Public Mediation

My Claim vs. DeMontrond RV

  • 10% of recovery offered for best resolution
J. F. vs. Demontrond Rv
14101 North Fwy, Houston, Texas, 77090-6919, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 2864006
    • Amount Involved: 46,995.00
    • Filed On: Jun 17, 2018
    • Posted On: Jul 07, 2018
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a service
      • Customer service runarounds
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"i dopped off my rv for repair work that had happened during a storm. this was 4//11/18. i am a full time rv resident. i made the dealership aware of this when i dropped it off. allstate is covering the repair work but is not helping me on the motel expense. the same with demontrond. no help from them  and they gave me the impression that they was not too concerned. over 6 weeks had gone by and they called me claimimg that the rv was repaired and ready for pickup. i hired an independent inspector from kellys rv to look at the repair work. we found that there was 3 issues from the original claim that had not been fixed yet. when confronted with this the technician told me in front of the inspector that he had personally gone thru and checked the rv out. when i pointed out the descrepences it did not seem to bother him that the issues was not complete. we also found an additional problem with the kitchen floor slide out needing to be replaced also. very dissapopinted that i am getting the run around and that they was telling me the rv was fixed when in fact it was not. now they are dragging out the slide out repair. it has been over 2months now that i have been stuck in this hotel room at my expense . friday 6/15/18 i also found out that my rv is being left outdoors all  this time while they are working on it. no telling where the slide out is. this means that my rv is subject to the elements of the weather. here in houston the weather is extreme with lots of humidity. i am now concerned about the wood finishes in my rv being damage exposed the the weather. this weekend there is a lot of tropical moisture, heavy rain and wind for the next several days. i feel that because of the time line that demontrond is taking in relation to the repairs that they are liable for my motel expense , damages that may occure in the future from the way that they storing my rv while working on it .  and that they should also pick up expense for the inspector also. i believe that this repair could have been done in a shorter period of time. "
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Demontrond Rv Hide
  • Jun 24, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Demontrond is saying that the part they ordered may come in on 6/27/18 but no guarantee and no timeline on completion. Far as I know my rv is still being stored outside in the elements while slide is out

  • Jun 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Well here we are 6/26/18 and no word from demontrond on status of my repair.

  • Jul 02, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Talked to demontrond via email. Part came in today but was wrong. They are talking about changing the part to a another style part to see if it will work. Never ending battle here. I am beginning to wonder if I will ever see rv again. This ridiculous the way this bbn is dragging out. In the mean time my hotel tab continues to grow. I am going broke paying for hotel. I will be adding the expense to the amount of claim already listed and every week after that until it is resolved
    .

  • Jul 02, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Sorry to hear you guys are taking.that stand. I will be turning to legal council to proceed

  • Jul 02, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Lets tell the whole truth. When bbn we inspected for the first part of the claim I originally told their.personnel about the dish and the plugs and the rear slide.out. they told me that they would trouble shoot them in the estimate. The estimate shows the dish. The electrical and the rear slide. All three was not addressed at that time. Your mechanic told me that in front of my inspector. And yes while inspecting the seals on slide they found the floor problem also.

  • Jul 04, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Well here I am paying for another week of motel. Demontrond has not offered any relief in helping me out. This coming week will make bbn 90 days they have had my trailer. I am going broke here trying to pay for motel. If this continues I will have to leave motel. I will have to live out of my truck. I am 65 years old and don't know if I can handle it with the heat wave. I can not believe demontrond is dragging this out for this long

  • Jul 05, 2018, DeMontrond RV (responding party) added:
  • And the whole truth?, Sats to go came and inspected your sat system and found no problem to dish or and components. Per your request the dish only was changed out. All slide seals do to lightning strike where changed out and done and operation of slides where checked. You requested the P/s rear slide to be realigned better than it was at the time of pickup where they found the Rotten floor. Your two 110 outlets where never hooked up at factory. Our main goal has always been and will always been to get ALL our customers in and out as quick as humanly possible.

  • Jul 05, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • I disagree with their explanation. When I first brought my trailer bbn in I did in fact make to more than one persons attention that they needed to check plugs in kitchen. At the time of inspection there was 3 items that was not addressed. The rear slide and the plugs ngthat they stated they would bbn originally address and the dishnpn the roof top.for that reason the trailer was turned down. While checking deals on slides it was discovered that the floor was bad. And know you are saying that the rail system on slide is bad. Funny that you have hit Allstate up for every penny so far but according to allstate you have made no o mention of replacing rail system. Does this mlm mean that your technician possibly made a mistake and you are covering it up? I have called numerous manufacturers including thor redwood talking about the problems that may occur. Not all agree with you. Now that I have a bad slide the trailer will never be the same. The trailer is severely tainted

  • Jul 06, 2018, DeMontrond RV (responding party) added:
  • It Is at Write up, On electric. It had nothing to do with lighting strike you know this because you told me it was not working when you bought the rv. So whos playing insurance? We simply turn in what our customers request to insurance company's. Then its between you and them to resolve. Not us. As far as slide out arm the teeth are bad on arm causing it to jump from floor being rotten. Nothing new in this industry. So please share with me who you spoke too at Thor redwood? Please. I've been straight with you from the beginning and have a great relationship with all Insurance company's and have for 20 years cause I tell the truth and they make the decision.

  • Jul 10, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Hey everyone. 7/10/18 . Paying for another week of motel expense. Spoke with demontrond about repair. Their are still having problem repairing part. No word yet on how much longer. I am concerned about mold and mildew build up in trailer. If the floor needed replace on slide out then how much damage is there below that bbn on floor and sub floor.

  • Jul 12, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Spoke to the allstate adjuster the other day. He told me that he spoke with jeff sayers from demontrond and they stated that they are still working on the roller system for the slide. According to allstate adjuster he also told me that what they a tree working on is an issue that they created while working on the slide out. I don't know what the deal is but demontrond is not very high on my ratings list. They are causing mental anguish,, anxiety., and a lot of extra money out of my pocket because of their mistakes

  • Jul 22, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Looked trailer over Friday. Can not see anything visible yet. Appears to be ready. They brought trailer trailer up front. Had to wait for jeff sayers. He was at lunch. They missed placed my trailer keys. Took almost 2hours to get out of there. Got trailer home and set up. Trying it out to see if there is anything mlm wrong. Found some loose screws in bathroom laying on rug. Good thing I had shoes on. The 2 plugs in the bnb kitchen still do not work. Scott claims that they never did work from the factory. I am not buying that story. They just did not want to work on them. I still do not trust these people. I don't know what they may have done and covered up. They still took way too long to fix trailer and they still owe me mlm for hotel and living expense while they was taking too long to fix. I do not intend to give in and I will continue to post every week until settled. For those of you that are seeing this on web d ok not ever do any buisness with demontrond. They can not be trusted and they are crooked in their repair pratices.they told me that the new roof would make it cooler in sunlight. That's not true. My a/c is constantly running trying to keep up with temperature. All they do is tell customer what you want to hear so they can get you in and out

  • Jul 28, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • It has been a week now since I picked up my trailer. Still no settlement from demontrond

  • Aug 04, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Demontrond continues to ignore me. They still owe me for their mistakes and taking way too long fixing my rv coating me more living and motel expenses. Very bad buisness practices and not customer friendly. Still checking my rv out from their repairs. Some areas not clean from their repair work.

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Starting to find mlm problems from repairs. Floor tile bubbling up

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Molding in bathroom loose and broken

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:

  • Mark's on floor when slide out is extended

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Screws was left out access panel and not replaced

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Plug not installed in wall properly and some of wiring rigged

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another plug not installed properly

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Trim around ice box but butchered up. Looks terrible

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Trimno plate on bottom ice box butchered up

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Wall between kitchen slide and bathroom loose. You can see where they shot staples trying to fix it but they made it worse

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Kitchen plug still does not work

  • Aug 11, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Molding not fitted properly and loose

  • Aug 19, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • It is sad that going thru my trailer I am.seeing all of.these pics I posted of.items that they did not.complete.correctly. below standard workmanship and it appears that they don't care about doing the job right the first time. I would not recommend them to anyone.

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Noticed a lot of dents in the ice box doors. They are hard to see unless you get the right bbn light and angle on them

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • More damage done by repair crew

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • More damage done by demontrond

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Damage by demontrond

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • When they put slide out back they used brad/finishing nail.. looks like shit

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Terrible workmanship

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Looks terrible

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • More below standard finish

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Door on bathroom hangs up now and something inside wall is scratching door up

  • Aug 26, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Looks like they tried to staple wall to a stud but screwed it all up

  • Sep 03, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Roof leaking

  • Sep 03, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Roof leaking. Walls and ceiling water damaged

  • Sep 03, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Roof leaking. Walls and ceiling water damaged

  • Sep 15, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week gone by . Had to fix the roof leak myself. Front ac seal. Still no response from demontrond on their below standard workmanship and just down right rigging stuff to get by. If anyone is reading this do not do buisness with them. They are crooked

  • Sep 22, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Demontrond is still not responding to my claim. They need to settle up for damages

  • Sep 29, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week gone by. Demontrond has not attempted to settle with me for damages. They are the worst. They dont care about the customer or quality of workmanship

  • Oct 09, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week gone by and nothing from demontrond. Demontrond still owes me for damages . They need to owe up to the mistakes they did and settle with me for damages , below standard workmanship and not finishing the work. .

  • Oct 14, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • My rv will never be the same. Demontrond has made all kind of mistakes and caused more problems when they worked on my rig. They took too long to complete work, did not finish the work completely. Left Items half done. Have problems.with unit.now. demontrond says that I have to bring it in but I am a full time rv resident. The last time I took it in they took.3.months to do a job half way. I can not afford to take it back and they refuse to do Mobil repair. Sorry customer service. I would never reccomend them to anyone. They need to step up to the plate and reimburse me for below standard work, in complete work, hotel expense , leaving electrical outlets half down under counter, damage to unit while worked on it

  • Oct 16, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Rain leaking from vent fan, from ceiling lights in the bathroom and bedroom,leaking from TV antenna up front,leaking from the kitchen slide out.this ridiculous. Demontrond needs to help me. They need to buy back trailer and give me another one. This one is ruined. Water every where

  • Oct 16, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Rain leaks

  • Oct 16, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Leaking water

  • Oct 16, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Demontrond need to send mobile repair man to my location and fix both roof top ac gaskets and leak at the antenna and check kitchen slide out for leaks. I am not n.j in a position to bring unit in and I dont have any money to stay any where. Please help me

  • Oct 21, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • A nod yet another week goes by. Demontrond is making no effort on their part to address issues with leaky roof they claim will last forever. They need to send a mobil mechanic out to fix issues. The worst customer service and workmanship in the world. L hope.that people seeing this takes.note.that they should.not do any buisness with them. The are crooked.

  • Oct 29, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week goes by. Demontrond has ignored me totally. Still having roof problems. They are making no effort on their part to help fix the problem. Did not have this problem until they worked on it.. they are the worst at customer service. Below standard workmanship. Not finishing what they started. They are crooked.

  • Nov 06, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week goes by. Demontrond is still doing nothing to fix my leaky roof.the roof is not good. Can not believe they will not send a tech out to fix problem. Way below standard customer service. All they care about is taking your insurance money and pushing you out the door. A dealership that cannot be trusted

  • Nov 12, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week gone by. The roof on my trailer is sagging. When you look at it you can see the ribs across and sagging in between. Appears the spray on roof added extra weight on roof. Too much for it. My trailer.is ruined. Demontrond need to buy back this trailer. I have barely had it one year and it is a lemon. Sooner or later I will find a lawyer that will take this case. I will not go away and I will post every week until the end of time.

  • Nov 22, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • The roof on trailer still in bad shape. I live in this trailer so I dont have anywhere else to go or stay. Taking it in and leaving mm mm it mlm is not an option. Trailer is a lemon. Barely had trailer a year and the insurance has paid out over 30000 to fix problems demontrond claims was wrong. Still having problems with items they claimed the fixed. The entire roof is starting to sag. Demontrond needs to buy it back.

  • Nov 25, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Another week gone by. Roof still in bad shape. Demontr ok and needs.to take.this trailer.back. it is a lemon.

  • Dec 02, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • And yet another week goes by. Roof is the same bad condition. Demontrond need to buy back this lemon

  • Dec 07, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • Well. Here I am. Took today off to take care my trailer. Spread a new tarp over the roof top. Still leaking. It appears that the nll kitchen slide is leaking also covered it. Trailer roof in bad shape. Not sure how much longer bbn I can stay in trailer. I have no where else to go. Will have to try to live bbn in my pickup I guess. When rain let's up I will take some picks. Roof is sagging bad

What Claimant Wants Hide
Message from Claimant: Demontrond need to buy back this trailer and put.me.in another equal to this one
1. New trailer Dec 31, 2018 $46,995.00
Cash total : $46,995.00
  • 1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from DeMontrond RV. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Offer History
Nov 06, 2018
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to DeMontrond RV
Nov 06, 2018
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to DeMontrond RV
Aug 26, 2018
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to DeMontrond RV
Aug 19, 2018
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to DeMontrond RV
Jul 13, 2018
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to DeMontrond RV
Jun 17, 2018
Claimant's Terms of Settlement to DeMontrond RV
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Anthony Swetala On 12-03-2018
    I suggest contacting the owner of the dealership himself. His name is George A. Demontrond III his back round is impressive, so he should want to help you out. Here is his back round information: George A. DeMontrond, III a Lifetime Vice President and Director of the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo and a Board Member of the Houston Grand Opera, the Mental Health Association of Houston and Boys and Girls Country. Mr. DeMontrond is Chairman of the Houston 2012 Foundation. He served as Chair at University of St. Thomas, Texas since July 1, 2010. He serves as a Director of Greater Houston Partnership. His DeMontrond Automotive Group includes several auto and motor home dealerships in the Houston area. He also serves as Chairman of the General Motors Regional Dealer Advisory Board and is a member of Oldsmobile’s National Dealer Council. He is active on many automobile trade boards and committees. Mr. DeMontrond received his law degree from The University of Texas School of Law and two bachelor’s degrees from Princeton University. The Corporate Headquarters is: Corporate Headquarters 701 Avenida de las Americas Houston, Texas 77010 United States Phone: 713-844-3600 Fax: 713-844-0200 His home phone number is 713-850-9898 or write a letter to his home address which is 700 Pine Shadows Dr, Houston, TX, 77056-1615 Good luck
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim