Public Mediation

S.D. vs. American Home Shield Corp

  • FREE crypto coins; suggest a fair resolution to this case
  • 10% of recovery offered for best resolution
S. D. vs. American Home Shield Corp
P.O. Box 727 Carroll, IA 51401-0727, 889 Ridge Lake Blvd Fl 3, Memphis, 38120-9425, United States
Amount Involved: $4,000.00
Complaint(s): Problem with a service | Other
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 2330128
    • Amount Involved: 4,000.00
    • Filed On: Dec 11, 2017
    • Posted On: Dec 22, 2017
    • Complaint(s):
      • Problem with a service
      • Other
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"To american home shield: My name is sherman draper and I have a home warranty contract  offered by American Home Shield(ash),contract#210537322,term 04/15/2017-04/14/2018.Property covered, 9883 sparrow ridge ave. las vegas nv. 89117    Complaint:ASH denied repairs on main pipe water leak,claimed that water leak was in front yard without finding the leak or it location. Homeowner called American Leak Detection located at 6185 harrison dr.#13 las vegas,nv.89120 ph. #702-8783060. The leak was found inside the garage under the concrete slab.The detection fees were $225.00 paid by this homeowner.Homeowner provided a copy of these findings to no less than 3 of AHS service contractors and still was denied service.The service contractors estimated costs of repairs were$5,100, $3,800 and$3,100 respectively.My water-bill is $170.00 per month, normally it is about $60.00 per month.Homeowner request a one time cash payment of $4,000 as this the average cost of repairs as estimated by ahs service contractors."
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 12-11-2017 — completion by Dec.31,2017
Additional Communication Between Claimant and American Home Shield Corp Hide
  • Feb 19, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • It is my intention to file a small claim lawsuit for the amount requested because I feel the company (AHS) will not respond unless a court action is taken to make it live up to their contractual obligations.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Monetary items with amounts to be determined: e.g.: repairs, estimate pending Dec 31, 2017 $4,000.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Dec 31, 2017 $14.99
Cash total : $4,014.99
  • 3
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Help out — earn RHUcoin
  • Suggest a fair resolution: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from community: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from disputant: 25 RHU each
  • Get the case resolved: 100 RHU
Jim Wicks commented
Jim Wicks (Comment):
"To claimant: Can you say or show the language in your contract that covers problems of this kind? This would make it clearer what AHS's obligations are."
 (11 months ago)
Reply
Salmon Koenig commented
Salmon Koenig (Comment):
"It makes sense to me"
 (11 months ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from American Home Shield Corp. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 0
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 0
  • Contributed Solution: by Mandy Schnorf St John On 01-29-2018
    I believe, since AHS is not willing to pay for repairs, they should refund the amount of the home warranty purchase. (AHS is notorious for not covering anything that actually breaks, so this might be the easiest course of action).
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Wes Verzwyvelt On 01-09-2018
    More info from the policy is needed to determine if the damages are covered under your contract with AHS. Speaking from an adjuster's experience, damages to in ground plumbing or anything for that matter is not covered under a homeowner's policy. This is different since it's a home warranty but lots of times home warranties and homeowner's policies are similar. Home warranties general cover items such as appliance breakdown which would never be covered by an HO policy. Most HO policies limit coverage to pipes and wiring but do pay for damages caused by these items. So if a pipe breaks, the insurer will cover resulting damages to walls, flooring, etc but not pay for actually repairing the pipe. Which turns out to be the cheapest part of the claim. Ironic I know. Seen this during winter time when pipes freeze. Insurance Cos also don't pay for earth movement/settling which could be the causation for the pipe breaking. Was there actual damage to the slab or walls from the broken pipe? Or is your loss restricted to high water bill? Of course in Vegas there's probably a penalty for over use of water. So I can surely understand your frustration. If AHS does state, without exclusion, that it covers malfunction/damage to in ground plumbing then yes they should pay for repairing/replacing the pipe. Look into the fine print to see if it only covers repairs to the pipe and not the actual jack hammering of the slab. If AHS is on the hook for the repairs and the leak was definitely in the garage ( you would obviously know this because your water bill would have decreased) then they are trying to avoid their indemnity. They're doing this by saying the broken pipe is outside the house and not under their blanket of coverage. If you haven't already I suggest researching AHS policy in detail to find the exact coverage. Policies are generally tough to read for the normal person. You may want to ask your state department of insurance for help. Check the policy for exclusions/endorsements to make sure it's covered. If fully covered you may want to file a complaint with the Nevada Dept of Insurance. This is usually a slow process but doesn't cost anything to the insured. If that doesn't work then a nice demand letter from a lawyer sometimes helps. These are usually not too expensive.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by Dev Annand On 01-03-2018
    I'd suggest a private negotiation and I'd be happy to mediate. On the surface my solution would be the claimant's terms plus a two year free extension of HO the insurance.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Sandra Jovan On 01-03-2018
    I think the claimant's demands are fair but I would also suggest that American Home Shield also add some supervision and better customer support for their reps. Seems they're focused on client acquisition over client satisfaction.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Jessica Lothman On 12-29-2017
    AHS Nevada's parent company is in TN and has many negative reviews according to the BBB: https://www.bbb.org/memphis/business-reviews/home-warranty-plans/american-home-shield-in-memphis-tn-2200102. AHS's requirement to pay this claim depends on the contract and without knowing the terms of the contract it is challenging to fairly assess this claim, but assuming the claim falls under the policy, then AHS should pay for the repair, not the averaged amount, but the real cost of the repair, as well as the fees for this resolution. If there is significant delay, the insurance company should also be responsible for the additional water costs the claimant is incurring while AHS delays payment.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim