Public Mediation

Elizabeth R vs. Cary Bryant

E. R. vs. Cary Bryant
2705 Pace Bend Road, Spicewood, Texas, 78669, United States
Amount Involved: $1,500.00
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 7273297
    • Amount Involved: 1,500.00
    • Filed On: May 02, 2016
    • Posted On: May 13, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a service
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Cary was to work on my home project of demolition and remodeling my kitchen, two bathrooms, flooring and painting. He stated he required $3000.00 up front before the demo started. Sent me the proposal on 2/29/16 which stated "required third up front, third AFTER demo and prep and the remainder at project completion." Gave him the check for $3000 on 3/3/16 which was cashed that same day. March 9th was when he was originally to start. He text me that morning and told me the weather became a factor and waiting for it to stop raining since he had a trailer to pull. Not sure what that meant. So, was not able to start then. He finally started on 3/17/16 with the demo which he text me and stated that his demo guys postponed until that weekend, but demo guys never showed up. On March 18th he sent me pictures of the demo. 1st one was of the demo of the kitchen counter top at 4:49 pm. Second text sent at 5:26 pm of the guest bathroom vanity. At 6:05 pm text me picture of the master bath vanity but the closet wasn’t demo till the next day and text that picture on 3/20 at 6:13 pm. On 3/19/16 at 12:31 pm sent the last picture of the shelf/wall demo to the guest bathroom. (see demo attachments)

That Monday, 3/21/16 he stated that he needed to get some personal stuff done and that he would start again on Tuesday, 3/22/16. But at 3:31 pm on 3/21/16 I received a text stating that his step-mom, who raised him, died of a heart attack and had to leave suddenly to be with his dad to make funeral arrangements and stated that the construction will be on hold till he returns. Understandable.
On March 28th received Cary’s text stating that he will be back home 3/29/16 and will resume project. He then text and stated that he did not mean that he would start on 3/29/16….so again no work being done. On 3/30/16 Cary text stating that he is meeting his painters that afternoon and tile guy will be there tomorrow to work on the shower and plumbers will be there Friday. I met with the painter on 3/30/16 to let him into my house to view what needs to be done. On 3/31/16 Cary text to say he is crashing at my place that night stating he will be working all weekend. April 1st, went to the house to see what other projects he has accomplished….NOTHING! Cary and I talked and I needed to know what the next step would be and he stated that he will be needing the next 3000 to resume work and that he would not be working this weekend but going to go to Houston to be with his dad.

We had a conference call with him on 4/4/16, since he did not want to come to New Braunfels, to get clarity on why he required the next 3000 to resume work. We discussed wanting him to provide the itemized list of where the first $3000 went and he was very defensive and did most of the talking defending himself. I asked him to make available this list and he stated that he will, but the only thing he will provide will be the word “Demo” and the amount of $3000, but there will be no items listed.

I could not justify and think of paying him another dime, so he is no longer my construction worker."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Credit: 1/2 of the payment of the $3000 May 31, 2016 $1,500.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost May 31, 2016 $7.99
Cash total : $1,507.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Cary Bryant. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 07-18-2016
    $3000 for demolition? More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim