United Airlines-Dispute-#1454600 : $2,806.24

    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 1 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 1454600
    • Amount Involved: 2,806.24
    • Filed On: Jul 06, 2011
    • Posted On: Jul 21, 2011
    • Complaint(s):
      • Unreasonable delays
      • Problem with a service
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (200 pts)

Complaint(s) Involved (2) Hide

Unreasonable Delays

Claimant's opinion: Flight Scheduled for June 17, 2011 from San Francisco to Frankfurt, Germany. United Airlines Computer crashed. My baggage was lost for 2 days. The next available flight was June 20, 2011 which resulted in my arriving at my destination, Prague, on June 22, 2011. I had pre-paid for a Rick Steve's Tour and hotel accommodations in Prague.

Problem With A Service
  • Bad advice and/or instructions
  • Lack of disclosure
  • Delivery problem
  • Poor customer service

Claimant's opinion: The airlines was not forthcoming with information on whether or not to remain at the airport on June 17, 2011. As a result, I waited at the airport until 1:00 a.m., 6 hours after the time of my scheduled flight.
It took 2 trips to the airport and several phone calls over a two day period to locate my luggage. No one was able to provide me with the exact location of my luggage until the evening of June 19, 2011.

Claimant's opinion:

United airlines needs to communicate more clearly with passengers during an emergency situation. "I don't know" is not an acceptable answer when there is major emergency impacting the travel plans of thousands of people. "I don't know" is not an acceptable answer when a passenger asks for the location of one's personal belongings and the date that those items will be returned.

What Claimant Wants

  • Claimant agrees to resolve this matter under the following proposed terms of settlement.
  • Status: In Negotiation
    This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
  • United Airlines, Inc. is asked to agree and settle or make a good-faith counteroffer, offer a rebuttal, or request additional information.
Non-Cash
What By When
1. Upgrade: economy plus seating Jul 21, 2011
Cash
What By When How Much
1. Compensation: 2 days of lost time and money searching the airport for luggage for Diane Johansen and Nancy Hansen Jul 21, 2011 $400.00
2. Refund: hotel accommodations, loss of Rick Steve's Tour cost, additional cost of traveling to and from the airport, meals for Nancy Hansen Jul 21, 2011 $1,203.12
3. Refund: hotel accommodations, loss of Rick Steve's Tour cost, additional cost of traveling to and from the airport, meals for Diane Johansen Jul 21, 2011 $1,203.12
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites United Airlines, Inc. to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint (subject to acceptance by claimant).
Cash total : $2,806.24
Non-cash: 1 items
You can help resolve this case by suggesting a resolution.
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Comment: Contributed by basilstar - On: 10/24/2012
  • My daughter had delays on her flight from Chicago to BWI. The delays extended so late that she had to pick up a flight in the morning. Through their customer service, I was patched to a reservations group who booked a room for her which I paid for over the phone. I received an electronic receipt for that transaction. The hotel never received the information because United Airline / Continental Airlines submitted the reservation throught Expedia. When my daughter arrived at the customer counter, they had run out of hotel vouchers. They gave her the number of Customer Service at the desk. I have now been going around in emails with United Airlines trying to get my reimbursement. They keep offering me vouchers which I no longer wish to have. My daughter has been on two flights with United Airlines this year with extensive delays and destroying personal property.

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.