Public Mediation

A Licensed Roofing Company Dispute

M. W. vs. A Licensed Roofing Company
3750 Hacienda Drive, Suite E, Davie, Florida, 33314, United States
Amount Involved: $1,000.00
Complaint(s): Problem with a service
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
    • View response from: A Licensed Roofing Company
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 6567053
    • Amount Involved: 1,000.00
    • Filed On: May 04, 2014
    • Posted On: May 15, 2014
    • Complaint(s):
      • Problem with a service
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I contracted and paid $1000 on October 10, 2013 to the Company to fix the leaky roof of my house with one year warranty. The initial and two follow-up services did not solve the problem. I sent a certified letter on April 15, 2014 to the Company asking for following-up service or paying me $500 back by May 3, 2014. There is no response."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and A Licensed Roofing Company Hide
  • May 14, 2014, A Licensed Roofing Company (responding party) added:
  • Ming, you personally viewed the video of the water test in January of 2014 where the roof repair was not leaking, but the actual skylight was. We never charged you a trip charge or asked you to pay a service call. Your son even got on the roof top and saw where the water was coming in and I encouraged you to reach out to the original skylight manufacturer to address the skylights defect. No communication has been received from you or with regard to your property since our last visit to your home in January 2014. We will not be bullied into paying you money. If this false accusation is published, online or elsewhere, legal action will be sought against you for the false claims. Please do not disregard the seriousness of this matter. Sarah Harris, Owner / Director of Operations

  • May 14, 2014, A Licensed Roofing Company (responding party) added:
  • Ming, originally you contacted our company to repair your "leaky skylight." We addressed all of your concerns over the telephone and you stated you could not afford to replace the defective 10x10 skylight and inquired about a "sealer" to be used instead. We do NOT repair the actual skylights, only the rooftops surrounding, so we thoughtfully provided you with our skylight manufacturer's contact information so that you could communicate any questions you had directly with them. 37 days later, you again solicited our services, only this time it was to "repair a tile roof." The very next day, we completed our estimate and quoted your 2 roof repairs at $1,250. You again said money was tight and requested that we reduce the price to $1,000 and complete only the transition of the skylight where 1 of 2 roof leaks was pinpointed. We accepted your revised contract terms, and put them into writing for you. We located the leak at the skylight transition by looking through the large holes that were cut out of the ceiling at the skylight due to severe water damage, mold and neglect. We again verified the leak from on the rooftop once the tile was removed during our repair.
    At that time, we also learned the area had been previously repaired by an unlicensed handyman, and that the problem was ongoing. Ming, you personally viewed the video of the water test in January of 2014 where the roof repair was not leaking, but the actual skylight was. Your son even got on the roof top and saw where the water was coming in and I encouraged you to reach out to the original skylight manufacturer to address the skylights defect. We never charged you a trip charge or asked you to pay a service call. We have been responsive to your requests, sensitive to your needs and most importantly, we've provided you with superior workmanship and outstanding customer service.
    Upon reviewing your complaint, contract #1538 completed on 10/11/2013, along with all documentation, photographs and video evidence of the repair and the 2 separate roof inspections following its completion, I hereby decline your unfounded request for reimbursement. Your claim that we have been served by certified mail is false as is your claim that work order #1538 was not completed as contracted. NO communication has been received from you or with regard to your property since our last visit to your home in January 2014. I am 100% confident in the work that was contracted and completed, and am 100% confident that you cannot produce any documentation or findings to the contrary. I may be reached at 954-792-2020 to discuss this matter further. Sarah Harris, Owner / Director of Operations

  • May 17, 2014, Claiming party added:
  • I have a leaky roof and tried to fix it myself without success. Therefore, I contacted A Licensed Roofing Company. They said on the repair contract that "the location of active roof leak area to be at skylight transition" and promised to take care of the problem with "one year leak-free guarantee" for $1,000. The contract was signed by both parties on 10/9/2013. $1,000 was paid; work was performed; roof continues leaking. Two follow-up services did not help. Their phony stories are unfounded; Trash talk has no merit. Fact of the matter is that A LICENSED ROOFING COMPANY FAILED TO PERFORM REPAIR CONTRACT and MY ROOF IS STILL LEAKING AT THE SAME SPOT THEY PROMISED TO FIX.

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Refund: Amount I paid May 19, 2014 $1,000.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost May 19, 2014 $7.99
Cash total : $1,007.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • "Fraud, misuse of the law and consumers rights, deception, con artist: These are the words that describe this complaint and the persons who filed it. I would produce herein the evidence, both photographic and contractual, necessary to close out this fraudulent claim and/or disprove its validity, but I have been advised by legal council to save them for court. Again Wang, this false accusation will not "make you any money" and will not be taken lightly. Shame on you for trying to take advantage of my small business. Govern yourself accordingly. Sarah Harris Owner / Director of Operations."

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim