Public Mediation

Roan Concourse Dispute #5192266

J. P. vs. Roan Concourse (York Concourse, Ellington Centre)
PO Box 830, Daytona Beach, Florida, 32118, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: 3 non-monetary items.
    • Claim #: 5192266
    • Amount Involved: N/A
    • Filed On: Sep 07, 2013
    • Posted On: Sep 18, 2013
    • Complaint(s):
      • Commercial / Other dispute
      • Deceptive letter; possible rip-off.
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I received the following letter from Roan Concourse:

"We are pleased to inform you that you're going to receive an Android Touchpad Tablet Computer from our gifting department at no charge.

It is important to note that there is no obligation to purchase or join anything when you accept your Touchpad. It's yours!

Simply call the gifting department at 1-800-732-3449, and reference the RSVP gift code printed at the bottom of your letter. It's that easy. Call today!

Regards,
Steve Winsley
Vice President, Southeast Region

Very small print: There is no obligation to purchase or join anything. This promotion is not sponsored or affiliated with Android but they are a major supplier of the software. Terms and conditions apply. Qualified recipients of this mailer will receive a brand new Touchpad Tablet Computer with Android software in conjunction with local promotion. Android is a registered trademark of Google, Inc. Call for details."

So out of curiosity I called the 'gifting department' for details. The person who answered refused to actually give me any details unless I handed over my unlisted phone number. I asked her to tell me what terms and conditions applied; she refused. She refused to tell me who this company is and what they're selling.

My guess would be that I'd be required to attend a presentation for either a timeshare or a buying club. Or else I'd have to answer a lot of intrusive questions that might "disqualify" me, but could be sold on to a marketing firm or used for other purposes. But who knows? The company refused to tell me--even though they tout 'no obligation.' There's apparently AT LEAST an obligation to hand over information.

Several local friends also received this mailing. Others have received similar letters from same address, different company.

I would, please, like to know who Roan Concourse (or York Concourse, or Ellington Centre) is, how they acquired my personal address, and what the Terms and Conditions are. Also, what makes a 'qualified recipient?'"
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
Non-Cash
1. Information: What are the Terms and Conditions for Roan Concourse's offer of an Android Touchpad? Sep 22, 2013 N/A
2. Information: Who is Roan Concourse soliciting on behalf of? Sep 22, 2013 N/A
3. Information: What qualifies anyone responding for the gift? Sep 22, 2013 N/A
Cash
1. Other – Copy claim to regulators Sep 22, 2013 $14.99
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Sep 22, 2013 $7.99
3. Other – Physical delivery charges Sep 22, 2013 $2.99
Cash total : $25.97
Non-cash: 3 items
Help resolve this case.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Do you agree with the claimant’s terms?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.