Public Mediation

B.S. vs. Capella University

  • 15% of recovery offered for best resolution
B. S. vs. Capella University
225 South 6th Street, 9th Floor, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55402, United States
Amount Involved: $1,000,000.00
Complaint(s): Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"To the attention of:

InternshipCES at Capella University
Dr. Nicole Holby, Assistant Program Director, Clinical Training and Licensure
Ms. Lora Jackson, Academic Coach
Disability Services at Capella University


I am writing to express my deepest concerns and frustrations that an extremely limited set of options were chosen and “dictated” as the only options for Group Supervision in my CES Practicum Course CES8780. The times given were Thursdays at 12:00 CST and 1:10 CST.



I shared with my instructor, Dr. Cooper, that these times were in the middle of my workday and that there was no way I could consistently commit to either time. I stated that I have the following conflicts: 1) a standing 12:30 pm EST meeting every other Thursday; 2) there are from time-to-time planned client programming that can be scheduled on a Thursday that would tie me up from 11:30 am EST to 1:00 pm EST. I have no control over whether these happen or even if they might happen.



Her response was the following and I quote:

“I have placed the times for this course around lunchtime so that you could use your lunch hour to attend the group. I am hopeful you have worked out the schedule. Please let me know which one you would like to attend.”

Dr. Cooper



Additionally, I must share that I have been a Capella University student since April 2014, having completed my master’s in clinical counseling in December 2017 and then I started the PhD program in Counselor Education and Supervision in January 2018.



In my time with Capella, there have been several courses which have included both optional and required group meetings of the students in the course. Every instructor that I have had always provided at least 2-3 options and these options were never on the same day and always included evening time slots. Additionally, during my Practicum Course for my master’s degree in clinical counseling, there were a couple of options provided for the group supervision and this always included an evening time slot.



This is the first time that I have ever seen a limited option of group meetings for students. And I find that to only offer 2 options on the same day 1 hour apart is extremely exclusive and very unrealistic.



I share my immediate and grave concern for a lack of accommodation and attention to make accommodations for those students who work during the day and need an evening time slot for supervision.



I was not able to attend the Week 1 Group Supervision yesterday, October 14th.



I have spoken with Disability Services about my concern and other specific issues related to my circumstances and situations as a learner. They advised me to contact Academic Advising to see about switching course sections to an instructor that is offering more options, including an evening time slot.



I have also spoken with my Academic Advisor, Lora Jackson, and expressed my concerns and asked about switching sections. She advised me to write this email to each of you expressing my concerns and asking for assistance to have this matter resolved and that accommodations and changes be taken into consideration."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Capella University Hide
  • Oct 22, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Please find attached the following formal letter of complaint, grievance and discrimination.

  • Nov 12, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Completed statement and evidence of discrimination by Capella University, the CES PhD Program including guidelines and procedures, its faculty and other certain named individuals.

  • Nov 12, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Supporting Documentation for case of discrimination at Capella Universityl

  • Nov 15, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • At this time, Capella University has also failed me by not adhering to another one of their policies. They failed to send my grievance to the Grievance Review Panel per Capella University Catalog and Policy 4.02.03.

  • Nov 15, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Due to the failure to adhere to several Capella University policies, I am requested an immediate settlement before additionally legal action is taken.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Money Nov 27, 2021 $1,000,000.00
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Capella University to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $1,000,000.00
  • -1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Geoffrey Beresford Hartwell commented
Geoffrey Beresford Hartwell (Comment):
"This looks like a try-on for money!"
 (11 days ago)
Reply
Awaiting response from Party
Brian Edderly commented
Brian Edderly (Comment):
"I doubt the claimant is really expecting a million dollars. People often throw out large figures in a fit of anger; if the other party comes back with acknowledgement of the problem and a reasonable solution, the money is quickly forgotten. I don't see any response at all from Capella, which is disappointing."
 (7 days ago)
Reply
Claimant dislikes
Claimant: ():
"Hello. Thank you for your comment. But to be honest with you. No!

I am very upset, hurt and angry with how I have been treated. I would like them to acknowledge the wrongs they have done, including how they failed to respond to me needs, excluded me in both words and actions, and did not follow their own policy and procedures and guidelines.

I want this acknowledged in writing with an official apology.

Any compensation would be appreciated and considered.

Does that make sense??"
 (9 days ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Capella University. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Sophie Blythe On 12-02-2021
    Capella University is publicly traded and all about the profits, but there is nothing here to merit a million dollar settlement. Claimant should withdraw from course, get a refund, and sign up again when more convenient times are available. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by Julia J On 12-01-2021
    Claimant should defer internship until prepared to adjust schedule More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 4
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 11-30-2021
    What is the real solution to the real problem? More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Claimant On 11-28-2021
    "Hello. Thank you for your comment. But to be honest with you. No! I am very upset, hurt and angry with how I have been treated. I would like them to acknowledge the wrongs they have done, including how they failed to respond to me needs, excluded me in both words and actions, and did not follow their own policy and procedures and guidelines. I want this acknowledged in writing with an official apology. Any compensation would be appreciated and considered. Does that make sense??"
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim