Public Mediation

S.H. vs. Andy Palmer

Warning!!!! Andy is not a honest person.

S. H. vs. Andy Palmer - Destin Resort Rentals
PO Box 6635, Miramar Beach, Florida, 32550-1012, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 2425899
    • Amount Involved: 525.00
    • Filed On: Aug 02, 2016
    • Posted On: Aug 13, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a service
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Rented a condo from him. Many problems with the unit. He was very slow to make the right. Blamed us for the problems and took 125.00 out of my bank account before I even got back from vacation. We lost about 400.00 in food because the fridge wasn't working properly. He said he would compinsate for our loss but now he won't answer my e-mails."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Andy Palmer - Destin Resort Rentals Hide
  • Sep 20, 2016, Andy Palmer - Destin Resort Rentals (responding party) added:
  • Mrs Hayes signed a Rental Agreement which gave us permission to charge her card for any damages up to $200.00

    Mrs Hayes describes herself as a small woman who could not have broken the handle, however she neglected to reveal the 2 men who were staying their as well. We donot claim that she is the one actual person who broke the handle but it was not broken when she arrived and it was broke when she checked out.

    Regarding the claim for food items in the refrigerator Mrs Hayes said she had a receipt for food purchased at ta local market but to date no receipt has been provided.

  • Sep 20, 2016, Andy Palmer - Destin Resort Rentals (responding party) added:
  • Copy of email sent to Mrs Hayes after her departure.
    Hi Mrs Hayes
    During the inspection of your condo after your departure it was noted that the living room sliding door handle was broken. Also the ornamental pot on the entry table had a broken handle. As stated on your rental agreement Item 8: You will be charged for any damaged items and special cleanings. Also on the departure instruction posted in the condo it specifically states that all dishes must be cleaned and put away and all trash discarded. Unfortunately you left uncleaned pots and pans in the sink and on the stove, along with trash scattered through out the condo. This resulted in extra charges along with the damaged items noted above. You will be charged an additional $125 to cover these expenses. Photos were taken of the damage.
    Andy Palmer
    Rental Manager
    Destin Resort Rentals, Inc.

  • Sep 20, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I have my recipets for what we spent You are not even getting the facts right.. MY daughter in law broke the door handle. She is five foot tall, weights 120 pounds. She could really have hurt herself when it came off. There were 3 men there. None of them broke the door. I lost alot of food And having to re-buy food . send me your address and I will gladly send you copies.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Recovery of Losses: all food items Aug 10, 2016 $525.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Aug 10, 2016 $7.99
Cash total : $532.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the explanation / grounds provided

    "
    Hi Mrs Hayes
    During the inspection of your condo after your departure it was noted that the living room sliding door handle was broken.
    Also the ornamental pot on the entry table had a broken handle.
    As stated on your rental agreement Item 8: You will be charged for any damaged items and special cleanings.
    Also on the departure instruction posted in the condo it specifically states that all dishes must be cleaned and put away and all trash discarded. Unfortunately you left uncleaned pots and pans in the sink and on the stove, along with trash scattered through out the condo. This resulted in extra charges along with the damaged items noted above.
    You will be charged an additional $125 to cover these expenses. Photos were taken of the damage.

    Andy Palmer
    Rental Manager
    Destin Resort Rentals, Inc."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Comment: by R Jones Homeschooler, Business Owner And Beach Lover
  • On: 09-20-2017
  • We have rented from Andy and Destin Resort Rentals for almost a decade and have never had any issues. He has always fixed problems in a reasonable timeline and has been more than accommodating. About the food, not sure I would feel comfortable buying over $500 in fridge stuff for my own house, let alone a vacation rental. The more food you have stuffed in a fridge, the harder it is to keep it at the required and expected temperature. My first line of defense to protect my food investment would have been coolers, but that is just me. A hassle, yes, but saving some would be better than taking a chance of losing it all. 


    With Andy being the rental agent for the owner, I am sure there is red tape that he needs to get approved before just buying a $1000 appliance out of someone else's checkbook. I know I would want to be asked and given the opportunity to decide my price range. Maybe contact the owners directly and see what they say?

  • 0
  • Contributed Solution: by Steven Albright On 09-20-2016
    ANDY PALMER - DESTIN RESORT RENTALS hasn't addressed the issue of the fridge; a slider handle shouldn't be the tenant's responsibility More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim