Public Mediation

Bonita C M vs. Walmart

Walmart is profiting from fraud on an 83 year old. I need help!

B. M. vs. Walmart (Headquarters)
702 SW 8th St, Bentonville, Arkansas, 72716-6209, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 7342405
    • Amount Involved: 4,000.00
    • Filed On: Jun 19, 2017
    • Posted On: Jun 30, 2017
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Brandon and Wimauma, FL Store

I am 83 years old and I was the victim of a telephone scam.  I was called and told by someone impersonating my grandaughter that she had been in an auto accident in Miami and that her attorney needed $ 40000 in gift cards from Walmart to cover her expenses.  I,  foolishly,  went as instructed by the scammer  to the Wimauma  FL Walmart on May 17, 2017 and went to the Brandon FL Walmart on May 18, 2017 and purchased eight $ 500 gift cards on my Chase credit cards and give the scammer the numbers on the gift cards.  On May 19th I discovered that I had been scammed and reported the fraud to the police, Chase and Walmart  and filled out the necessary paper work.  On June 9, 2017 Walmart sent a letter to me stating that  it would do nothing about the claim because it was "not a billing error".
I think the response by Walmart is reprehensible based on the following facts.  The scammer knew that Walmart's online verification sysyem was seriously flawed in that  no on-line line verification is required.  I was told by the Wamauma manager that  photo id  verification is required for purchases at Walmart stores for those using gifts cards.  Moreover, Walmart has been unjustly enriched by allowing this scammer to take advantage of Walmart's on-line purchasing system and refusing to  accept any responsibility for allowing this scam to occur.  It is  deplorable that Walmart has profited by this scam and  then has refused to accept any responsibility for assisting in this on-line scam."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Refund: Cancellation of charges Jul 04, 2017 $4,000.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Jul 04, 2017 $14.99
Cash total : $4,014.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Walmart (Headquarters). This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Fran Fellowes On 07-09-2017
    Report Walmart's extreme negligence to the FTC and the DoJ. Their gift cards are being used for fraud, and they need to take steps to prevent it. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim