Public Mediation

N.D. vs. Verizon (Headquarters)

N. D. vs. Verizon (Headquarters)
1 Verizon Way, Basking Ridge, New Jersey, 07920-1025, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 9275496
    • Amount Involved: 100.00
    • Filed On: Apr 10, 2017
    • Posted On: Apr 21, 2017
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a product
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I purchased a Samsung Galaxy S6 phone from Verizon in January of 2016. I spent up on the phone rather than getting a cheaper model because I was told it was the top of the line and should last a long time. I totally loved the phone, but it has been really unreliable. Last summer, when my phone was only a few months old, I had to mail it off for over a month to have the charger base repaired and was phoneless. Now my phone is not getting reception, not connecting to wifi (which has resulted in extensive data overage charges) and not working with GPS. I took the phone into Verizon and they said that there was no way to repair the phone (it is a few months out of warranty) and that I need to buy a new one. However, I still have $198 to pay off on the phone, and then a new phone will cost me over $500.

I am livid that my phone didn't last the length of the 24 months required to pay it off. How can Verizon sell a phone that won't last as long as the contract? Consumers have a reasonable expectation that an expensive item will last for at least the length of time that the company selling it expects you to take paying it off - and usually longer.

It's terribly built and Verizon shouldn't be selling such a piece of junk while promising that it will last. My little sister who has the same phone (purchased at the same time) is having similar problems. I'm concerned that if I do purchase a new phone through Verizon and spend over $600 it won't last me another 2 years.  This is not one but TWO Samsung Galaxy S6s that have failed.

I am on WIFI almost all the time and yet one month I used 11 GB of data. My parents, who are rarely on wifi but use their phones far more than me, used only 2 and 4 GB during the same time period. Even after I removed all apps and went through every conceivable step to limit data usage I used 4 GB and it turns out that my Samsung Galaxy S6 is not connecting to WIFI, ever. Last month my sister used 11 GB - and she is also almost always (supposedly) on WIFI. So clearly her phone has the exact same problem.

We have been faithful Verizon customers for years but I am so shocked by Verizon's lack of concern for good customers that it may be time for me to change to a different carrier that will buy out my contract."
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Replace: Waive remaining contract costs on both our phones and trade in for new properly functioning phones Apr 25, 2017 N/A
Cash
1. Credit: Data overages on my account Apr 25, 2017 $100.00
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Verizon (Headquarters) to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint.
Cash total : $100.00
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from Verizon (Headquarters). This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 2
  • Contributed Solution: by Sandra Jovan On 05-05-2017
    Claimant entitled to full refund plus refund for data over-usage from defective phone. The liability for this defect should survive the warranty as it causes actual harm beyond the value of the device.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Dr Joel Horawitz On 04-28-2017
    Can a business create unlimited liability to its customers and hid behind warranty expiration? My Solution is that they can't and they need to pay up here. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by su pang On 04-25-2017
    Expcet the Verizon, you may also try to contact the Samsung customer services. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Phaatima S. On 04-22-2017
    Verizon should credit Plaintiff free phone services upto the remaining cost left on the phone, $198 . More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim