Public Mediation

David Goldblum vs. American Airlines

Bizarre screw-up by American Airlines - I need help!!!

D. G. vs. American Airlines
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 5091087
    • Amount Involved: 5,000.00
    • Filed On: Nov 25, 2016
    • Posted On: Dec 06, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • "I just feel ripped off."
      • Customer service runarounds
      • Bad business practices
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"In April 2016, someone stole 140,000 miles from my American Advantage frequent flyer (AAFF) account (N8U8312). Unaware that my AAFF account was compromised, the focus was on my American Advantage Master Card, since fraudulent charges appeared. Please note that these fraudulent charges were for flight fees for this individual, who stole the 140,000 miles. Closing this credit card account, I was given a new credit card number.

In late July, the same individual tried to use my AAFF account again. Reporting this to American Advantage Customer Service, I was advised that my AAFF account was compromised. I then received a new AAFF account number (***). At this point, Customer Service took over assuring me that it would be resolved restoring my 140,000 miles.

Later, Corporate Security took over refusing to restore my 140,000 miles. In fact, the Corporate Security analyst blamed me for the loss of 140,000 miles. How this Corporate Security analyst can accuse me is ridiculous in view of my having reported this. Moreover, this Corporate Security analyst penalized me by terminating my AAFF account unjustly penalizing me by a loss of 20,000 additional miles for a total misappropriation of 160,000 miles. Up until now, they have refused to offer me any explanation for this unfair position. Last, but not least, I responded Corporate Security analyst in early September, but later was told that this analyst did not receive my response to explain what had happened.

Update/additional information 12/12/16

I had been a frequent flyer member for American Airlines for approximately 28 years. My original frequent flyer number (N8U8312) was breached this past April, where a passenger named Ashok Aggarwai was able to hack into my account and steal 140,000 miles. This showed up with fraudulent charges on my American Advantage Master Card. I addressed this by closing my credit card account down and receiving a new credit card account number.

This same individual tried to get another trip on my account in late July (shown record locator LZTMRF). I checked my American Advantage Master Card to make sure there were no fraudulent charges on my credit card and there was not. I reported this immediately to American Advantage customer service and then it was noted by Kelly that my frequent flyer account itself was breached in April. She proceeded to close my original frequent flyer account down and issue me a new frequent flyer account number (****). She initiated an investigation to help restore the 140,000 miles that were stolen from me. She also informed me that this could be a fake name and put in an advisory to try to apprehend this individual. I checked in with American Advantage customer service during August to check on the progress of resolving this issue.

In early September, I receive an e-mail from Corporate Security (Leslie Harris, an analyst) accusing me of violating the program agreement and asked me to respond with what happened by Sept 13. I responded on Sept 9, explaining the above. It appears that she did not receive this or did not read it and simply terminated my account this past week (Oct 3). I have no clue as to what Leslie is talking about. Meanwhile, I have tried numerous times to access someone in Corporate Security to no avail. I have left messages for someone to contact me by phone and no one has called me back up to now. I have tried to contact American Advantage Customer Service to connect me to Corporate Security and they are unable to do so. I don’t understand this. I certainly do not understand why Leslie is holding me responsible for the above mentioned individual stealing the 140,000 miles from my account. She wanted me to furnish some advertisements, which were not germane here.

I hope that someone can look into this so that this issue can be resolved. This is grossly unfair. I wish someone could clarify this bizarre situation. Thank you very much for your attention in this matter.

Additional Questions for American Airlines:

1. If you need to show id at the airport, when you board, how did the individual who breached my American Airlines frequent flyer account get into my account to steal the 140,000 miles in April 2016?

2. What is American Airlines doing to prevent such fraud?

3. In addition, there’s the concern that the theft of my miles may have been an inside job, i.e., an American Airlines employee may have stolen my miles."
Reply Have a similar problem?
  • 09-09-2016 — Responded to Corporate Security analyst
  • 10-07-2016 — Corporate Security analyst terminated my account.
  • 09-06-2016 — Corporate Security analyst blamed me for loss.
What Claimant Wants Hide
Non-Cash
What By When How Much
1. Restore 160,000 miles and my frequent flyer account Dec 12, 2016 N/A
Cash
1. Compensation: 160000 miles Dec 10, 2016 $5,000.00
2. Other – Copy claim to regulators Dec 10, 2016 $14.99
3. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Dec 10, 2016 $7.99
4. Other – Physical delivery charges Dec 10, 2016 $4.99
Cash total : $5,027.97
Non-cash: 1 items
  • 1
Do you agree with the claimant’s demands?  (If you are a party to this claim, click here.)

Respondent's Counteroffer


There has been no response to this claim from American Airlines. This claim will remain posted until resolved
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Bryan Morris On 12-16-2016
    Hacking and theft happen. American Airlines needs to be more proactive. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Steve McAllister On 12-14-2016
    American Airlines seems to be enabling cyber criminals - check your American Airlines frequent flyer mileage for theft More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.
© reserved by PeopleClaim