Public Mediation

N.R. vs. State Of Colorado Department Of Revenue

Extortionate taxation and billing tactics

N. R. vs. Colorado Department Of Revenue
P.O. Box 17087, Denver, Colorado, 80217-0087, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 2883489
    • Amount Involved: 1,200,000.00
    • Filed On: Dec 18, 2020
    • Posted On: Dec 29, 2020
    • Complaint(s):
      • Damage to my reputation
      • Abusive, arbitrary, or uneven application of rating or review processes
      • Refusal to respond or remove bad content
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I used to run a small business in the state of Colorado and have paid taxes for maybe 20 years, till they got a new agent who marched into my booth last year at Colorado renaissance festival handed my counter girl a bill for over a thousand dollars and said I was tax delinquent and said we needed to pay it in person on Monday or we would be penalized. I was not delinquent, I may have paid the bill for the last year, 2018, on the wrong month, but my business is there only 2months of the year, so i mail it in on January 20 of the following year. But they would not register my payment despite half a dozen letters with copies proving I paid.

The owner of the ren fair "CRF" proceded to take her word for it and revoke my contract for the next year, 2019. This is slander and libel, I cant tell you how upsetting this. I told him I did not owe tax to Colorado, so then he revoked my contract for the next fair we do, Pennsylvania Renaissance festival which Jim Paradise is also the owner. (I have filed a PeopleClaim for that issue already).

So on the word of one zealous tax agent, I lost 2 ren faires, 16 weekends of sales, my only source of income for the last 30 years, during which I have paid taxes to 20 different states, every one of which has a different set of rules, which is fine, but they cannot break federal law. I learned this after state of NY tried to extort me for taxes which i did not owe, then tried to fine me for unfiled tax reports, which they also may not do, then they slandered me to the fair management who the banned me from coming back but i let it go bcz i didnot want to ever go back, where upon ny state tax authority continued to libel, fine and harrass me for several years for thousands of dollars i did not owe, until i stopped answering and they gave up. Colorado is repeating this extortive mobster tactic. Letters once a month in an attempt to fine and collect taxes i do not owe. I do not want a resolution; I would like to sue them for libel, slander, extortion and harrassment, and for the federal crime of doing this illegal harrassment through the US postal service.

Warner Ehrhard won a settlement for just such a case against the IRS for them sending him a bill for taxes he did not owe: he won a quarter million dollars. Not that it's wonderful, but extorting tax payers is a heinous crime, perpetuated because small businesses, esp those owned by women of color, dont have the resources to protect themselves from such abuse, so we quit.

It's a crime against not only small businesses but against American itself, the backbone of which all creativity and thriving busisses begin, American small business persons."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: 16 weeks per year of my craft fairs Dec 31, 2021 $250,000.00
2. Damages: My good name, loss of sales Dec 31, 2021 $150,000.00
3. Recovery of Losses: Next 10 years of sales lost plus 2 booths Dec 31, 2021 $500,000.00
4. Pay me for my time: 200 hours Dec 31, 2021 $50,000.00
5. Grief and personal annoyance and hardship Dec 31, 2021 $250,000.00
Cash total : $1,200,000.00
  • 1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Colorado Department Of Revenue. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Sophie Blythe On 01-13-2021
    Did the Renaissance Fair collect sales tax or did you? More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 01-13-2021
    Economic and reputational harm caused by over-zealous revenue agents breaching Colorado's privacy laws is actionable, if events are as the claimant describes More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim