Public Mediation

E.D. vs. Jason Lottmann

E. D. vs. Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group Llc
4707 Sugar and Wine Rd, Monroe, NC 28110, 4914 Mountain Point Lane, Charlotte, North Carolina, 28216, United States
Amount Involved: $520.00
Complaint(s): Bad business practices
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 3655484
    • Amount Involved: 520.00
    • Filed On: Jul 12, 2021
    • Posted On: Jul 19, 2021
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"On July 12, 2019 I purchased two tickets to The Gatsby 2020 Party at the Biltmore, to be held on March 27 2020 at the Biltmore Estate in Asheville. The event was organized by Jason Lottman of The Beretta Group. The tickets cost $450, which was a huge extravagance for me.

Obviously, due to Covid, the event was cancelled and Jason assured us that it would be rescheduled. As a thank you to the people who kept their tickets, Jason offered passes to his condo in Myrtle Beach for only the cost of the cleaning fee so that he could continue paying his staff. I happily bought two passes.

A new Facebook group was created for each event rescheduling / update and information started being spread out and hard to follow. The big shock came when Jason announced that the event would no longer be held in the Biltmore in Asheville, but instead at his own property, The Champagne Manor, in Charlotte, NC. This was not the event I had paid a substantial amount of money for.

I requested a refund of my $450 but received absolutely no response to that request or any follow-up.

Multiple people complained about the same issue--zero response to any request for a refund. People also posted horror stories about trying to use their condo passes and either getting canceled at the last minute or not receiving confirmation for weeks. When I commented in one of the groups, saying that I intended to file a complaint, Jason messaged me immediately, telling me that he would process my refund "in a sec."

Well, that was June 3rd. No refund arrived. No reply to my follow up on June 19th, either. There are still dozens of people waiting on their refunds for both the event and the condo passes. Jason responds that he has given, or will give, the refund, but apparently never does so.

Since I work in the hospitality industry I certainly sympathize with event organizers, but the fact is I paid $450 plus the cost of a pass to the condo and received nothing. I was promised, on multiple occasions, a full refund and received nothing.

PayPal was unable to help since there’s a six month limit on chargebacks. As I understand it, it’s a common strategy to spin out refunds until the chargeback date limit has passed. At this point, Jason Lottman / The Veretta Group has had the use of my money for two years.

I want Jason Lottman to refund my money and also to actually refund--not pretend to refund--all the other people who have been unable to get Jason Lottman / The Veretta Group to act honorably. That includes all the requests for refunds via e-mail and facebook.

I would like the money sent by Zelle or PayPal or another instant payment service, not by check. I am not prepared to believe "it must have been lost in the mail" delays."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Exhibits View
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group Llc Hide
  • Jul 19, 2021, Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group LLC (responding party) added:
  • Email Responses.

  • Jul 19, 2021, Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group LLC (responding party) added:
  • We've responded to the customers refund request on June 3rd, 2021- and never heard back. We also reached out to her 7 days ago after seeing this complaint- making sure we have her most updated address- and we have yet to hear back from her. We're happy to refund her, but we have not heard back from her with the needed info.

  • Jul 19, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Hi Jason,

    I am not finding those messages but I'd be happy to check again. I see a Facebook message from June 3rd asking for my last name which I responded to, but my follow up on June 19th asking for an update is unanswered. I also see the last email correspondence as August 2020. Let me know where these correspondences were sent and I will respond with the refund information.

  • Jul 19, 2021, Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group LLC (responding party) added:
  • We started a new email thread and just reached out to you.

  • Jul 22, 2021, Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group LLC (responding party) added:
  • Customer's refund check was sent on 7/22/21.

  • Jul 26, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Jason has contacted me by e-mail and I have agreed to accepting a check for the tickets and a venmo payment for the beach passes. The check is in the mail and I have not yet received the venmo.

  • Jul 26, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Venmo refund for the condo passes has been recieved.

What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. I want you to apologize to and refund everyone else who has asked for a refund by the end of July. That includes both asking via e-mail and facebook. Aug 01, 2021 N/A
Cash
1. Refund: Two gatsby tickets and condo passes Jul 22, 2021 $520.00
Cash total : $520.00
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group LLC. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 07-19-2021
    Jason Lottmann / The Veretta Group LLC should refund the claimant without playing any more games More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim