Public Mediation

United Airlines Dispute

J. S. vs. United Airlines, Inc.
PO Box 06649, Chicago, Illinois, 60606-0649, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 1498773
    • Amount Involved: 1,800.00
    • Filed On: Oct 26, 2014
    • Posted On: Nov 06, 2014
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a service
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I am a physician who on October 14, 2014 made the mistake of traveling on United Flight 3358 from Cedar Rapids Iowa to Chicago, with a connection on to Providence, RI.

While trying to board the flight, the attendant told me I could not bring my bag on (a rolling backpack measuring 9x10x17 inches, within United's Personal Carry on Policy https://www.united.com/cms/en-us/travel/Pages/BaggageCarry-On.aspx?Mobile=1) because "it has wheels".

I explained that I had flown on this flight and equipment (Embraer 145) many times and that the bag fit easily in the overhead. In spite of this the attendant refused to allow me to bring the bag on repeating that it had "wheels". I offered to show her that the bag fit in the overhead, but she just repeated over and over that it had "wheels", in a completely insulting and condescending manner.

When I told her I had valuables in the bag, she told me to take them out and gate check it. I told her that if anything was missing from my bag I would hold her personally responsible. She replied that neither she, nor United, had any responsibility for a gate checked bag, even though she insisted I check it.

I informed the flight attendant that I would be filing a complaint and asked for her name. She give me her first name but would not give me her last name until I demanded it repeatedly.

After I gate checked the bag to get on the flight, I opened the folding card the United gate agent had handed me when he scanned my boarding pass. It wished me a "Happy Anniversary" for being a MileagePlus member for 30 years.

And to add icing to the cake, the plane took off with half empty overhead bins.

When the plane landed in Chicago, I had to wait so long to get the gate checked bag that I had to run from the end of Concourse B to Concourse C to catch my connecting flight. As I have a bad hip that is about to be replaced, this caused extreme pain.

Do you treat only your long term MileagePlus members with such contempt, or is this your attitude towards everyone?

Attached are photos of: the half empty bins that flight UA 3358 on October 14 took off with, United's "Happy Anniversary" message, the gate check tags, my bag fitting easily in the overhead bin of the return flight (on the same equipment) on October 17, 2004 when the attendants did not behave in such a reprehensible manner, the x-ray of my right hip showing the loss of medial joint space, and copies of the relevant boarding passes.

I do not appreciate being treated in the way. If you do not make this right I will no longer fly on United, and will put all of this in a video that I will post on every complaint site I can find."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Apology: I want a written apology for your representatives rudeness. Nov 10, 2014 N/A
Cash
1. Compensation: Unnecessary pain and inconvenience Nov 10, 2014 $1,000.00
2. Pay me for my time: 2 hours @ $400/hour to file this claim. Nov 10, 2014 $800.00
3. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Nov 10, 2014 $7.99
4. Other – Physical delivery charges Nov 10, 2014 $2.99
Cash total : $1,810.98
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from United Airlines, Inc.. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim