Public Mediation

S.T. vs. DHL Express

DHL's idea of 'proof of delivery' and 'required signature' is to take a picture of my mailbox, which they illegally opened.

S. T. vs. Dhl Express Usa
1210 South Pine Island Road, Plantation, Florida, 33324, United States
Amount Involved: $100.00
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 3 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 2707181
    • Amount Involved: 100.00
    • Filed On: Dec 26, 2019
    • Posted On: Jan 04, 2020
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a service
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I paid a substantial amount to have urgent documentation shipped to me from the UK to the USA, securely and with signature confirmation. It would have caused a great deal of trouble and expense had I not received the documentation. The shipper chose DHL for delivery.
On 12/17/19 I duly received two text messages stating that two packages would be delivered on 12/18 and a signature was required. I live two hours from the closest DHL office, so I took unpaid leave to ensure that I was home and signed up for tracking via text.
On the afternoon of 12/18 the tracking suddenly showed "blocked." I called DHL and was told that there was a "technical error"--presumably they couldn't find the driver, who knows--and the delivery would be the next day. I therefore had no choice but to take a second day of unpaid leave. On 12/19 I received two more messages that signature was required. No packages.
At 7.45 PM (19:45) on 12/19 I finally received two texts that the packages were now with the delivery courier. At this point, I called DHL yet again to find out how late delivery was likely to be, since I was already late for an event.
To my astonishment I was told that the packages had just been delivered and signed for. Not by me they hadn't--and no-one had been up my drive, as my security system clearly showed--but I checked outside the door just in case. The DHL rep told me that the package had been signed for with a "company stamp." What?!
Eventually I decided to walk down to my mailbox and lo and behold, there were the packages in my mailbox, which DHL's driver had illegally opened. I live on a semi-rural street and my neighbors and I have suffered mailbox theft, vandalism, and drunken accidents taking out multiple mailboxes in one shot. I would never have anything important delivered to my mailbox and what's more--it's illegal for anyone but USPS to open it, as DHL confirmed.
To add insult to injury I opened the tracking and found that the "signature" was A PICTURE OF MY MAILBOX. I absolutely couldn't believe it. There was no reason whatsoever for the courier not to come up my drive--no ice or snow, and my house was lit up like a spaceship.
DHL promised to investigate and it just got worse. They told me they'd had the courier come back out. Why? To what end? And if they did, what did they do when they were here? I sure didn't see anyone--and I don't believe they did come out. Once I AGAIN made it clear that the package had been delivered, the DHL rep said only that there would be an "internal investigation" and she was closing the case.
I got the text confirming delivery some time after midnight, when I'd turned my phone off. I am just gobsmacked at the absolute incompetence of DHL's technical systems, courier, and its supervisors, who only seem to have two possible responses: 1) we'll send the driver back out, or 2) there'll be an internal investigation. The only person who showed any real concern was the lovely woman who answered my enraged call when I found the delivery dump.
In my opinion DHL owes me for two lost days of work and a great deal of worry, but in the interests of being reasonable I'll settle for $100, an actual apology, and an agreement that they'll do better training and also enable couriers to call/text customers if they have any questions about delivery and/or signature.
 
 "
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 12-18-2019 — First delivery didn't happen
  • 12-19-2019 — DHL courier didn't get the required signature for two packages and left them in an unsecured location
What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Apology: A sincere written apology Jan 10, 2020 N/A
2. Change of policy: Couriers should be able to contact customers if they have questions/concerns Jan 10, 2020 N/A
3. Improve your text messaging system. Your tracking updates are hopeless Jan 10, 2020 N/A
Cash
1. Compensation: A token amount to compensate for two days of work missed for no good reason Jan 10, 2020 $100.00
2. Other – Physical delivery charges Jan 10, 2020 $4.99
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites DHL Express USA to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $104.99
Non-cash: 3 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from DHL Express USA. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 02-17-2020
    Violation of 18 U.S. Code § 172, subject to fines of up to $10,000. Report to Postmaster General. Claimant should be compensated for DHL's failure to complete service More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 01-06-2020
    In a nutshell, DHL took money for a service that they didn't perform More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim