Public Mediation

K.S. vs. Gulati Tandoors

Absolutely terrible product and service

K. S. vs. Gulati Tandoors
197 State Route 18, East Brunswick, New Jersey, 08816-1440, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 6472310
    • Amount Involved: 6,700.00
    • Filed On: Sep 24, 2019
    • Posted On: Oct 05, 2019
    • Complaint(s):
      • Failure to honor promises
      • "This feels like a scam to me."
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"We bought two 36 inch tandoors for our restaurant and what was delivered was all rusted and in terrible state. When contacted the owner, he was extremely rude. He kept screaming throughout as if it was our fault and then asked us to put “mitti ka tael” (kerosene oil) on them, then had the audacity to tell us that he doesn’t care and we can do whatever what we want and disconnected the call. We paid our hard earned money to these crooks who just want the money for an extremely substandard product. The customer service is shameful to say the least. Sad to see such shabby and shady business ethics and such individuals and companies being in business.

We have all pictures and proof of communication about them with the owner Mr. Ranjit Singh Gulati."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Gulati Tandoors Hide
  • Sep 26, 2019, Gulati Tandoors (responding party) added:
  • We understand the frustration a customer can have when receiving something less than perfect. We take this very seriously and always try our best to offer an appropriate remedy. I personally do apologize for any missed opportunities in professionalism on our team. That said, the ovens this customer received are in excellent working condition aside from some cosmetic blemishes on the exterior (due to weather factors in transportation as per the logistics team); these can be cleaned locally. For this specific, we have offered to help the customer with an appropriate amount. The ovens are close to 800lb each so doing this locally is the quickest and most effective way to remedy the situation - they are also enclosed in wooden crates when shipped and this will be difficult to move back and forth via freight companies. We have offered an appropriate partial refund amount for the situation which the customer refused and wanted more for non-material reasons - such as other costs which we cannot be responsible for. Unfortunately we cannot offer more than this, and despite the escalation on the internet, we are still happy to keep this offer on the table to help the customer.

    We will not, however, be publicly bullied into submission for any reason. We too have messages which escalate the matter on the customer's end but there's no need for that. Using the internet to publicly shame our company is not something we will submit to. The customer has our offer, which will expire in 7 days as per our policies. The negative statement he has placed publicly on the internet also needs to be removed as a condition of this - if he does not, we cannot offer any remedy as this will be tantamount to extortion. If he would like to remedy this privately, we are responsive to that. Someone is always available to discuss any matters on our end.

  • Sep 26, 2019, Claiming party added:
  • The purpose of this claim is not to publicly shame anyone. We were courteous and continue being so. We tried reaching out to the seller multiple times but our requests fell on deaf ears. We have email proofs along with text messages and call history to back that. Even when we did speak to Mr. Ranjit, it was he that was extremely disrespectful not us. I request Mr. Gulati to provide anything that can challenge that.

    It is the responsibility of the seller to ensure the quality of the product that is delivered at the customer’s doorstep. The customer shouldn’t have to accept a damaged product for any reason whatsoever (weather included). As can be seen from the pictures, the tandoors are far from it. As far as the claim of them being in working condition is concerned, I’d like to bring it to everyone’s attention that these appliances don’t even have a working ignition switch.

    We paid approximately 5600 dollars for these two pieces and what Mr. Gulati offered as a compensation was $200 because according to him, “ it should take much less than that to pour Kerosene oil on them to fix them.”

    We will not take any review down because it is our experience with the company and customers needs to be aware of what they’re signing up for when working with the owner, Mr. Gulati and his company. If Mr. Gulati and his team want to remediate this, it is on them reach out to us with a plan that is worth considering.

  • Sep 26, 2019, Claiming party added:
  • More evidence of “cosmetic blemishes” due to weather.

  • Oct 03, 2019, Claiming party added:
  • Proofs of the so-called cosmetic blemishes are added to clearly disprove your claims.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: The rework required to move the tandoors out Sep 30, 2019 $600.00
2. Refund: For the product’s cost Sep 30, 2019 $5,600.00
3. Pay me for my time: Three days of trying to get a hold of you Sep 30, 2019 $500.00
Cash total : $6,700.00
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the explanation / grounds provided

    "We understand the frustration a customer can have when receiving something less than perfect. We take this very seriously and always try our best to offer an appropriate remedy. I personally do apologize for any missed opportunities in professionalism on our team. That said, the ovens this customer received are in excellent working condition aside from some cosmetic blemishes on the exterior (due to weather factors in transportation as per the logistics team); these can be cleaned locally. For this specific, we have offered to help the customer with an appropriate amount. The ovens are close to 800lb each so doing this locally is the quickest and most effective way to remedy the situation - they are also enclosed in wooden crates when shipped and this will be difficult to move back and forth via freight companies. We have offered an appropriate partial refund amount for the situation which the customer refused and wanted more for non-material reasons - such as other costs which we cannot be responsible for. Unfortunately we cannot offer more than this, and despite the escalation on the internet, we are still happy to keep this offer on the table to help the customer.

    We will not, however, be publicly bullied into submission for any reason. We too have messages which escalate the matter on the customer's end but there's no need for that. Using the internet to publicly shame our company is not something we will submit to. The customer has our offer, which will expire in 7 days as per our policies. The negative statement he has placed publicly on Google also needs to be removed as a condition of this - if he does not, we cannot offer any remedy as this will be tantamount to extortion. If he would like to remedy this privately, we are responsive to that. Someone is always available to discuss any matters on our end."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim