Public Mediation

Harassed and Abused Customer of Citibank, N.A. vs. Citibank, N.A.

  • 10% of recovery offered for best resolution
M. A. vs. Citibank, N.A.
P.O. Box 6000, Sioux Falls,, South Dakota, 57117-6000, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 5751200
    • Amount Involved: 52,707.00
    • Filed On: Aug 22, 2018
    • Posted On: Sep 02, 2018
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Problem with a service
      • Overcharge or billing error
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"My payments were "misplaced" and could not be found; so now I have to send USPS "Certificate of Mailing" when I mail my payment to Citibank, N.A.
Customer Service Representative would often share wrong information because they did not know the difference between account paid, items posted, and items not posted to my account.
My additional authorized user's card was sent to wrong addresses and never received until after the account was on "hold" by security in error. Our vacation was ruined; I spent over $300.00 in gas and hotel charges waiting for this card that never arrived as promised.
Twice I was overcharged balance transfer fees. The money was refunded after I brought it to the attention of account managers; but I had to stop using the balance transfer services due to these excessive balance transfer fees-unfair trade practices.
I was referrred to as a "doozy" by a customer service manager who did no realize that I could hear her make fun of me as she was transferring the call.
I wrote many times to the Corporate Executive Office, reported them to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, and now to the Office of the Comptroller, and the BBB.
Corporate Executive Office staff reviewed the calls; and did nothing.
In retaliation, after contacting the agencies, I was not allowed to call concerning my Simplicity Card account which now has the wrong balance on it according to my calculations. For that reason, I have not been able to keep up with my account as I had done so well on my "Thank You" account which I have paid out.
I agreed to close both accounts if the balance on the Simplicity Card was "credited" or forfeited and the accounts would be closed at consumers request. This agreement was placed in writing to all Citibank and governmental agencies. The balance at the time was $2707.00 according to CitiCard. Citibank closed both accounts but did not meet the demands of the agreement/request. They closed my two accounts that were/are in good standing without crediting the balance. If they were not going to credit the balance to avoid future legal actions, then the accounts were not supposed to have been closed.
Continual retaliations via Citibank, N.A.

Claim update 9/6/18

Response to the CFPB complaint filed:
"Your statement to close the account was not considered to be a conditional statement. We respectively decline this request to absolved the balance on the closed account. With this letter, we consider the matter resolved. We will no longer respond to inquiries regarding these issues
****
We have completed a thorough of your concerns and our position remains unchanged."

The letter I sent was clearly condition that I would close the accounts if the balance was credited. They ignored this condition and closed the accounts against my wishes.

The first two balance transfer fees were excessive. They did not refer to these.

I wish for the regulators to be aware of these very deceptive trade practices.
"
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 07-27-2018 — Equifax Dispute
  • 07-02-2018 — BBB Complaint filed
  • 08-06-2018 — BBB Complaint filed after accounts closed
  • 07-01-2018 — Office of the Comptroller complaint filed
  • 08-03-2018 — Dispute filed with TransUnion and Experian
  • 07-05-2018 — Complaint filed with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • 03-07-2018 — Letters sent to Citibank Executive Office
  • 08-03-2017 — Letters sent to Citibank Executive Office
What Claimant Wants Hide
1. Compensation: Abusive Business Practices Sep 13, 2018 $50,000.00
2. Monetary items with amounts to be determined: Pay off Account Sep 13, 2018 $2,707.00
3. Other – Copy claim to regulators Sep 13, 2018 $14.99
4. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Sep 13, 2018 $14.99
5. Other – Physical delivery charges Sep 13, 2018 $4.99
Cash total : $52,741.97
  • 0
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with no explanation. This claim will remain posted until resolved.
  • 0
Do you agree with the respondent’s Response?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by George Maxwell On 09-13-2018
    Claimant should add specific detail re real problems and forget balance forgiveness More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim