Public Mediation

J.D. vs. Netflix Inc

J. D. vs. Netflix Inc
100 Winchester Cir, Los Gatos, California, 95032-1815 , United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 2308214
    • Amount Involved: 4,090.00
    • Filed On: Jan 04, 2020
    • Posted On: Jan 15, 2020
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Overcharge or billing error
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Had a Netflix account for several years. On April 4th, 2019 I cancelled my account. Today 1/4/2020 I realized that Netflix has been charging my credit card since June. Apparently someone hacked my Netflix account and is continuing to use it for free. Called Netflix and they refuse to do anything except give me a one month refund. They said it's all my fault and it's because my credit card was hacked, but there are many more stories online just like mine and my credit card has not been hacked. In fact business insider has an article from late November and they describe exactly what happened to me. What happens is they keep your account info for 10 months in case you rejoin Netflix and during this time people hack them and get free Netflix. I call in to customer service and they treat me like an idiot."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Back charges since June Jan 24, 2020 $90.00
2. Damages: Leaking my account information Jan 24, 2020 $4,000.00
Cash total : $4,090.00
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Awaiting response from Party
Dustin Black commented
Dustin Black (Comment):
"What sort of damages have happened since your account was hacked?"
 (6 months ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Netflix Inc. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Dustin Black On 01-23-2020
    Good solution there but involve your credit card company. They may be able to give you information about the charges or time-frames you currently do not have
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 01-17-2020
    Netflix has been subject to significant hacks and should be responsible for reimbursing amount charged after cancelation, unless they can show the account was used at your home address. If not, contact the CFPB. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim