Public Mediation

Anthony Dukes vs. Jeff Nicely

  • 10% of recovery offered for best resolution
A. D. vs. Jeff Nicely
11 Price Ave, Erlanger, Kentucky, 41018-1660, United States
Amount Involved: $5,000.00
Complaint(s): Bad business practices
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 1607620
    • Amount Involved: 5,000.00
    • Filed On: Jan 19, 2021
    • Posted On: Feb 08, 2021
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Discriminatory advertising statement and notices Discriminatory terms, conditions privileges, or services and facilities Discriminatory refusal to rent violation occurred because of our race address and location of the property in question is 3305 Hulbert Avenue Erlanger Kentucky 41018 Respondents NKY Realty 3 LLC c/o Registered Agent Jeff Nicely 11 Price Avenue Erlanger Kentucky 41018 Anthony and Shirley Dukes are Complainants protected by the Fair Housing Act and the Kentucky Civil Rights Act because of their race black. Complainants Dukes were homeless at the time. Respondent is NKY Realty LLC Erlanger Kentucky. On or about September 10, 2020, Complainants Dukes were looking at a rental property owned by the Respondent. Complaint Shirley Dukes wrote down the phone number on the rental sign and called the Respondent. According to the Complainants, we were told the property was no longer for rent. Complainants Dukes I believes this to be untrue based on our race. Complainants Dukes the Respondents voicemail still list the property as available to rent, and that the Respondent does not want to rent to Blacks. So I file a charge with the ( KCHR ) Kentucky Commission on Human rights for violation of the Fair Housing Act, 804 (b) (c) and the Kentucky Civil Rights Act KRS.344.360 in that we were denied a housing opportunity because of our race, black. And to settle this matter, we like a sign letter of an apology, from the Respondent, A change in the Respondents policies and practices, the original settlement, and we will withdraw the complaint with the KCHR. we will not sign any documents from their Attorney. Sincerely Anthony Dukes."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Jeff Nicely Hide
  • Jan 21, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • After the Respondents discovery that we were black people inquiring about their property located at 3305 Hulbert Avenue Erlanger Kentucky 41018. The Next day my wife and I made a trip over to the house, the NKY Realty, had took the rental sign down. But was still advertising it for rent on their voicemail.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Damages: Denied a housing opportunity because of our race. Jan 31, 2021 $2,500.00
2. Recovery of Losses: For denied a housing opportunity because of our race black.. Jan 31, 2021 $2,500.00
Cash total : $5,000.00
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Awaiting response from Party
Joshua Rupnow commented
Joshua Rupnow (Comment):
"I understand this is frustrating. I will have to here both sides before making any decisions or suggestions. I’ll keep an eye out for his response."
 (10 months ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Jeff Nicely. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Sophie Blythe On 02-23-2021
    The KCHR should investigate this and any pattern of complaints More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 02-22-2021
    Did you ask a white friend to try to view the house after you called the agent? That's how you prove discrimination. Unchanged voicemail isn't enough.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 02-22-2021
    Discrimination hasn't been proven; however, respondent should answer if possible More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim