Public Mediation

M.B. vs. American Home Shield Corporation

M. B. vs. American Home Shield Corp
P.O. Box 727 Carroll, IA 51401-0727, 889 Ridge Lake Blvd Fl 3, Memphis, 38120-9425, United States
Amount Involved: $150.00
Complaint(s): Bad business practices
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
    • View response from: American Home Shield Corp
    • Claimant Seeks: 4 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 1930067
    • Amount Involved: 150.00
    • Filed On: Jun 25, 2018
    • Posted On: Jul 13, 2018
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"1. I had water damage to my home due to a falulty HVAC (Air Con) unit upstairs on 6/5/18 at acive water leaking.
2. Contacted AHS for service request. Sent A-US Air who would not come for 3 days. So had a Water Mitigation company to dry out home and remove water. Pic taken.
3. AC company does a quick repair on 6/8/18, but 36 hours later water leaking recurs. The AC company also damaged my attic step.
4. I contacted AHS, and requests another AC company, but was told that they had to contact the original company for a "Diagnosis form". Upon receipt they would select a new AC company. That was on 6/10/18. I have not been contacted by AHS notifying me of the vendor for a second opinion AC repair.
5. I have called no less than 5  times and am now told that I owe $75.
6. I go to my online account on THEIR website and note that they have OVERCHARGED me $150. I spoke with a Portia on 6/10/18 who agreed that I had been charged twice for the same service and has overpaid $150. I was told that a  $75 check would be issued to me and my Credit Card Credited for $75 by Portia.
7. I was informed today that they will NOT send another AC company because I owe $75.
 
I have been without AC for 3 weeks. I have a medical condition for which I should avoid heat as much as possible. I have a small unit upstairs but have to go downstairs for kitchen, master bedroom and bath etc. I live in Dallas, Texas  where temps have been in 100s over the past 5 - 7 days.
I will make this a Legal matter if I do not get results in the next 48 hours.
 
 "
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 06-05-2018 — Water leak upstairs from Faulty AC unit
  • 06-05-2018 — AHS contacts A - US Air
  • 06-08-2018 — U-US-Air "repairs problem, "blocked line" in 45 min then breaks attic ladder rung
  • 06-10-2018 — Water Leak into ceiling return less than 36 hours
  • 06-10-2018 — AHS contacted and was to have a second AC company contact me
  • 06-14-2018 — AHS "Kaylyn" states they need to recive a "Diagnosis" from A-US Air before sending another AC company
  • 06-21-2018 — AHS is still waiting for AC company to send document
  • 06-25-2018 — AHS states I owe $75 which which when I go onto my account on their site, I am owed $150.
  • 06-10-2018 — AHS Billing, Portia stated I was overcharged for the same service and agreed that I was owed $75
  • 06-25-2018 — AHS will not send a second AC because of my owing $75 which I do not owe.
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and American Home Shield Corp Hide
  • Jul 16, 2018, American Home Shield Corp (responding party) added:
  • Please see the attached correspondence. Thank you.

What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Repair: AC unit Jun 30, 2018 N/A
2. Replace: AC unit Jun 30, 2018 N/A
3. Apology: I want a written apology for your poor Customer Service and the amount of time I spent on calls. Jun 30, 2018 N/A
4. Repayment for being overcharged. No futher contracts with AHS after the end of this contract period ever. Jul 10, 2018 N/A
Cash
1. Payment due: Contract 214100172 Jun 30, 2018 $150.00
2. Other – Copy claim to regulators Jun 30, 2018 $14.99
3. Other – Physical delivery charges Jun 30, 2018 $4.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites American Home Shield Corp to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $169.98
Non-cash: 4 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • "
    July 11, 2018

    VIA EMAIL: MAIL@PEOPLECLAIM.COM


    PeopleClaim
    P.O. Box 2531
    Boone, NC 28607

    RE: Madge Barnes; AHS Plan No. 214100172; Your Claim No. 1930067-261697

    To Whom It May Concern:

    American Home Shield (“AHS”) is in receipt of your letter dated June 25, 2018, advising of the above referenced complaint. Your letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

    I have reviewed AHS’ records with regard to the air conditioning issue. On April 25, 2018, service was requested for the air conditioning system and the request was dispatched to A-US Air Conditioning of Texas to diagnose the issue. A-US Air Conditioning reported to AHS that repairs were completed to the unit that cools the upstairs portion of the home on April 25, 2018.

    On May 17, 2018, service was again requested for the air conditioning system and the request was dispatched to A-US Air Conditioning to further diagnose the issue. On May 20, 2018, A-US Air Conditioning reported to AHS that the compressor in the upstairs unit had failed and needed to be replaced. AHS authorized the technician to complete the repair and order the replacement equipment. There were some items necessary for the replacement that are not covered by the warranty plan. Section I.1.g (iv) of the enclosed warranty plan states that the contract does not cover system or appliance upgrades, or repairs or replacements required to comply with any federal, state, or local laws, regulations or ordinances, utility regulations, or building or zoning code requirements. Section E.1 of the warranty plan provides that AHS will pay up to ten dollars ($10) per pound per occurrence for refrigerant. The customer is responsible for payment of any costs in excess of ten dollars per pound. The charge to the customer for items not covered by the warranty plan was $565, payable by Madge Barnes to A-US Air Conditioning.

    On June 5, 2018, service was again requested for the air conditioning system and the request was dispatched to A-US Air Conditioning to diagnose the issue. On June 8, 2018, A-US Air Conditioning reported to AHS that the air conditioning system that had failed cooled the downstairs portion of the home and that the company had not previously diagnosed or repaired any issues with this unit. A trade service call fee is rightfully due from customers for every trade service request, in accordance with Section D.1 of the warranty plan. Based on the terms of the warranty plan, a trade service call fee in the amount of $75 is rightfully due from Madge Barnes for the trade service requests on each of the air conditioning systems.

    A-US Air Conditioning reported to AHS that the company flushed the drain line from the downstairs air conditioning system to resolve the issue. The company reported to AHS that the ladder to the attic was damaged when the technician arrived at the home to diagnose the issue. Additionally, water damage was present to the drywall and the carpet when the technician arrived. Section I.8 of the warranty plan states that AHS is not responsible for secondary, incidental, and/or consequential loss or damage resulting from the malfunction of any covered item, or a service contractor’s neglect or delay in providing, or failure to provide, repair or replacement of such item, including, but not limited to, food spoilage, loss of income, utility bills, additional living expenses, personal and/or property damage. Therefore, AHS denies liability with respect to damage.

    Thank you for your consideration.

    Sincerely,

    AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF TEXAS, INC.



    Kimberly Tiffany
    Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist
    "

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim