Public Mediation

Angry privacy victim vs. Vizio

  • 20% of recovery offered for best resolution

Vizio is requiring customers to register their personal information in order to fully use the TV they paid for

S. T. vs. Vizio
39 Tesla, Irvine, California, 92618-4603, United States
Amount Involved: $1,500.00
Complaint(s): Bad business practices
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • View response from: Vizio
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 7609591
    • Amount Involved: 1,500.00
    • Filed On: May 03, 2021
    • Posted On: Jun 03, 2021
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I aquired a new Vizio OLED 55-Hi SmartCast TV last Christmas. Within a month or so I could not get to the home screen anymore; it was blocked by a screen demanding that I scan a QR code and register my TV. I could bypass the screen only by hitting one of the dedicated buttons for Netflix, Prime, or Hulu. I finally gave in and tried to register; I was then REQUIRED to provide a valid email address, my phone number, name, zipcode, etc.
Furthermore, I could not talk to customer service without registering my TV and providing my email address so that they could look up my registration.
Under federal law, manufacturers are not even allowed to require customers to fill out warranty cards to use a warranty. See 16 CFR § 700.7 - Use of warranty registration cards.
Vizio is requiring its customers to register in order to use the product they bought and paid for. Once I did this and restarted the TV, the QR-coded screen disappeared and I could access the home screen again.
Articles about Vizio make it obvious why they are doing this. Due to the plummeting prices of TVs, Vizio is relying on more lucrative streaming-based advertising to fire up its growth. This is even more true given its dismal IPO performance. It therefore needs to know who its customers are and be able to market to them.
It's frustrating enough that I have to use another device to view PBS and HBO because Vizio will not provide an app. It's far worse to know that Vizio is pimping out my personal information.
 
 "
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Vizio Hide
  • May 03, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Screen that prevented me from seeing home screen

  • May 03, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Registration form requiring email address, phone number, and name so that I could get to the home screen

  • May 14, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Thank you for your response; I appreciate your willingness to check into this. I'll extend the response time by 10 days and add my phone number to a private message.

  • May 26, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Thanks for your response. I'm not sure how requiring my email address to respond to a simple tech inquiry about installing apps is going to help if the call is dropped. I've had many companies request that I confirm my phone number "just in case the call is dropped," which at least makes sense, but literally none ever do call back if the call is dropped--it's enormously frustrating. I can't imagine that if your reps drop the call, they'll send an email instead of theoretically calling back. So yes, please do delete my information. I appreciate your ongoing investigation into these issues.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Not being able to use the TV I paid for without acceding to your demands May 18, 2021 $500.00
2. Payment due: My personal information that I should not have been required to give you May 18, 2021 $1,000.00
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Vizio to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $1,500.00
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
Message from Vizio: Dear Ms. Treadwell,

I wanted to begin by thanking you once again for providing the information related to your claim and allowing us to thoroughly investigate the matter. Regarding the matter of the screen with the QR code not disappearing right away, what you experienced is not its intended function and we apologize for the inconvenience. I am glad, however, to know that you were able to quickly find a short workaround by using other features of the remote to circumnavigate the issue, and that everything is now working properly.

One of our primary missions as a company is to make high quality technology and content for our valued customers, and we strive to deliver those things, along with world class customer service. We also take our privacy and security obligations seriously.

In light of this, as you requested, we are promptly removing your information from our system. Our customer support agent requested certain information from you as part of our standard policy in order to expedite the call and to have your information on record in case the call was disconnected. The request of this information was in no way tied to the television’s warranty (we do not require our customers to register to activate or exercise a warranty under any circumstances).

Please accept VIZIO’s sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. My hope is that the prompt removal of your information from our system will conclude this matter.

Sincerely,
Dennis Yeoh
VP, Deputy General Counsel
What By When How Much
1. Kindly see attached message Jun 17, 2021 N/A
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 06-03-2021
    Exploitation of individuals' personal data should be reported and ended More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim