Public Mediation

M.L. vs. Maytag Corporation

M. L. vs. Maytag (Whirlpool Corporation)
553 Benson Rd, Benton Harbor, Michigan, 49022-2664, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 2184148
    • Amount Involved: N/A
    • Filed On: Jul 13, 2022
    • Posted On: Jul 24, 2022
    • Complaint(s):
      • "I just feel ripped off."
      • Customer service runarounds
      • Problem with a product
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Bought a refrigerator in June 2019 and have had problems with it from the beinning.  RE:  file #7727833120; Model #: MF12570FEZ; Serial #: K84808522; purchase date: 06/29/2019; Location: Home Depot:1062 Richards D. Sailors Pkwy. Within just a few months had problems with the ice maker/bin.  Had technicians come to my residence with no satisfaction and was somewhat dismissed.  Asked several people I knew to try and remove the ice bin, and only a strong, young man could take it out - he even had to work to take out the bin.  Now, the ice maker is completely broken and has been for over a year.  Anything inside the refrigerator near the ice bin would freeze and break or explode.  So, I had to remove any shelving near the ice maker.  The latch on the inside of the bottom freezer broke and there is no light when the freezer drawer is opened.  In addition, the panel on the side of the left french door has broken and will not lock into place to secure the door - have to hold the panel and do it manually.
I bought this refrigerator as part of a Maytag Aplliance package because I believed in the quality of appliance products.  Am extremely frustrated and angry that I ever bought anything from Maytag.  
Please review and find a satisfactory resolution for a customer buying a defective appliance.  I refer to it as a "lemon".  It is a poorly designed refrigerator and I expected so much better for the amount of money I spent."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Maytag (Whirlpool Corporation) Hide
  • Aug 16, 2022, Maytag (Whirlpool Corporation) (responding party) added:
  • Whirlpool Corporation Executive Office Response

  • Aug 19, 2022, Claiming party added:
  • I contacted maytag about the ice maker before the warranty expired. nothing but problems have occurred with this refrigerator; thus, my reasoning for this model 3 being defective

  • Sep 07, 2022, Claiming party added:
  • According to the Magnusom-Moss Warranty Act. the implied warranties come into play. Products purchased should be capable of its intended function - not to fall apart within a short period of time.
    Maytag's products fall extremely short from the reputation they profess.
    It seems to me that Maytag would want to resolve this situation because this refrigerator truly is a lemon and started giving this customer problems within the first year. A refrigerator replacement resolution has been requested and denied by Maytag. Plese reconsider my request and respond to show future customers that Maytag stand behind on their products that are defective.

What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Replace: Refrigerator Model #: MF12570FEZ Jul 28, 2022 N/A
Cash
1. Other – Copy claim to regulators Jul 28, 2022 $14.99
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Jul 28, 2022 $14.99
3. Other – Physical delivery charges Jul 28, 2022 $4.99
Cash total : $34.97
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • ""

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • -1
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 09-05-2022
    Maytag/Whirlpool CEO Mark Bitzer makes over $18 million per year by prioritizing stockholders (including himself) over other stakeholders like... customers. A fridge that couldn't be repaired within the FIRST YEAR should have been replaced. This is why so many consumers have lost confidence in the brand. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim