Public Mediation

G.V. vs. Eldon Smith Software Technician / Acumax System And Support

G. V. vs. Eldon Smith / Acumax Technologies 800-680-0529
Fl 3 E-24 Sector-03, Block B Sector 48, Noida, 201303 , India
Amount Involved: $280.00
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 4425118
    • Amount Involved: 280.00
    • Filed On: Aug 09, 2016
    • Posted On: Aug 20, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
"I paid $280.00 to Eldon Smith who introduced him self as senior technician at Eldon Smith company using Acumax Financial Service Inc that got paid through pay-pal system in Feb 9 2016. Now, since he did not provide me with real business address, or phone number at the beginning I have to cancel this deal. The only prove that I had was a receipt for payment. Now, that I got this phone # 800-680-0529 and this email address larryhrlton@yahoo.ca I try to use it, but no answer or is fake. I informed him by phone that I'm cancelling this transaction, and I need full refund, but he refuses. Claiming that pay pal blocked his account, and that he can not access the money, or he would ask for 2 or 3 more days, or I call you back and so on. When he called me first time he told me that leaves in Canada BC. And than he tell me that my computer was infected, because he got warning from Microsoft and he would fix it for me one time payment and it would be life time service."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Eldon Smith / Acumax Technologies 800-680-0529 Hide
  • Sep 12, 2016, Eldon Smith / Acumax Technologies 800-680-0529 (responding party) added:
  • Further, we responded to this "non case" on Sept. 9, but there is no reflection on your site that we responded. On Sept. 12 you received our final submission and would appreciate your taking down this false claim, as has BBB. Thank you.

What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
1. Refund: Software an service Aug 24, 2016 $280.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Aug 24, 2016 $7.99
Cash total : $287.99
Help resolve this case.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Do you agree with the claimant’s terms?
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the explanation / grounds provided

    "There are many facts that this scamster has neglected to disclose:
    1.) You received a $379USD refund from our Shopify store on July9, 2016 and notification was emailed to velecico@gmail.com, as the request was received within 30 days.
    2.) In the case of this $280USD order, it was dated Feb.9, 2016. Paypal reviewed this chargeback and found this joker wanted 100% refund 6 mos. later. Further, he was provided with a free Hotline number but never used it.
    PayPal found this guy who blames everyone in the world for his misfortune was 5 months too late according to their guidelines and also in violation of the 30 refund policy posted on our web site. His own credit card refused to back his claim.
    3.) This scamster thinks he can get his own way by listing his case with Better Business Bureau and with PeopleClaim.com, so after various attempts at blackmail; disparaging remarks; and slander; there is still no indication of evidence; merit; and in fact it's a "No case."
    Please close your case and warn this fella that "he puts himself in a litigious situation" as well."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

Public Mediation
Discover, negotiate, and help settle this dispute. Propose a resolution below.
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Question: by Bryan Morris (764 points) — Consumer Tech
  • On: 10-28-2016
  • Here's the enormous red flag -"When he called me first time he told me that leaves in Canada BC. And than he tell me that my computer was infected, because he got warning from Microsoft and he would fix it for me one time payment and it would be life time service."

    I've read the complaint and the company's response and comments in full. I'm not interested in what Paypal and the BBB said - Paypal can't do anything after a certain time passes, which is why tech... support... tries to delay any cancellations. BBB closes everything. 

    Here are my questions:

    Is ELDON SMITH / ACUMAX TECHNOLOGIES located in Canada or India?

    What was the $379 purchase for? Did the claimant first pay the $280 for lifetime service, then pay the $379 because of a "bad problem, " then get some good advice and realize the true situation, and then want the initial payment back?

    Did the claimant call ELDON SMITH / ACUMAX TECHNOLOGIES for service, or did they call him and sell him on their service?

    I would like to see anything the company sent to the claimant by email. Please copy it into your claim or a comment.

    It beats me why anyone ever buys these maintenance contracts. They're ridiculous. You could buy a new computer for not much more.

  • Comment: by Respondent On: 10-26-2016
  • We presented our side of the story and presented the facts. We were told this claim was closed and would be taken down. It's time to take it down now, as this claim could be construed as causing us a loss of business. As there is no case here, and Ghentiu Velecico's Case File #1280150 at Better Business Bureau has been closed, as well as Paypal's review was decided in our favor. Please remove this case from the internet.

    Thank you,

    Larry Harlton

    Acumax Financial

  • Comment: by J Petaluma (2882 points) — 40 Years In Business. Curious About Everything, Love Helping People Figure Things Out.
  • On: 08-21-2016
  • No, he didn't get a warning from Microsoft.

    Google Microsoft tech support scam and you will see that you were had.

    Call your credit card company and tell them it was a tech support scam - ask them to reverse the charge. They may not be able to, but $230 is a comparatively cheap lesson in not getting taken. Then call Staples or somewhere about getting your computer cleaned (or ask a tech-savvy kid to run a virus cleaner for you) and stop answering the phone if you don't recognize the number.

Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Currently helping with this claim
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.