would send us out prepaid packages to return their equipment, our TV service would be shut down that evening, and our internet should change the next day. I got off the phone with the impression that this was taken care of after over 2 HOURS on the phone….

The next day I noticed my tv was still on and my speeds had not changed I went on the Frontier website using the confirmation number the customer service rep had provided (065871276) and found the info below.
Order #: 065871276Order Date: Dec 26, 2016Status: Completed
Phone Number:
Completion Date:December 26, 2016
Products Removed:
STARZ/ENCORE Pack for Ultimate HD

Rep#2 had only canceled our starz / encore package which was never discussed at all. Our discussion was always to cancel EVERYTHING except for the internet and raise our speeds to 150mbs. I then decided to call back and check the status…

Day 2 Rep#3 (Taylor Ware)
Upon calling back I was told that there was nothing entered into the system regarding the changes I had requested and that all that was there was a order to drop the starz/encore package. I let her know what was discussed and what we needed (cancel all cable and phone, then add 150mbs internet). She informed me that she had taken care of the changes (Order#: 065894071). She again stated that we would be receiving the prepaid boxes to return the equipment. I was then told we would need to have a tech out to make the changes to our speeds. I was told that this would be completed at no charge to us. Because of the issues I had the previous day I asked Taylor to email me the details so that I knew there was no confusion before I took the day off to be here for the tech, which she did. Both emails are below…
Further Confirmation
Ware, Taylor
Reply all|
Tue 12/27/2016, 6:41 PM
Brad Simmons
Inbox
A second email was requested to verify that the billing for the phone and TV services has been stopped today. While the services may work until the 5th of January when the internet speed is upgraded, you will not be billed for this time span.
 
Also, I forgot to include in my last email to you, your new monthly bill will be 74.99 for the 150/150 standalone internet.
 
 
Thank You,
 
Taylor Ware
Residential Customer Service
Frontier Communications
Taylor.Ware@ftr.com
877-433-3806 Ext. 1727



Order Confirmation
Ware, Taylor
 
Reply all|
Tue 12/27/2016, 6:33 PM
Brad Simmons
Inbox
Hello Stephanie,
Today you called in to drop your phone service and your television service, as well as upgrade to 150/150, which will require a technician visit. This appointment is scheduled for January 5th between 8AM and 5PM. The confirmation number for these changes is 065894071. The boxes to return your TV equipment will be automatically sent to you once this order completes on January 5th.
 
 
Thank You,
 
Taylor Ware
Residential Customer Service
Frontier Communications
Taylor.Ware@ftr.com
877-433-3806 Ext. 1727

She then informed me that the earliest day that I could have a tech out was Jan 5th between 8am-5pm, so I took the day off to make sure I was here for the install. After sitting here all day I decided to check the status AGAIN. And found this:
Order #: 065894071Order Date: Dec 27, 2016Status: In-Progress
Phone Number:No Phone Number
Appointment Date/Time:

Completion Date:Please contact Customer Service at 1.800.921.8101 for completion date information.
Products Ordered:
FIOS 150/150

Products Removed:
FiOS Digital Voice Unlimited Package
FiOS 4 RM STB Package
FiOS TV Ultimate HD
Res VOIP Line
FiOS Quantum TV Premium Service
FiOS Internet 75/75 -Res

I then got on the Fios chat support to verify that thy were still coming out since there was no time or date on the order status even though I was told by the agent over email as well as conversation that it was scheduled for 1/5/17 between 8am and 5pm.

Day 3 Rep#4 (Latifa)

She must be clueless….
She initially told me that there was no order.
Then told me order was already complete and that’s why it wasn’t scheduled.
Then told me it was a self install.
Then told me a tech had to be scheduled

I captured the chat screens from here on out….. Here are our conversations.

https://livechat.boldchat.com/aid/387623670766217582/chat/visitor.jsp?wdid=1156010413066855782&button_next_1=true&vn=Stephanie+Simmons&ve=bsimmons%40fncstech.com&vp=Removed personal info&iq=I+am+supposed+to+have+a+tech+out+today.+I+needed+to+make+sure+they+were+still+coming.&button_submit=Start+Chat&cookie=&queueToken=1483652106738TE09E4049419CB1518267D541D65179E3235FB3CD864B26E69279E2B3B6A7A2CEC9F5B953F156765E8BCC18C99ED63ABD50C6BC4FB661037A54CFC8EA794EDFCE&oicon=&vicon=&unsecured=iq%26button_next_1%26button_next_6%26ve%26pt%26vp%26vn&cbdid=3894077012670742361&cid=385255978665195774T83D1C379FB8977B4A2D1DCA54C8EBEA9A9478199921E449142DDEF04D03A31D364E80126BA0A87FAB0C479F7CC219A9785CC3E751A3AA8BA1C2A15084B8D0091&ct=0&resize=true&cwdid=3623434853926548250



[Stephanie Simmons] I am supposed to have a tech out today. I needed to make sure they were still coming.
[Latifah] Thank you for chatting with Frontier, where we are 100% US based. My name is Latifah. I'm happy to help you. While I resolve your concerns today, I'll review your account to make sure you're receiving the best value for your money. In order to determine that, I will need to ask you a few questions. For security purposes, please verify your account number, pin number, and a call back number. The account number and PIN are located at the top of your paper Frontier statement, and online after you sign in at Frontier.com at the top right side of the main page.
[Stephanie Simmons] Deleted personal info
[Stephanie Simmons] pin Removed personal info
[Stephanie Simmons] Removed personal info
[Latifah] Thank you! Please give me a moment to validate your account.
[Stephanie Simmons] thx
[Latifah] You're Welcome!
[Stephanie Simmons] you still there?
[Latifah] Thank you for validating this account.  I see there was an order that was completed on 12/28/16 that is complete. Do you have another order in?
[Stephanie Simmons] yes, they were supposed to be here today to upgrade my internet speed
[Stephanie Simmons] Order #: 065894071
[Latifah] There's no one schedule to come out in that service order it has already been completed.
[Stephanie Simmons] Here is the email I was sent confirming todays appointment that I took off work for.
[Stephanie Simmons] Hello Stephanie,
Today you called in to drop your phone service and your television service, as well as upgrade to 150/150, which will require a technician visit. This appointment is scheduled for January 5th between 8AM and 5PM. The confirmation number for these changes is 065894071. The boxes to return your TV equipment will be automatically sent to you once this order completes on January 5th.


Thank You,

Taylor Ware
Residential Customer Service
Frontier Communications
Taylor.Ware@ftr.com
877-433-3806 Ext. 1727
FTR_Comm_150x90
[Latifah] Where's the rest of this email with date and time?
[Stephanie Simmons] The header cant be selected. Can I send a screen shot?
[Stephanie Simmons] it was sent tuesday dec 27 2016 at 6:33pm
[Latifah] Yes
[Latifah] Its showing that no technician will be out because this is a self install.
[Stephanie Simmons] Theres nothing for me to install..... They said it required a tech to come out.
[Stephanie Simmons] how do I send you a screen shot?
[Latifah] You will receive your modem in which you will you will have to do a self install.
[Stephanie Simmons] So why was I instructed to be home 8am-5pm
[Latifah] Please hold.
[Stephanie Simmons] I have 2 emails instructing me to be here....
[Stephanie Simmons] I already have a modem ....
[Latifah] Please hold
[Latifah] Thank you for patiently holding. Your service order wasn't done correctly and their was a no access put in which means that no technician was schedule to come out they put it in for a self install only. You will need a full installment with another modem for you have put in for a switch change from FIOS 75/75 to FIOS 150/150 which requires a full installation with a technician to do the install. I will have to transfer you now over to the FIOS internet help desk where they will have to put in a trouble ticket for a technician to come out with a modem to do your install. Please hold on for the transfer.



Day 3 Rep#5 (Dominique)
[Stephanie Simmons] Here are the emails with headers
[Stephanie Simmons] Ware, Taylor
Reply all|
Tue 12/27/2016, 6:41 PM
Brad Simmons 
Inbox
A second email was requested to verify that the billing for the phone and TV services has been stopped today. While the services may work until the 5th of January when the internet speed is upgraded, you will not be billed for this time span.

Also, I forgot to include in my last email to you, your new monthly bill will be 74.99 for the 150/150 standalone internet.


Thank You,

Taylor Ware
Residential Customer Service
Frontier Communications
Taylor.Ware@ftr.com
877-433-3806 Ext. 1727
FTR_Comm_150x90
[Stephanie Simmons] Ware, Taylor
Reply all|
Tue 12/27/2016, 6:33 PM
Brad Simmons 
Inbox
Hello Stephanie,
Today you called in to drop your phone service and your television service, as well as upgrade to 150/150, which will require a technician visit. This appointment is scheduled for January 5th between 8AM and 5PM. The confirmation number for these changes is 065894071. The boxes to return your TV equipment will be automatically sent to you once this order completes on January 5th.


Thank You,

Taylor Ware
Residential Customer Service
Frontier Communications
Taylor.Ware@ftr.com
877-433-3806 Ext. 1727
FTR_Comm_150x90
[Dominique] Thank you for contacting Frontier Internet Chat Support, where we are 100% US based. My name is Dominique and I will be assisting you today.
[Dominique] Do you have your account number?
[Stephanie Simmons] Deleted personal info
[Stephanie Simmons] pin Removed personal info
[Dominique] How can I help you?
[Stephanie Simmons] I was suposed to have a tech out today to upgrade my speed. I took off work to be here. Now Im being told they wont be here...
[Dominique] Let me check and see what happened.
[Stephanie Simmons] I have 2 emails saying they would be here today, and Im not happy. Its costing me money
[Dominique] I still see an open service order on your account. Let me connect you with customer service.
[Stephanie Simmons] I was just there


Day 3 Rep#6 (Devin)
[Devin] Hello. Thank you for chatting with Frontier customer service, where 
we are 100% US based. My name is Devin. I'm happy to assist you today. 


While I resolve your concerns today, I'll review your account to make sure you're receiving the best value for your money. In order to determine that, I will need to ask you a few questions. For security purposes, please verify your account number or home phone number and Pin. The account number and PIN are located at the top of your paper Frontier statement and online after you sign in at Frontier.com at the top right side of the main page. 

I will also need 
a good call back number for you. Thank you
[Stephanie Simmons] 813-782-1768-041811-5
[Stephanie Simmons] pin 7112
[Stephanie Simmons] 8136102925
[Devin] Thank you for the information. Give me a few minutes while I access your account.
[Devin] I have your account pulled in. Give me one moment to read through the previous messages to verify what is going on.
[Stephanie Simmons] ok
[Devin] Okay - I see here what is going on. I understand your frustration. I can help you with error of the order. Just bare with me one moment to get this corrected. 
[Stephanie Simmons] The biggest problem is my loss of time and money that I cant get back
[Devin] I can compensate the account a credit of $25.00 for the error of us setting this order up incorrectly.
[Stephanie Simmons] LMAO I lost $200 by taking today off
[Stephanie Simmons] And this is the 3rd time Ive had it screwed up on this order
[Devin] I do apologize I understand your frustration. Give me one moment to look into the account to see if there is anything else I can do.
[Stephanie Simmons] The first time I called to make these changes I was told it was done then the next day I checked status and realized all they did was cancel starz/encore which was never even discussed
[Stephanie Simmons] The second time I called up and was told everything was taken care of and had her send me emails to verify eveything.... and now thats not right
[Devin] I understand your frustration with the multiple orders being messed up, and the cancellation of your starz/encore channels.
[Stephanie Simmons] What I need is someone here tonight
[Devin] Give me one moment to fill out an escalation form for the appointment.
[Stephanie Simmons] ok
[Devin] I am still taking care of these issues on the order for you. Thank you for your patience.
[Devin] I am almost done on the escalation form for you. Next step would be to go through and change the type of appointment for you. Thank you again for your patience.
[Devin] Ma'am are you currently chatting with antoher agent from Frontier?
[Stephanie Simmons] no
[Stephanie Simmons] Ive been through 4 people but only in this window
[Devin] Okay - I do apologize. We still need the trouble ticket done on the account. Instead of transferring you again - let me call over to our internet help desk and get that done for you. 
[Stephanie Simmons] THANK YOU!
[Devin] Any time.
[Devin] I am now getting connected with an agent. It will just be another moment.
[Stephanie Simmons] ok
[Devin] I am also getting the installation fee for the full tech install waived for you as well.
[Stephanie Simmons] Thank you, but we were told IT was suposed to be no charge to begin with
[Devin] They are looking into sending the rep out today for you as well. They said if they are able to do that then it would be between 5:30 - 8:00. Is that Okay? Also I was making for sure they didn't put the charge on there since the full install was never set up to begin with.
[Stephanie Simmons] Gotcha, yes any time tonight is fine
[Devin] Okay thank you. One moment please.
[Devin] Okay - thank you so much for holding. They will have a tech out between 5:30 - 8:00 tonight to take care of that internet install for you.
[Stephanie Simmons] THANK YOU VERRY MUCH
[Devin] Not a problem at all. Is there anything else I can help you with today?
[Stephanie Simmons] Can you send me your employee ID? Im going to write a nasty letter, but would like to make sure you get credit for making things right
[Stephanie Simmons] Nobody else tried
[Devin] Of course. My ID is v_dcc262


At this point I THOUGHT we had everything resolved as Devin told me that they could have someone out tonight (1/5/17) between 5:30pm and 8:30pm. BUT GUESS WHAT? Once again I am sitting here waiting for a tech that never came, and once again no phone call, text or email to inform me that they were not going to make it out. I am anything but happy right now. I lost a days pay (almost $200) because of Frontiers issues. Everything that I have been told by every rep so far has been Lie after Lie, or some very serious incompetence on Frontier Fios as a whole. I guess I will be on Day 4 and Rep#7 in the morning after I send this to the BBB and FCC. There is no good excuse for this kind of lack of customer service. We have been with FIOS for a very long time. I have never missed a payment nor have we had issues until Frontier took over. I will definitely not be recommending anyone to Frontier."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Frontier Communications to make a fair offer.
1. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Jan 21, 2017 $7.99
Cash total : TBD
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Frontier Communications. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Question: by Christopher Martin (100 points) — Representing The Interests Of Individuals By Investigating & Addressing Complaints.
  • On: 01-18-2017
  • If you could provide me just the name of the state where you reside,  I can provide you with the appropriate information you need to get this matter resolved successfully.
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Bob Mangione On 01-18-2017
    Send Frontier a bill for your time and if they don't pay it, send Frontier to collections More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim