Public Mediation

S.T. vs. Google Inc.

Google keeps charging my credit card, will not tell me what the charges are for and who made them, and will not cancel.

S. T. vs. Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Pkwy, Mountain View, California, 94043-1351, United States
Amount Involved: $870.00
Complaint(s): Bad business practices
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 4 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 1096454
    • Amount Involved: 870.00
    • Filed On: May 01, 2019
    • Posted On: May 10, 2019
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Every month I get recurring charges from Google on my credit card. This has been going on for years.
I don't have a paid account with Google. I have tried and tried to find out - for YEARS! - what these charges are for, spending hours on the phone, to no avail.
I have recited all my family's Gmail addresses and the reps say the charges are not related to any of them. They will not even tell me what type of service it is.
Although *I* am paying the charge, apparently it's privileged information as to what I am paying for. I cannot cancel the charges because I don't know what they are for and who initiated them.
None of my family remember signing up for any of this. Google is apparently totally unable to send an email to whoever did make the charge informing them that the service, whatever it is, will be cut off unless they confirm the charge with me.
The last rep recommended that I file a dispute with Google because that was always the most helpful way to find out what the charges are for and who made them. I battled through the process. Google came back with "We are unable to confirm fraudulent activity." HELPFUL.
All of your contact options are siloed into categories. I have no idea if this is Google Play, Google Storage or indeed Google Sushi Tuesday or Google Executive Bonus. It wouldn't matter if I did know, of course, because I couldn't sign into the account to stop whatever I'm paying for.
I NEVER file chargebacks, I just try to resolve the problem, but apparently a chargeback is the only way to stop the juggernaut?
I am sick to death of this. My credit card, my info. If you can't be bothered to confirm the charges, then cancel the payment and service."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Upgrade: Change your policy to help cardholders verify charges May 16, 2019 N/A
2. Apology: Written apology for being complete tossers May 16, 2019 N/A
3. Change of policy: Help people figure out whether charges ON THEIR OWN CARDS are legitimate or not May 16, 2019 N/A
4. Information: Tell me what you were charging me for May 16, 2019 N/A
Cash
1. Refund: At least one year of disputed payments, TBD May 16, 2019 $120.00
2. Pay me for my time: 10 hours @ $75 May 16, 2019 $750.00
3. Other – Physical delivery charges May 16, 2019 $4.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Google Inc. to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $874.99
Non-cash: 4 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Google Inc.. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 05-15-2019
    Report the problem to the FTC and the CFPB More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Arnab Banerjee On 05-14-2019
    google should conduct a system checking. where these money goes from ST account ? it must go somewhere and if this charges are not related to ST account it must be related to somebody else's account. this must be caused by technical error or system fault. google must see if its system is not faulty or there is no technical error.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 05-13-2019
    Google should set up a validation system to correct unknown and uncancellable credit card charge problem, and pay claimant a bug bounty for helping them to avoid a class action suit. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim