Public Mediation

N.L. vs. Camp Chef

N. L. vs. Camp Chef
3985 N 75 W, Hyde Park, Utah, 84318, United States
Amount Involved: $549.00
Complaint(s): Problem with a product
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 6163888
    • Amount Involved: 549.00
    • Filed On: Dec 17, 2020
    • Posted On: Dec 28, 2020
    • Complaint(s):
      • Problem with a product
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Wow, I never would have imagined buying a Camp Chef Grill could take so much of your time away from family and from cooking for which it was designed to do! Essentially when you own a Camp Chef Grill you are going to work for them as an employee if you want to keep your grill in working condition thru the warranty period.
My personal experience buying a Camp Chef grill thru Amazon.com and fixing over 10 parts on it breaking down multiple times a year is below.
First Camp Chef DLX Smoker Pro arrived partially damaged so I could not use it until Camp Chef sent replacement parts to finish assembly. Strike one!
Second cooking a meal and come back to check on food and grill readout says flame out. Had to trouble shoot and found out the heating element was faulty and burned out and finish cooking the meal in the oven.
Third repeat of heating element burning out which it cannot be used without.
Forth breakdown heating element burn out, are we seeing a pattern here?
Fifth breakdown heating element bad again fortunately they accidently sent me two last time, replaced AGAIN! While trying to replace the element for a fifth time was not able to complete the repair because a screw that was used to retain the element broke off. Camp chef had to send a new part that the element goes into.
Sixth received the replacement part but it was improperly welded and was bent and could not be reassembled. So, I had to call Camp Chef yet again to get a REPLACEMENT part for an original REPLACEMENT part and by the way wait a week and a half again.
Seventh replaced the heating element housing as well as the element (if you are counting this is the FIFTH HEATING ELEMENT!
Eighth time is a charm well no! The Camp Chef Grill keeps kicking out the GFI switch so the Digital controller was replaced, ANOTHER heating element, and a replacement temperature probe because the other one was out by over 10 degrees.
Nineth new temperature probe giving bad data and could be as much as 100 degrees off went back to old one that is out by 10 degrees.
Tenth preparing grill because tomorrow is Thanksgiving! After 20 minutes of working, all new parts only used once before and a common theme but wait this is a new controller!  FLAME OUT reading and have to Cook the Thanksgiving meal all in the oven! In the end I am thankful for my Frigidaire stove because it is older than my grill and working from day one with no additional time or effort!
I did reach out to Camp Chef and they refused to give my money back but were interested in keeping me as a repairman for the grill I purchased that is until my 3 Year warranty runs out!
For more about Camp Chef and my experience with their lack of Quality Control come on over to www.campchefco.com."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Camp Chef Hide
  • Jan 14, 2021, Claiming party added:
  • Waiting on payment to come,, deposit and clearing of payment

What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Payment Dec 28, 2020 $549.00
2. Other – Copy claim to regulators Dec 28, 2020 $14.99
3. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Dec 28, 2020 $14.99
4. Other – Physical delivery charges Dec 28, 2020 $4.99
Cash total : $583.97
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Camp Chef. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 01-11-2021
    Camp Chef should refund $583.97 to customer for defective grill that broke 10 times; customer may be able to sue under Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act and recover attorney's fees More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim