Public Mediation

Eastwood Homes Llc Dispute

W. W. vs. Eastwood Homes Llc
2857 Westport Road, Charlotte, North Carolina, 28208-3647 , United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 3699285
    • Amount Involved: 1,500.00
    • Filed On: Mar 28, 2019
    • Posted On: Apr 08, 2019
    • Complaint(s):
      • Customer service runarounds
      • "I just feel ripped off."
      • Contract / Agreement dispute
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"My daughter and I were led to believe that we would get our deposit back if we could not sell our existing home in 60 days. We were approved for a mortgage, but could not sell our house. The Eastwood house in Briargate in Mooresville,we were trying to buy was a spec house and was almost done when were were led to believe by salesperson, Whitney Stiles, not to worry, Eastwood wants happy customers, and would probably give our whole deposit back, if we could not sell our house. Our Realtor was present when this statement was made to us. Eastwood was very sympathetic about our situation, my single mom daughter, two children and me, retired and 73 yrs old. Deposit was made on 10-31-18, for $3,000.
When we asked for our deposit back, they only gave us half of the $3,000 back. This is my retirement money and we need it to buy another house. We have to move out of our present house because of the divorce. The Sale Manager is Brian DeGabriel, who has not responded directly, only through Whitney."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Refund: Deposit Apr 15, 2019 $1,500.00
Cash total : $1,500.00
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
David Finkleman commented
David Finkleman (Comment):
"First, I think you are on shaky ground. Unless there was commitment in writing, you don’t stand a chance. Even if there were witnesses. Even if it were in writing, odds are slim. But always get such in writing!

There was probably a clause about refunds in whatever you did sign. Likely that you overlooked the fine print buried in the form.

You can negotiate a modest rent back on the house you sold."
 (3 months ago)
Reply
Awaiting response from Party
George Maxwell commented
George Maxwell (Comment):
"There are legal practices, and there are ethical practices. The agents should not have made such a statement and should have put a contingency in the contract."
 (3 months ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Eastwood Homes Llc. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 04-11-2019
    Eastwood Homes' CEO should review the contract, and talk to the two agents More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 04-09-2019
    Eastwood Homes agents should have made your contract contingent on the sale of your home. IMO Eastwood Home should refund your deposit and improve its ethical standards. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim