Public Mediation

C.W. vs. Fidelity Investments Jacksonville Florida

  • FREE crypto coins; suggest a fair resolution to this case
  • 15% of recovery offered for best resolution

Blatant Age and Hearing Loss Discrimination by Fidelity Investments

C. W. vs. Fidelity Investments (Headquarters)
82 Devonshire St, Boston, Massachusetts, 02109-3605, United States
Amount Involved: $15,000.00
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 4349799
    • Amount Involved: 15,000.00
    • Filed On: Dec 06, 2017
    • Posted On: Dec 17, 2017
    • Complaint(s):
      • Commercial / Other dispute
      • Other
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I am a 70 yr old retired Licensed Professional Counselor having spent 35 yrs full time in my profession.
I transferred my IRA to Fidelity about 9 yrs ago and I am a frequent trader.  Last week i made a few calls to Fidelity service team in regard to funds that were not available that i believed should have been available.  It happened twice so i made two calls re: the issue.  I had one customer service rep prior to the two calls who I could not understand well due to their voice.  I have had a severe high frequency loss for 50 yrs due to ototoxic drugs administered when i was dying of peritonitis.  I wear hearing aides but they do not make my hearing perfect and must ask for repetition if somebody has an accent or has a soft voice. Today i went to make a trade early morning and was shocked that the msg box said my account was restricted from trading.  I called Fidelity and was told i could no longer trade.  I asked to speak to a supervisor.  He reiterated the same.  I wanted to know why and he told me it was in "my best interest" and their firm had an obligation to end my trading.  I wanted to know the reason and he referenced my 3 past calls.  They felt i was not competent to trade due to my calls.  He would not provide any other details.  I had incurred recent losses over the last year but truly this is MY money not theirs.  I asked if day traders who lose lots of money have their accts restricted to which the supervisor said no.  He said my restriction was based on my phone calls.  Since i do not hear and ask for repetition and may also not get a word or words clear I can only surmise that they thought i was demented???
I am transferring my money to another firm and will see if i can take some legal action against them for discrimination based on age and hearing loss."
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 12-06-2017 — IRA Funds Restricted from Trading
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Profits I could have made today in trades Dec 06, 2017 $5,000.00
2. Recovery of Losses: Profits I could have made today Dec 06, 2017 $5,000.00
3. Mental Stress from interaction Dec 06, 2017 $5,000.00
4. Other – Copy claim to regulators Dec 06, 2017 $14.99
5. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Dec 06, 2017 $14.99
6. Other – Physical delivery charges Dec 06, 2017 $16.98
Cash total : $15,046.96
  • 4
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Help out — earn RHUcoin
  • Suggest a fair resolution: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from community: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from disputant: 25 RHU each
  • Get the case resolved: 100 RHU
Jay Eichorn commented
Jay Eichorn (Comment):
"Can we have an update from the claimant. Have you closed your account, and are you in fact taking legal action. Has there been any further response from Fidelity?"
 (12 months ago)
Reply
Awaiting response from Fidelity Invest...
Claimant commented
Claimant: (Comment):
"I forwarded a recent written reply from Fidelity, an assistant to the CEO , in which they stated that their position has not changed."
 (12 months ago)
Reply
Mark Deuitch likes
Mark Deuitch ():
"I had an even worse situation with Fidelity. They promoted a "no interest loan" program from a third party. I asked the Rep if that means I could borrow the money for any purpose and pay it back in a year at no interest. He said absolutely. I took out the loan and then found months later that I was being charged interest. They said the program only applied to new asset transfers. It cost me a lot of money even while I had a cash balance in my account. They said they had no control over it since it was a third party program and they were only promoting it. Classy- huh? They've lost a all my business since then."
 (12 months ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Fidelity Investments (Headquarters). This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Claimant On 01-29-2018
    This is too small an amount. I had to transfer my IRA funds to another brokerage and i could not trade for over one week. 5,000. would be minimum acceptable for the inconvenience and insult.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by Jim Wicks On 01-05-2018
    Step 1. Fidelity should show up. Come to this forum and state their side of the case. Then both can be evaluated side by side and a solution worked out.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Fran Fellowes On 12-20-2017
    Fidelity should review its policies for discrimination More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 12-20-2017
    Fidelity and claimant should allow lawyers that specialize in age /disability discrimination to review tapes of conversations More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim