Public Mediation

M.F. vs. Roanoke Physicians Services Llc

Over-billed, offering reasonable settlement

M. F. vs. Roanoke Physicians Services Llc And Ic System Collections
IC System Collections: 444 Highway 96 E Saint Paul MN 55127-2557, Roanoke Physicians Services: 3700 S Main St, Blacksburg, Virginia, 24060-7017, United States
Amount Involved: Other terms
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 4722749
    • Amount Involved: N/A
    • Filed On: Jun 24, 2018
    • Posted On: Jul 05, 2018
    • Complaint(s):
      • Commercial / Other dispute
      • Other
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"My daughter Megan went to Emergency Room 2/19/18 for Bronchitis. Rceived 4 bills for Hospital, Xrays, Lab Test, and Then Doctor totalling about $3500. I received a bill for $1180 for less than 15 minutes with a Resident on top of the other $2300. This is very excessive and I want resonable and accountable billing.
 "
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 02-19-2018 — ER visist 3.5 hrs waiting
  • 04-16-2018 — Sent 1st Letter Requesting Reasonable Discount/ Payment plan
  • 05-02-2018 — Paid $100 online
  • 05-25-2018 — Sent 2nd Letter with Check for $350
  • 06-22-2018 — Called Billing Dept at 888-568-5443 at 10:30AM asked why no response to my 2 previous letters and offer of $450. I requested detailed itemized receipt and explanation of bill. I was told they dont offer a detailed receipt and they insisted on billing me full amount.
  • 07-22-2018 — Received another bill for $730. My letter 5/25/28 I clearly stated that by cashing my check for $350 was considered to be paid in full. I also noted on Check Paid in Full as my receipt. I made this offer in good faith based on no reply to my letters and no detailed receipt or explanation of billing
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Roanoke Physicians Services Llc And Ic System Collections Hide
  • Nov 14, 2018, Claiming party added:
  • I have just receive a notice of collections After several months of no response or explanation of bill. I have requested detailed receipt explaining how excessive bill was determined both on phone and via many letters sent to the billing dept as listed. I tried in good faith to negotiate the excessive bill with no response. I paid $450 and clearly explained that accepting and cashing check would be considered payment in full. I have a cancelled check stating right on it that this is paid in full as my receipt. This is all the result of a ER visit at a in-network ER with an out of network Dr.trying to balance bill me.I feel this is deceptive tactic while urgently looking for an Emergency room. This is an unethical practice and their is currently a bill in VA to end this at beginning of year. the Dr office must have submitted for bill payment to CIGNA but refused to accept the 600$ payment they offered and instead insisted on billing me $1180. I note this because CIGNA sent an EOB letter for this visit. I will again request they accept $450 as payment in full and send me a receipt showing this. I feel this is fair after 6 months of no reponse and no explanation of bill with excessive rates.

What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Zero Balance Receipt or Detailed Billing Receipt Jul 09, 2018 N/A
Cash
1. Credit: Zero Balance Receipt Jul 09, 2018 $0.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Jul 09, 2018 $14.99
3. Other – Physical delivery charges Jul 09, 2018 $4.99
Cash total : $19.98
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Roanoke Physicians Services LLC and IC System Collections. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Forrest Peters On 07-24-2018
    Hospital is responsible for overall billing and over-billing More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 07-24-2018
    Balance billing is unethical; not providing documentation is worse More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Comment: by Claimant On: 07-13-2018
  • For Clarification, I was billed $1180. My insurance statement says we owe $650. The company responded that they do not accept my insurance and insist on the full $1180. I sent two letters requesting payment plan or settle for less since I have no detailed receipt or explanation of services and no reply from first letter. I paid $100 online than sent a check for $350 with second letter requesting settlement with a receipt for zero balance.  I received another bill for $1080 and called asking about my letter and was told they do not respond to letters and the insurance was not accepted. I was also told that my daughter was billed flat rate for a level 5 Emergency Room  care (the most critical). they will not provide a detailed itemized receipt or explanation of why a level 5 for something that was clearly not treated as urgent. My daughter waited for 3.5 hrs and was sent away with a minor prescription for Bronchitis.  She spent less than 15 minutes with a Resident.

    So, to date I have offered $450 to settle and requested a detailed itemized receipt and explanation of the level 5 care. I have received No reply to my 2 letters, my offer , or to this People Claim case. I want this resolved with a receipt showing paid in full.

    I have also explained that my daughter went to the ER without my knowledge and I am not responsible for her bills as she is an adult College student. She has no real income and i am trying to help resolve this so that it does not impact her future credit.

    I have received zero response from Roanoke Physician Services


Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim