Public Mediation

grand solmar cabo san lucas-Dispute-#5467294

T. C. vs. Grand Solmar Resort And Spa, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Av. Solmar No. 1A Col. Centro, Col. Centro, Cabo San Lucas, Bcs, C.P, 23450, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 5467294
    • Amount Involved: 10,500.00
    • Filed On: Nov 28, 2012
    • Posted On: Dec 09, 2012
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Contract / Agreement / Promise dispute
      • Overcharge or billing error
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Went to Cabo in August 2012 after my husband of 35 years passed away, to grieve in private with our children.
I was on heavy medication at the time. Was promised a free ride to and from the airport if I would visit a hotel nearby.
Next morning went there, told the man I wasn't feeling well, and why. Told him I didn't feel like staying for that and he assured me it wouldn't take very long for the presentation. He told me to eat breakfast there. I did and he started to show me the hotel after. I let him know that I was still grieving the loss of my husband and needed to get back to my children.
He took me to this room and served me drinks. At this point it was so hot and I had a headache, and was crying. I was on medication also.
He kept telling me I would be fine and couldn't leave yet. He brought out these books and papers on this hotel and kept saying just to sign and I could go. So 5 hours into this I agreed so I could just get out of there. There was so much pressure to sign these papers.
They asked for my credit card and I told them no I didn't want to be charged for anything and they assured me that I wouldn't. I gave them an ATM card because I knew that it wouldn't be charged. They also had my check card, but assured me that it wouldn't be used.
We spent 5 days in our hotel that we were booked in.
When we got back, I was called by someone who said the card was not good and would be using my other one. I told her no that I didn't have money and she said it was too late. I called back and told them that I wasn't in the right frame of mind at the time and was told different. I did not even read the papers that the man coherced me into signing and just wanted to leave.
I feel that I was discriminated against, because of the poor communication and pressure not to leave until I signed the forms.
I feel that it is unethical that they would take my money like that after they knew that my house is in foreclosure and can't afford it."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Grand Solmar Resort And Spa, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico Hide
  • Dec 03, 2012, Grand Solmar Resort and Spa, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico (responding party) added:
  • Dear Teri Coronado:
    A Sales representative from Grand Solmar will be contacting you directly to address this matter.
    Cordially,
    Members Services

  • Dec 03, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • Thank you very much.
    Sincerely,

    Teri Coronado

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Refund: the money that they took from my account Dec 13, 2012 $10,000.00
2. Pay me for my time: 5 hours at $40 an hour and mental anxiety Dec 13, 2012 $500.00
3. Other – Copy claim to regulators Dec 13, 2012 $14.99
4. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Dec 13, 2012 $7.99
Cash total : $10,522.98
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Grand Solmar Resort and Spa, Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim