Public Mediation

Ross Bros. Auto Trans Service, Inc. vs. DexYP 13690 Riverport Dr Fl 2 Maryland Heights MO 63043-4801

Ross Bros. Auto Trans Service, Inc. vs. Dexyp - Dex Media, Inc. And At&T
208 South Akard Street Ste 110 Dallas, TX, 75202-4209, 2200 West Airfield Drive, Dallas, Texas, 75261-9810, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"DexYP
13690 Riverport Dr Fl 2
Maryland Heights MO 63043-4801

DexYP publishes The Real Yellow Pages phone book. We have been listed in this phone book for over 50 years under "R" for Ross and under Tansmissions & various other headings. Last August 2018 when the new book came out, Ross Bros. was misspelled "Ross Brothers" & listed under "B" for Brothers. We  also lost all our bold listings! They essentially buried us!
Customers not being able to find us has made a substantial difference in the number of calls we get each day causing a loss of income of approximately $7,000.00 per month so far. DexYP said they were sorry for our losses, but could only offer 15% off our yearly charge; that is, $294.00. We do not feel we have been compensated fairly as it was their mistake in misspelling our company name.

Update Jan 30, 2018 - according to DexYP - Dex Media, AT&T is responsible because AT&T issued a service order 2-1-18 with misspelled name "Brothers Automotive Transmission Service Inc, Ross" which caused the error in the phone book.

Our base listing has been the same since the year 2000. We would have lost our presence this year in the Louisville Kentucky Directory too if DexYP/Thry Business Advisor, Joshua Dzierwa, had not called us to verify that we wanted to cancel advertising in the Louisville Directory. We told him we most certainly did not want to cancel & he over rode the order. Why did the DexYP/Thryv for Southern Indiana Directory not question cancellations in their directory?
"
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 01-26-2018 — First contact DexYP- Meggen Smedal
  • 03-26-2018 — Advised Meggen "Ross Bros." not Ross Brothers Please fix. Send us a copy of our contract with DexYP
  • 08-21-2018 — Advised Meggen We received a call saying Louisville Diretor Ad was cancelled. We overrode that & asked Meggen to check & see if anything else had been cancelled.
  • 09-06-2018 — Advised Meggen Ross Bros. was misspelled in new The Real Yellow Pages phone book & was listed under "B" instead of "R"
  • 09-06-2018 — Meggen said she wanted to put a free advertising listing on YP.com to help make up for any leads we might lose fom the phone book listing being incorrect. Send us a copy of our contract with DexYP
  • 01-08-2019 — We called DexYP Client Care Support. Offered a courtesy discount of 15% ($294). They faxed me a copy of a contract with DexYP & said they would have a new representative contact us soon.
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Dexyp - Dex Media, Inc. And At&T Hide
  • Feb 22, 2019, Claiming party added:
  • We added AT&T to claim # 8898240-265448 as we feel AT&T and DexYP-Dex Media both dropped the ball on this one.

    We were contacted by AT&T's Case Manager Danielle, from the President's office in Dallas, Texas. She asked a lot of questions and gave us a decision that AT&T was not responsible for the error in printing "The Real Yellow Pages". Danielle advised the DEXYP-DEX Media was responsible for the error, not AT&T. Reference case #IN1900579, she said we should contact the Escalation Team at DEXYP-DEX Media and have them contact her at AT&T so she could explain to them.

    Sounds like we are getting the run around again.

    None of this is a solution to our problem-lost sales due to lost contact with our customers. Not seeing us in the phone book, most customers will think we have gone out of business!!

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Loss of income Feb 15, 2019 $84,000.00
2. Other – Physical delivery charges Feb 15, 2019 $11.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites DexYP - Dex Media, Inc. and AT&T to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $84,011.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the explanation / grounds provided

    "Executive Care spoke with the client:

    I have spoken with Carolyn. As she stated they had a listing in the directory that printed the wrong order and spelling of their name: "Brothers Automatic Transmission Service, Inc Ross" which put it in the Bs instead of the Rs for the correct name of "Ross Bros Automatic Transmission Service, Inc". I explained to her that all listed information in the print phone directories is controlled by service orders from the telephone company that supplies the listing information (in this case AT&T). I also explained to her that the 15% adjustment that she received was a courtesy adjustment from us since this was not our error and that listing is not actually anything we bill for. The item we do bill for (a double quarter column ad under Transmissions Auto) was correct. The client mentions in her review that her bold listings were also gone. She did previously have bold listings under 2 different headings in the yellowpages and a bold listing in the white pages but by her admission they reduced their print and online presence this year and the only print item the client signed a contract for was the “DQC” in that Jeffersonville (Southern Indian Area) directory. I advised Carolyn that if she is looking for further compensation, she would need to go to the source of the error (AT&T).

    The client said she understood how it worked now and she may need to update her review to direct it to AT&T."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 0
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 02-13-2019
    Astonishing incompetence on the part of AT&T and DexYP; they need to own the mistake that cost their customer business More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim