Public Mediation

S.K. vs. My Roommate Sharon Hopkins From Delta Force Apartments

S. K. vs. My Roommate Sharon Hopkins From Delta Force Apartments
33 ValleyGirl Drive, Beverly Hills, California, 90210, United States
Amount Involved: $1,479.00
Complaint(s): Property damage or loss | Other
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
"My co-tenent Sharon Hopkins left without paying her share of the rent for 3 months. She claimed she didn't have the money and asked the other renters to cover her until she got her accident settlement but then she left and simply said that since she made improvements to the unit for more than the amount of the rent she shouldn't have to pay. In fact, she claims she is owed money.

We never had any agreement about the work she did (although she now claims we verbally agreed to the offset one night when we were all drinking) Most of the improvements were solely/primarily for her benefit.
Those included:

- Carpet cleaning which was needed because of her dog
-Change in curtains- she didn't like the color
-Re-drywalling and painting the wall that her boyfriend put his fist through
-Some landscaping
-Roof repairs that her boyfriend did and which she feels we should recover from the landlord
-Various other small $ items and cleaning. She also wants a decoration consulting fee because she is a design student and felt her advice helped with the house decorations- I'm not paying for "Modern Goth""
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 08-11-2015 — signed lease which we all agreed to pay onetime equally
  • 03-01-2016 — Sharon stopped paying her rent but claimed she would get it caught up with her settlement money came in
  • 05-18-2016 — our lease ended and Sharon claims now she doesn't owe anything
  • 05-13-2016 — contacted a lawyer who says it would cost more to recover the past due amts from her than she owes
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Payment due: back rent due May 11, 2016 $1,270.00
2. Recovery of Losses: interest on outstanding balance due Jun 02, 2016 $18.00
3. Pay me for my time: 3 hours of our time trying to collect Jun 02, 2016 $55.00
4. Monetary items with amounts to be determined: loss of damage deposit from dog damage Jun 02, 2016 $136.00
5. Other – Pay for claim posting cost May 11, 2016 $7.99
Cash total : $1,486.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
Message from My Roommate Sharon Hopkins From Delta Force Apartments: Sorry, all of us (you, me, Angel and Jon) agreed that night at Sepi's that my repairs and improvements would count as three months of rent. Angel will back me up on this, we all agreed. I can't help it if you don't remember this, and now want to go back to the original agreement. I'm happy to cover your loss on the damage deposit because it was my dog and the cleaning I paid for turned out not to be adequate.
What By When How Much
1. Reimbursement for damage deposit Jun 02, 2016 $136.00
Cash total : $136.00
  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Claimant says maybe M
Claimant: ("MAYBE"):
"I'll pay you $25 plus free food for a month."
 (3 years ago)
Reply
Respondent dislikes
Respondent: ():
"I would have to have $35 to consider this."
 (3 years ago)
Reply
Claimant says maybe M
Claimant: ("MAYBE"):
"thats a step in the right direction...."
 (3 years ago)
Reply
Claimant dislikes
Claimant: ():
"Im looking for $1500 and you offer me $136. Thats an insult. No wonder you have to rip people off to stay in business. I would settle for $1000 for the luxury of never having to hear from you again. Deal?"
 (3 years ago)
Reply
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 4
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 5
  • Contributed Solution: by Sophia Patel On 07-24-2017
    I would say you should 1) avoid court, 2) settle on PC, 3) split the money you would have wasted in court and settle with those savings in mind.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 4
  • Contributed Solution: by Fred Swartz On 07-20-2017
    put this claim out on FB with a poll . parties agree to go along with whatever gets the most votes over 1000. Solutions are 1) pay nothing 2) pay all up front 3) 50.50 split 4 pay all in equal payments over 12 months with interest
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Fred Swartz On 07-20-2017
    We can settle this with a little creativity. Co-tenent should pay back rent and agree to a 10% interest rate on all backs for the period they were due. Does that work?
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by Fran Fellowes On 06-15-2017
    Roomate from hell owes the rent, the damage from the dog, and 50% of the carpet cleaning More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 4
  • Contributed Solution: by Ehsan Samavatian On 06-15-2017
    It seems like you don't follow any agreement from the beginning. If she spent more than what she supposed to pay for rent, you shouldn't ask for more.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Question: by Andrea Brooks Licensed Adjuster In Over 30 States. Investigation Claims For 10+ Years
  • On: 06-20-2016
  • Hello-

    Were all parties listed on the lease agreement or a sublease agreement when they lived in the home?

Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim