Public Mediation

Marc B vs. Sears Carpet And Air Duct Cleaning (Lorton, Va)

  • $10 cash reward offered for best resolution
M. B. vs. Sears Carpet And Air Duct Cleaning (Lorton, Va)
8922 Telegraph Rd, Lorton, Virginia, 22079-1526, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000 pts + $10)
Statement of Claim
"On March 10th I paid $2,910 for Sears HVAC and Carpet Cleaning in Lorton, VA to clean my furnace and airducts.  Yes, that's right, $2,910.  I paid this because my son suffers with allergies and asthma. When I got home my system was not cleaned and to make matters worse, they dented my hotwater tank.  It will cost me $1,150 to replace my tank.  On March 18th Sears came back to my house, to re-clean the system, so I had to take a day off from work.  Keep in mind they came back because Discover held back their payment.  I tried to negotiate with Sears' Representative (her name is Ikea). Ikea was rude to say the least. The company had the audacity to offer settlement for less than what it will cost to replace my hotwater heater.  They offered me $873 and basically told me to take it or leave it.  The technician's name who came to my house is Bernard.  Don't trust him.  He talks a good game but does not deliver.  All in all, very poor customer service.  I even took my claim to Sears' corporate office and I'm still waiting for a letter from the company's Executive VP.  Thanks Sears for your great customer disservice. "
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 03-10-2017 — Sears Carpet Cleaning and HVAC came to initially clean system
  • 03-10-2017 — After length discussion with technician Bernard, I authorized himt to clean system
  • 03-10-2017 — After arriving home, my wife told me the bill was $2,910. I was shocked. I thought he said it would be $600-900.
  • 03-10-2017 — I went into basement to review the cleaning. Unfortunately the system was not cleaned and my hotwater heater was damaged. I called Sears but no one answered.
  • 03-16-2017 — Sears did not return my calls until I disputed the charge with Discover.
  • 03-18-2017 — A new Sears Technician came to my house and verified that my system was not cleaned. Blower was dirty and the ducts. The technician spent 3-4 hours at my house.
  • 04-10-2017 — Sears has refused to reimburse me for my water heater. Also, Sears did not provide me with 2 filters I paid for.
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Pay me for my time: 5 hours $ 40 May 27, 2017 $200.00
2. Water Heater May 27, 2017 $1,150.00
3. Other – Pay for claim posting cost May 27, 2017 $14.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Sears Carpet And Air Duct Cleaning (Lorton, Va) to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $1,364.99
  • -1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Miki Someya commented
Miki Someya (Comment):
"Sears will reimburse $1,150 for replacement of the tank. Sears will pay $8, approximately half of the claim posting cost. In total, Sears will pay $1,158. The claimant agree that the system was cleaned after the second attempt and will give up claim on that. The claimant will not disclose the resolution to anyone outside of family (agree the non-disclosure agreement regarding the resolution), and will not make any negative comment on Sears online."
 (2 years ago)
Reply
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the Terms

    ""

  • "This business is a franchise licensed under Sears Home Services and as such, operates independently. It was this business's decision to offer the $873.00 referenced and that amount is unchanged. They indicated that a dent in the water heater did not impede it from doing its primary function and they felt the offer they made was already very generous under the circumstances."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 1
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Question: by Jim Wicks (1782 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator
  • On: 07-14-2017

  • To the claimant: You filed this claim a couple of months ago.  Any progress?

    Has there been further commnunication between you and  Sears Carpet & Air Duct Cleaning in Lorton?  Did Sears corporate office respond?  If so, what did they (either party) say?

    Does your water heater still function normally as claimed by Sears-Lorton?  Are you still using it?  If so, can you attach a photo of the damaged area?

    Thanks, would like to help you get this resolved.  
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Currently helping with this claim
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim