Public Mediation

A.P. vs. Christian Memorial Cultural Center, A Divission Of Stonemor, Llp

  • 20% of recovery offered for best resolution
A. P. vs. Christian Memorial Gardens West - A Division Of Stonemor Partners L.P.
521 E Hamlin Rd, Rochester Hills, Michigan, 48307-3516, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 7291992
    • Amount Involved: 2,760.00
    • Filed On: Jul 20, 2017
    • Posted On: Jul 31, 2017
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
"In 1983 we bought a Cremations Package for two from Christian Memorial Cultural Centers. Since then the place have changed owner 3 times. We were never notified or given a choice to keep or be refunded. The ones who own it now is StoneMor LLP. The Acting Chief Operating Officer is Mr. Leo J. Pound. Recently we went to make sure of arragements as we are getting old. We were told that in order to use what we have paid for (a good $3k in 1983) we would have to pay an additional $2700. just to have the niche open and our names put on the plaques. We said then that we want a refund for that amount is too much & we don't want to leave a burdenn on our children. Since, the children don't mind buying an urn from Walmart, & having us be cremated by another company we wish to get a refund. But the person we spoke (Michelle) said we would have to pay for the rest even if we don't use, which means our children will have to pay. I consider that immoral, if not illegal. The Statute of Limitation is fast approaching which means we need it to be resolved fast. Thank you"
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Refund: 2Cremation Packages Aug 04, 2017 $2,700.00
2. Pay me for my time: 2 @ $30/hour Aug 04, 2017 $60.00
3. Other – Copy claim to regulators Aug 04, 2017 $14.99
4. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Aug 04, 2017 $14.99
5. Other – Physical delivery charges Aug 04, 2017 $4.99
Cash total : $2,794.97
  • 1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • "We have reviewed Mrs. Preston's claim regarding her contract with Christian Memorial Cultural Center, and we categorically deny her claims of bad business practices, including: Misrepresentation or fraud, unfair practice, failure to respond to complaint, hidden conditions or restrictions, and high-pressure sales tactics. Regarding her contract from 1984, the cemetery has already provided the niche and entombment rights that were purchased; the name plate and death dates that were included in her contract, and which do not need to be purchased again, contrary to her statement, are traditionally provided at the time of need. Finally, regarding the opening and closing charges that were discussed with Mrs. Preston, those charges are required to be paid in order to perform inurnments (burials) in the niche. At the time of her purchase in 1984, they were not sold before the time of need, so when the sales person told her at that time that she had purchased everything, he most likely told her that she had purchased everything that was available for purchase before the time of need, but that the opening and closing services would still need to be purchased. The cemetery now sells those services before the time of need, and Mrs. Preston was offered the opportunity recently to do so. That opportunity is still available to her.

    Therefore, we again state that neither the cemetery nor any of its employees did anything improper or unethical in any of our dealings with Mrs. Preston. Further, after careful consideration, we decline her requested terms of resolution, as outlined in her complaint to you.
    "

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • -1
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 08-03-2017
    Christian Memorial / StoneMor should refund original "pre-need" cost to claimant or provide niche opening and closing at substantially discounted price. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim