Public Mediation

Appalling treatment of guests by Hyatt Place Louisville East

Hyatt Place Louisville East confiscated and failed to return medicine, and turned guests into police for no reason.

S. T. vs. Hyatt Place Louisville East
701 S Hurstbourne Pkwy, Louisville, Kentucky, 40222-5629, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 4709259
    • Amount Involved: 766.98
    • Filed On: Jun 27, 2017
    • Posted On: Jul 08, 2017
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Customer service runarounds
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"On Monday, June 19, 2017, we stayed at the Hyatt Place Louisville East in Louisville, KY en route to a satellite office.
The next morning (Tuesday June 20) we checked out. We left our room in an orderly condition; we left a nice tip for housekeeping; our bill was paid in full.
Two hours up the road my husband realized he'd left behind his keys -- including our rental car keys, his office and work apartment keys, and an attached pill container of medicine that's important to his health. I called Hyatt Place and their response was exemplary. They called us back quickly to say that the housekeeper had found the keys, and promised to immediately express mail them to us at our destination. They took our credit card number to pay for the express mailing costs. We sent an email with all information necessary to have the keys returned as instructed, and then we sent a follow-up email after a couple of days. There was no response to either email.
On Friday, June 23 we still hadn't received the keys. I called the hotel, and much to our shock, the manager called me back to say that our keys had been turned over to the police.
Apparently the housekeeper had taken it upon herself to search our belongings - the keys - for her own reasons, and decided that the contents of the attached pill container were somehow suspicious. Her story was that the keys "fell" and a powder came out, which is simply not true. The pill container was bought at Walgreens and is commonly used by people with heart conditions, serious pain issues, etc. for vital medication. It's completely sealed with a rubber seal. Who wants a nitroglycerin tab dropping where a child could find it?
The manager rather snottily told me that he had verified that the keys were currently in the custody of the "JTown police" and we needed to call them to find out how we could get them back. I was pretty staggered by his story, in part because the housekeeping had so clearly violated our privacy and in part because the "powder" was so obviously not anything suspicious.
However, I called the police and after a lengthy hold was told that I'd have to speak to the officer who'd taken the call and who was not in that day. If I called back after three o' clock, I MIGHT be able to get the story from his sargeant. This left us in a state of great anxiety. Neither of us had any clue what police procedures might be. We did not know whether we'd have to drive nine hours back to Louisville to be drug tested, whether we'd somehow end up with a police record, or how long any testing was going to take. And we were going to need to turn the rental car in.

Meanwhile, we were still locked out of everything except the rental car, which I had the duplicate key for.
I was so livid that I called Hyatt's corporate office. The first person I spoke to was horrified. So were the second and third. None could do anything because it was going to be up to the police.

After three more calls to the "JTown" police, I was finally told in no uncertain terms that the police had immediately determined that this was NOT a police matter, never took custody of the keys, and the hotel had agreed that they would return the keys to us. Which they did NOT even attempt to do.
Despite having our phone number, address, email address, credit card info, etc., they never contacted us until prompted by Corporate on the Friday. Apparently one of those people called the hotel itself and spoke to the manager. He called and left a message for me, which unfortunately I somehow missed while engaged in lengthy converstations and holds with both Corporate and the police.The message left by the manager simply apologized for "any confusion" and asked for our address (which they already had).
When I picked up this message on Saturday, the manager I spoke to said that the keys would immediately be expedited to me and we'd receive tracking info by email. Nope. Still hadn't had it on Monday, when we called Corporate again, who called the hotel again. Finally on Tuesday we received the keys - without the medication, which had been taken off the key ring. No note, no explanation, no apolgy of any kind, and, inexcusably, my husband is still without his medication which cannot easily be replaced.
I wouldn't expect this kind of treatment from a broken-down one-star motel, much less a Hyatt.

Update 08/04/17

Thus far the responses from Hyatt have been:

"...Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your stay at Hyatt Place Louisville-East. Your concerns are very important to us and due to the nature of the experience you have described, we feel it is important to involve the executive management of the hotel for review and follow up.

We appreciate your patience while this matter is fully investigated."

And:...We are unable to honor your request. Please contact the Jeffersontown Police Department for further assistance in retrieving the vile (sic) in question..."

This is an unbelievably poor response. We've already spent hours on the phone trying to contact the police and were told that the police did not have possession of our property. We've never received any explanation of how or why the keys were turned in or why the hotel didn't forward the keys as promised to both us and to the police. We've never received any kind of apology or acknowledgement from the hotel itself, and a very scant one from Hyatt along the lines of "sorry for the inconvenience."

On my initial call to the corporate office, the lady I spoke to said she'd frequently left things in Hyatts and they'd always been sent on quickly. Indeed, my daughter had a camera forwarded from a cheap hotel in ICELAND faster and with less trouble. Of course guests should check hotels thoroughly before checking out - and believe me, we bitterly regret missing those keys. But guests routinely DO leave things and hotels routinely DO forward them with no fuss.

It's amazing to me that the Hyatt hotel itself turned a shining customer service moment into a disaster, and it's even more amazing to me that Hyatt corporate isn't interested.

"
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 06-19-2017 — Spent night at hotel
  • 06-20-2017 — Checked out - left keys - called hotel two hours later. Hotel promised to send them.
  • 06-23-2017 — Called hotel and was told keys were in the custody of the police. Very lengthy runaround ensued.
  • 06-27-2017 — Finally received keys WITHOUT medication
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Hyatt Place Louisville East Hide
  • Aug 04, 2017, Claiming party added:
  • Update 08/04/17

    Thus far the responses from Hyatt have been:

    "...Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your stay at Hyatt Place Louisville-East. Your concerns are very important to us and due to the nature of the experience you have described, we feel it is important to involve the executive management of the hotel for review and follow up.

    We appreciate your patience while this matter is fully investigated."

    And:...We are unable to honor your request. Please contact the Jeffersontown Police Department for further assistance in retrieving the vile (sic) in question..."

    This is an unbelievably poor response. We've already spent hours on the phone trying to contact the police and were told that the police did not have possession of our property. We've never received any explanation of how or why the keys were turned in or why the hotel didn't forward the keys as promised to both us and to the police. We've never received any kind of apology or acknowledgement from the hotel itself, and a very scant one from Hyatt along the lines of "sorry for the inconvenience."

    On my initial call to the corporate office, the lady I spoke to said she'd frequently left things in Hyatts and they'd always been sent on quickly. Indeed, my daughter had a camera forwarded from a cheap hotel in ICELAND faster and with less trouble. Of course guests should check hotels thoroughly before checking out - and believe me, we bitterly regret missing those keys. But guests routinely DO leave things and hotels routinely DO forward them with no fuss.

    It's amazing to me that the Hyatt hotel itself turned a shining customer service moment into a disaster, and it's even more amazing to me that Hyatt corporate isn't interested.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Inconvenience of being without keys and essential medicine for extended period Jul 12, 2017 $350.00
2. Recovery of Losses: Replacement of medicine Jul 12, 2017 $79.00
3. Recovery of Losses: Replacement of pill container Jul 12, 2017 $8.00
4. Pay me for my time: Three hours of dealing with Hyatt and the JTown police Jul 12, 2017 $300.00
5. Copy claim to regulators Jul 12, 2017 $14.99
6. Pay for claim posting cost Jul 12, 2017 $14.99
7. Other – Physical delivery charges Jul 12, 2017 $4.99
Cash total : $771.97
  • -1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Hyatt Place Louisville East. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Elizabeth Johns On 06-20-2018
    Hyatt should give the claimant 100,000 points for future stays More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Sandra Jovan On 06-20-2018
    Hyatt should compensate the guest for the loss of their medicine plus offer 2 free nights at any Hyatt property. Free, excluding food, drinks or extras.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Chris Stevens On 08-18-2017
    Take Hyatt to court. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Question: by Fran Fellowes (2801 points) — Paralegal
  • On: 07-09-2017
  • Let me make sure I understand this:

    1) Hyatt verified that they had your keys (and your meds) in their possession and would forward them to you immediately at your expense

    2) Hyatt failed to forward the keys as expected and instead reported you to the police for...what? Drugs? Intent to poison the coffee urn?

    3) After being informed by the police that it was not a police matter, Hyatt failed to communicate any further with you and instead retained your property without notice.

    4) As a Hyatt guest you were left with a potential police record, a large potential bill from the rental car company, no access to your office and apartment, and no medication.

    5) When Hyatt belatedly returned your belongings, it retained your medication.

    Does this cover it?

  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Ehsan Samavatian On 07-09-2017
    This is a very tricky case. All of the places that we rent for a while has a policy about whatever you left behind in the hotel.As I heard in a lot of cases, they are not going to be responsible for those things in written policy, but they send back whatever you left behind. T More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Currently helping with this claim
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim