Public Mediation

Jason Brown vs. Dearing Hvac, 1028 E. Old Andrew Johnson Hwy., Talbott,Tn 37877

Incomplete Job

J. B. vs. Dearing Hvac
1028 E Old Andrew Johnson Hwy Apt 3, Talbott, Tennessee, 37877-3139, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 5892597
    • Amount Involved: 5,650.00
    • Filed On: Jan 12, 2024
    • Posted On: Jan 23, 2024
    • Complaint(s):
      • "I just feel ripped off."
      • Overcharge or billing error
      • Problem with a product
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I hired Dearing to replace my HVAC unit. They started the job but it never worked right even though they said that the job was completed. I complained to them and they said that they couldn't do anymore. They suggested that I call another company. I did and they finished the job for $4800 above the quote by Dearing of $3850. I paid $3000 down to Dearing for the work. I agreed to pay the balance of $850 upon completion. I have not paid this because the job was not completed by them."
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 10-24-2023 — Paid upfront cost
  • 12-13-2023 — Hired Ogle's Heating to finish work
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Dearing Hvac Hide
  • Jan 27, 2024, Claiming party added:
  • As stated: the indoor unit was not tested upon Dearing leaving the residence and never worked correctly, as is noted in the multiple correspondence between myself and Dearing. According to the next company that came to fix the work, he stated that the outdoor unit was fried due to not being flushed properly. He stated he believed that the outdoor unit would have been completely fine and worked properly had the work been done the right way the first time. When we contacted Dearing to come out originally he is the one that stated our indoor unit needed to be replaced and the outdoor unit looked wonderful. That is when we made the decision to upgrade the indoor unit. After 6 hours of work Dearing and Company left. They did not do any kind of testing on the unit and 3 hours later I returned home and realized the unit was not working at all. I have never signed any paperwork personally, I also have no documentation stating what exactly was done . All I have is a printed paper that I did not personally sign . I do not have a formal receipt. I also do have the saved very rude very unprofessional messages from Dearing claiming that we should "find someone else" . If he had completed and tested the unit before leaving the residence he would have seen that there was an issue and been able to remedy the issue right away or guided us on how to do it so we did not have to go over a week without a working unit and spend another $4000. So I am sticking with the original amount and rejecting his explanation.

  • Jan 27, 2024, Dearing HVAC (responding party) added:
  • The new inside was working correctly, Jason said he had no heat because he couldn't afford to run it. Jason's claim is dishonest and untruthful. His wife signed the agreement. The copy of the agreement was mailed to people's claim.

  • Jan 27, 2024, Dearing HVAC (responding party) added:
  • As far as communication from another company as stated outside unit was fried because it was something I've done, that is very untruthful also. Units fail all of the time and his outside unit was not my responsibility..

  • Jan 27, 2024, Claiming party added:
  • I stated we could not afford to run emergency heat and that the heat and air were not working at all.. I have a copy of all the text messages and a signed receipt from the other company showing that they had to replace the outdoor unit due to it not being flushed properly and tested thoroughly when the indoor unit was installed.

  • Jan 27, 2024, Dearing HVAC (responding party) added:
  • Jason Brown's outside unit was tested and running fine when the job was completed, I can assure you I did not damage any unit. This claim is untruthful and is an attempt to be dishonest. His attempt is to not pay the balance for work which was fully tested and working good. In my 47 years of installing heat pumps and the thousands of jobs I have installed, why would someone claim that I fried their unit? I do not do business that way and I never will. I want to do what is right for every customer and their circumstances but some people will always try to find a way to get out of paying what they owe no matter how much you try to help them.

  • Jan 27, 2024, Claiming party added:
  • This is all false information. For one, the unit never worked properly as portrayed by multiple messages back and forth. For two, there were 6 people in the house at the time of service that can verify that Dearing installed the unit and left. Also there is camera footage from the security camera on property showing he never once walked to the thermostat to turn on and test the unit. I would have had no issue paying the remainder of the balance had the work been completed.. I would have even been agreeing to pay had Dearing made an effort to figure out and assess why the unit did not work and letting us know what had to be done. As stated in a text message Dearings response " it's the outdoor unit , I am not responsible for that, feel free to find someone else" That is NOT the proper way to handle any kind of business interaction and due to the now accusations being made on top of everything else we have no choice but to take this further. I would have been more then willing to work out a deal and come up with a solution but this whole correspondence and lack of taking any kind of responsibility and the whole attitude we have been given through all of this has forced me to take further action in this matter. This will go public along with us hiring a lawyer to get this settled with all the proof we have. I have used Dearing for years and have referred him to multiple people for him to avoid taking responsibility of his actions and turn the blame around on me. That is not acceptable

  • Jan 27, 2024, Dearing HVAC (responding party) added:
  • If you want to write a book I suggest you hire a publisher but I am closing this conversation because I install heating and air conditioning, I'm not a book writer. If you feel like you need a lawyer that's fine.

  • Jan 27, 2024, Claiming party added:
  • That made no sense at all . See ya soon!!

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: aggravation Feb 27, 2024 $850.00
2. Recovery of Losses: Finish job Feb 27, 2024 $4,800.00
3. Other – Copy claim to regulators Feb 27, 2024 $14.99
4. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Feb 27, 2024 $14.99
Cash total : $5,679.98
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the explanation / grounds provided

    "Jason Brown called me and wanted a new Inside 4 ton Aspen Mobile Home Air Handler Furnace with 15 Kw Heat and a 4 Ton A Coil. This quote did not include an outside unit. He already has an outside unit and the quote was for the inside furnace and A coil only. He mentioned he did not enough money and asked if he could pay $3000.00 down and make payments on the rest. the total job cost was $3850.00. I agreed to finance the balance of $850.00 with 10% interest for 6 months with payments being $155.83 per month with the first month payment due on November 24th 2023. Jason Brown defaulted on his agreement to pay the payments that were due. Jason's existing outside unit started giving him problems to which were not covered under our agreement. I explained my labor warranty only covered the new inside installation. The new air handler and a coil are operating correctly. I asked Jason if he had emergency heat. he replied by text message and said No we cant afford to run it. Jason's Outside Unit was not in our agreement and I am not responsible for any warranty work or labor warranty on his existing outside unit. Jason Brown has defaulted on his agreement to pay the remaining balance and has not made any attempt to pay anything on the remaining balance of $935.00. Jason Brown is being dishonest if he claims hired another company to finish the job because I finished the job. Now he owes me the remaining balance for the job I completed. If his outside unit malfunctioned, I am not responsible for that. As it still stands, Jason Brown still owes me the remaining Balance of $ 935.00. Payment is due in full as of December 24th 2023 according to his signature on the agreement."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 01-25-2024
    Some clarifications needed More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim