My Claim vs. Miami VA Dispute

    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 8180780
    • Amount Involved: N/A
    • Filed On: Feb 11, 2014
    • Posted On: Feb 22, 2014
    • Complaint(s):
      • Problem with a service
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (200 pts)

Complaint(s) Involved (1) Hide

Problem With A Service
  • Service wasn't completed as promised
  • Rude behavior
  • Poor customer service

Claimant's opinion: To Whom it May Concern;
Miami,Florida VA Hospital Feedback
On February 7, 2014 I arrived at the eye clinic around 7:15am for my optometry appointment. Only to find out from the substitute medical admin, that my appointment had been canceled by an unknown VA employee. The admin informed me, I did not have an appointment and there was no cancellation shown in the "system". The admin informed me I would be accommodated and "allegedly" checked me in. I returned at 7:50am and informed the new medical admin that the admin I encountered at 7:15am had "checked me in". Nothing was documented as such and the previous admin who was attending the desk at 7:15 was no where to be found. After I presented my appointment letter and my VA generated appointment list, I was told I would have to make a new appointment for another day. Two of the medical administrative staff present in the eye clinic, who would not tell their names were extremely hostile and obviously unwilling to assist me in any way due to their personal issues of racial prejudice toward me . I proceeded to the Patient Adovocate office and was assisted by Ms Rose, who was unable to located my appointment in the "system" and any cancellation. Ms Rose contacted Ms Butler the eye clinic, administrative supervisor to assist in sorting out the mounting timeline of events and to secure an appointment for me, that day February 7, 2014. Ms Butler was unable to do so. I then proceeded to the Directors office and encountered Mr Madrid, I explained my dilemma, presented my appointment letter and appointment list. Mr Madrid informed me he would forward my documents to Ms Johnson, Patient Advocate in the Directors office, who was absent on Friday February 7, 2014. Mr Madrid did not offer to assist me in securing an appointment or direct me to anyone that may further assist me. From the Directors office I encountered Ms Conde assistant to the chief of staff, again explained my dilemma, show my related documentation. Ms Conde escorted me to Ms Barnwell, medical administration staff director, again explained my situation. Ms Barnwell escorted me to the eye clinic. Followed thru on securing an appointment for 1:00pm Friday, February 7, 2014. At 1250pm, I checked in with Ms Butler who was visibly disturbed that I had outed her incompetent medical administrative staff. Ms Butler assisted me and I was able to be seen by healthcare staff, although adding to their afternoon workload and inconveniencing everyone involved with the elements of my eye appointment, due to the negligence of the medical administrative staff in the eye department.Medical administrative staff are incredibly hostile and prejudice toward patients. Medical administrative specialists at the Miami VA Hospital support an environment of hostility, anger and contempt for the patients they serve in Miami VA Hospital.

Respectfully

Michael Teigen

cc: Ms Johnson, Patient Advocate, Directors Office
Ms Barnwell, Staff Director, Medical Administration
Ms Conde, Executive Assistant, Chief of Staff
Paul M Russo, Director, Miami VA Hospital
Eric K Shinseki, Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Office of Inspector General, Department of Veterans Affairs
Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, (FL-27)
Senator Marco Rubio (FL)
House Committee on Veterans Affairs, Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations
The White House, Office of First Lady Michelle Obama

Claimant's opinion:

To Whom it May Concern;
Miami,Florida VA Hospital Feedback
On February 7, 2014 I arrived at the eye clinic around 7:15am for my optometry appointment. Only to find out from the substitute medical admin, that my appointment had been canceled by an unknown VA employee. The admin informed me, I did not have an appointment and there was no cancellation shown in the "system". The admin informed me I would be accommodated and "allegedly" checked me in. I returned at 7:50am and informed the new medical admin that the admin I encountered at 7:15am had "checked me in". Nothing was documented as such and the previous admin who was attending the desk at 7:15 was no where to be found. After I presented my appointment letter and my VA generated appointment list, I was told I would have to make a new appointment for another day. Two of the medical administrative staff present in the eye clinic, who would not tell their names were extremely hostile and obviously unwilling to assist me in any way due to their personal issues of racial prejudice toward me . I proceeded to the Patient Adovocate office and was assisted by Ms Rose, who was unable to located my appointment in the "system" and any cancellation. Ms Rose contacted Ms Butler the eye clinic, administrative supervisor to assist in sorting out the mounting timeline of events and to secure an appointment for me, that day February 7, 2014. Ms Butler was unable to do so. I then proceeded to the Directors office and encountered Mr Madrid, I explained my dilemma, presented my appointment letter and appointment list. Mr Madrid informed me he would forward my documents to Ms Johnson, Patient Advocate in the Directors office, who was absent on Friday February 7, 2014. Mr Madrid did not offer to assist me in securing an appointment or direct me to anyone that may further assist me. From the Directors office I encountered Ms Conde assistant to the chief of staff, again explained my dilemma, show my related documentation. Ms Conde escorted me to Ms Barnwell, medical administration staff director, again explained my situation. Ms Barnwell escorted me to the eye clinic. Followed thru on securing an appointment for 1:00pm Friday, February 7, 2014. At 1250pm, I checked in with Ms Butler who was visibly disturbed that I had outed her incompetent medical administrative staff. Ms Butler assisted me and I was able to be seen by healthcare staff, although adding to their afternoon workload and inconveniencing everyone involved with the elements of my eye appointment, due to the negligence of the medical administrative staff in the eye department.Medical administrative staff are incredibly hostile and prejudice toward patients. Medical administrative specialists at the Miami VA Hospital support an environment of hostility, anger and contempt for the patients they serve in Miami VA Hospital.

Respectfully

Michael Teigen

cc: Ms Johnson, Patient Advocate, Directors Office
Ms Barnwell, Staff Director, Medical Administration
Ms Conde, Executive Assistant, Chief of Staff
Paul M Russo, Director, Miami VA Hospital
Eric K Shinseki, Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Office of Inspector General, Department of Veterans Affairs
Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, (FL-27)
Senator Marco Rubio (FL)
House Committee on Veterans Affairs, Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations
The White House, Office of First Lady Michelle Obama

What Claimant Wants

  • Claimant agrees to resolve this matter under the following proposed terms of settlement.
  • Status: In Negotiation
    This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
  • Miami Va Healthcare System is asked to agree and settle or make a good-faith counteroffer, offer a rebuttal, or request additional information.
Non-Cash
What By When
1. Change of policy: N/A Feb 26, 2014
Cash
What By When How Much
1. Recovery of Losses: N/A Feb 26, 2014 $0.00
2. Refund: N/A Feb 26, 2014 $0.00
3. Copy claim to regulators Feb 26, 2014 $14.99
4. Pay for claim posting cost Feb 26, 2014 $7.99
5. Physical delivery charges Feb 26, 2014 $2.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Miami VA Healthcare System to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint (subject to acceptance by claimant).
Cash total : $25.97
Non-cash: 1 items
You can help resolve this case by suggesting a resolution.
Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.