Public Mediation

SMALLCLAIM.COM Dispute

G. G. vs. Smallclaim.Com, Inc.
114 N Brand Blvd #210, Glendale, California, 91203-4648, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"THE CLAIM WAS FILED IN THE WRONG COURT AND THE CASE WAS DISSMISSED WITH NOTHING TO GO ON,WHILE TAKING MY MONEY."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Smallclaim.Com, Inc. Hide
  • Sep 24, 2014, Smallclaim.com, Inc. (responding party) added:
  • Dear Mr. Glenn,

    We have reviewed your claim and are issuing this response.

    You are asking us to refund you $3,000 for losses incurred. This is completely unacceptable, as we are not responsible for such losses. You are also asking for a service refund of $5,500. Again, this is unacceptable, as you were never charged such an exorbitant amount during your business with us. The total amount of the fees we charged you was $444.95.

    Second, when you opened your case with us, you signed an acknowledgement letter approving the fees we charged and stating that you read, understood, and accepted our refund policy. Please review the acknowledgment letter sent to your online messaging center as a .pdf attachment on July 7, specifically the provision that states that SmallClaim.com is NOT responsible for the outcome of any case.

    Third, you claim that you received no value or services for your money. That statement is blatantly false. We performed all the services that you asked of us in a professional manner. You first asked us to fill out the paperwork you needed to file your case. This was done properly. We then filed the case for you, and the court accepted the filing. You also asked us to serve the defendant. We hired a private process server who made three attempts to serve the defendant before the court informed us that they had to serve the defendant by certified mail. We still had to pay the private process server for the work he had already done in attempting to locate and serve the defendant.
    If you review your invoice on your online account, you will see a list of all three of these services that you requested: document preparation, court filing, and process serving. Every one of those services was carried out by our company.

    In addition, we called the court to follow up on the certified mail serving, and the clerk informed us that your case had been transferred to a different courthouse. This information, including the address for the new courthouse was relayed to you by one of our associates on August 14, one week before your court date.
    If there was any misinformation, then it was by the court, as we accurately relayed to you the information that the court clerk gave to us.

    If a case is sent to the incorrect court for filing, the clerk will reject the case. The fact that the clerk in this case accepted your paperwork is an indication that your case was filed correctly. Courts are at liberty to change the hearing venue to a different courthouse, as happened in your case. As previously stated, that new courthouse address was relayed to you in a timely manner one week before your scheduled hearing date. It is possible that you went to the wrong courthouse by mistake, or that there was a miscommunication on the court's part, but we relayed to you the exact same information that the court clerk gave us.

    We sincerely regret that you encountered difficulties in your case, but none of them were caused by our company's actions. However, your claim against us is not only unsubstantiated by facts, but also utterly defamatory. As such, we reject it completely. Since you received all the services you paid for, it is not possible to issue a refund.

    If you have any questions, please contact us. Thank you for your attention in this matter.

    Sincerely,

    SmallClaim.com

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: POOR SERVICE Oct 03, 2014 $500.00
2. Payment due: 455.95 Oct 03, 2014 $455.95
3. Recovery of Losses: 3000.00 Oct 03, 2014 $3,000.00
4. Refund: SERVICE Oct 03, 2014 $5,500.00
5. Pay me for my time: TIME Oct 03, 2014 $400.00
6. Pay me interest $0.33
7. Other – Copy claim to regulators Oct 03, 2014 $14.99
8. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Oct 03, 2014 $7.99
9. Other – Physical delivery charges Oct 03, 2014 $2.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Smallclaim.com, Inc. to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $9,882.25
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • I disagree with the explanation / grounds provided

    "Dear Mr. Glenn,

    We have reviewed your claim and are issuing this response.

    You are asking us to refund you $3,000 for losses incurred. This is completely unacceptable, as we are not responsible for such losses. You are also asking for a service refund of $5,500. Again, this is unacceptable, as you were never charged such an exorbitant amount during your business with us. The total amount of the fees we charged you was $444.95.

    Second, when you opened your case with us, you signed an acknowledgement letter approving the fees we charged and stating that you read, understood, and accepted our refund policy. Please review the acknowledgment letter sent to your online messaging center as a .pdf attachment on July 7, specifically the provision that states that SmallClaim.com is NOT responsible for the outcome of any case.

    Third, you claim that you received no value or services for your money. That statement is blatantly false. We performed all the services that you asked of us in a professional manner. You first asked us to fill out the paperwork you needed to file your case. This was done properly. We then filed the case for you, and the court accepted the filing. You also asked us to serve the defendant. We hired a private process server who made three attempts to serve the defendant before the court informed us that they had to serve the defendant by certified mail. We still had to pay the private process server for the work he had already done in attempting to locate and serve the defendant.
    If you review your invoice on your online account, you will see a list of all three of these services that you requested: document preparation, court filing, and process serving. Every one of those services was carried out by our company.

    In addition, we called the court to follow up on the certified mail serving, and the clerk informed us that your case had been transferred to a different courthouse. This information, including the address for the new courthouse was relayed to you by one of our associates on August 14, one week before your court date.
    If there was any misinformation, then it was by the court, as we accurately relayed to you the information that the court clerk gave to us.

    If a case is sent to the incorrect court for filing, the clerk will reject the case. The fact that the clerk in this case accepted your paperwork is an indication that your case was filed correctly. Courts are at liberty to change the hearing venue to a different courthouse, as happened in your case. As previously stated, that new courthouse address was relayed to you in a timely manner one week before your scheduled hearing date. It is possible that you went to the wrong courthouse by mistake, or that there was a miscommunication on the court's part, but we relayed to you the exact same information that the court clerk gave us.

    We sincerely regret that you encountered difficulties in your case, but none of them were caused by our company's actions. However, your claim against us is not only unsubstantiated by facts, but also utterly defamatory. As such, we reject it completely. Since you received all the services you paid for, it is not possible to issue a refund.

    If you have any questions, please contact us. Thank you for your attention in this matter.

    Sincerely,

    SmallClaim.com"

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim