Public Mediation

My Claim vs. Orbit Meical

  • FREE crypto coins; suggest a fair resolution to this case
  • 20% of recovery offered for best resolution
S. D. vs. Orbit Medical
1419 W Carroll Ave Ste 3, Chicago, Illinois, 60607-1149, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I am a 69 year old amputee needing a power wheelchair for indoor and outdoor mobility. I was delivered a power wheelchair by the company Orbit Medical. The chair was too small for my stature. I am 290 pounds and 6 feet tall. I told Orbit Medical this and they took the chair away and never gave me a replacement. I had to rent a manual chair at my cost.  I called Orbit Medical back to get another chair and they told me that is the only chair Medicare says I am supposed to have. So I told them to send the chair back because I could not afford to continue to rent a chair or buy a new one. So they sent it back. Since I have been using he chair from Orbit Medical I have had three accidents. One accident was when the chair tumbled over going down and off the ramp of a paratransit vehicle to the ground. The fire department came and picked me up off the ground and put me back into the chair so that I could go to my dialysis treatment. 2 other times while transferring from the chair to my bed, the chair slid out from under me and I had to call friends to help me get into bed. The chair is too lite and slides. I am afraid to use the chair for my food shopping or medication trips. It is very unstable outdoors. I am not a shut in person, my freedom has been taken away because of this chair and because Orbit Medical will not act responsibly. All I want is a Chair to give me the freedom I deserve and am used to."
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 10-30-2017 — first accident fall from truck in chair
  • 10-29-2017 — chair stopped working as I was riding down the street coming from Walmart getting my food
Exhibits View
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: new chair Nov 15, 2017 $3,000.00
2. Payment due: unsure Nov 15, 2017 $5,000.00
3. Damages: injuries Nov 15, 2017 $5,000.00
4. Pay me for my time: the hours and days I have suffered since I had the chair Nov 15, 2017 $5,000.00
5. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Nov 15, 2017 $14.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Orbit Medical to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $18,014.99
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Help out — earn RHUcoin
  • Suggest a fair resolution: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from community: 5 RHU
  • Yes-vote from disputant: 25 RHU each
  • Get the case resolved: 100 RHU
David Herrerias commented
David Herrerias (Comment):
"It's not clear what the injuries were that resulted from the accidents, therefore not clear if (or how much) damages would be appropriate. Also, you say you cannot afford to rent a manual chair, but it seems that you do so, and that you rent it from the same company that could not provide a suitable power chair. It might help if you were to describe your need to another medical equipment vendor and find out if Orbit is correct in saying that Medicare limits them to providing a type and size of chair that's too small for you."
 (12 months ago)
Reply
Cheryl Miller, JD commented
Cheryl Miller, JD (Comment):
"It will be helpful to know what kind of Medicare coverage you have. Do you have an Original Medicare Coverage Plan, or Medicare Advantage? Thank you!"
 (2 years ago)
Reply

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Orbit Medical. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 2
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim