Public Mediation

My Claim vs. Tom Benner vs. Nissan Motors

T. B. vs. Nissan North America Inc
1 Nissan Way, Franklin, Tennessee, 37067-6367, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"The rear differential went out on my 2005 Nissan Titan and when the mechanic calls all Nissan garages they won't sell just the gears needed they tell us that you have to buy the whole assembly and it is 4,000.00 My mechanic says any other company you can buy just the parts but Nissan will not allow it. How can they be allowed to do this ? The part would be a couple hundred dollars if they sold it that way. How can they expect people to have that kind of money laying around, plus Nissan knows there is trouble with the rear differentials on the 2005 Titan but are not willing to do anything about it now. The truck only has 102,000 miles on and has never towed anything or hauled heavy weight, just used to get back and forth to work. So they know of an existing problem but continue to price gouge the public and there is nothing we can do about it.
"
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Nissan North America Inc Hide
  • Apr 27, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I truly did not expect anything from your company because you are making too much money ripping everyone off. But believe me I am not done with this and will never buy another Nissan product and will make sure to let people know through social media and other avenues how shitty of a company you really have at Nissan. I am not letting this drop... believe me.

  • Jun 24, 2016, Nissan North America Inc (responding party) added:
  • We appreciate Mr. Benner contacting Nissan North America regarding his 2005 Titan and allowing us the opportunity to review his situation.

    NNA provides a New Vehicle Limited Warranty to cover repairs needed to correct defects in materials or workmanship up to 36,000 miles or 36 months, whichever occurs. From the information Mr. Benner provided in April 2016, his vehicle was approximately nine years and 66,000 miles outside of the warranty, but because NNA is dedicated to winning lifetime customers, we review for financial assistance on a case by case basis.

    We have reviewed all of the information specific to Mr. Benner’s situation and determined we are not in a position to offer any assistance for the rear differential repair. Our position was provided to Mr. Benner directly on April 21, 2016.

  • Jun 24, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I am not asking for assistance !! I wanted an answer as to why they make you buy the whole rear assembly, instead of just the gears like all the other manufacturers do, especially since they know there has been an issue with these rear ends from new. I never asked for money just wanted to pay 400.00 instead of 4000.00. Again it is fine I will never own another Nissan their product and policies suck.

  • Jun 24, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I am not asking for assistance !! I wanted an answer as to why they make you buy the whole rear assembly, instead of just the gears like all the other manufacturers do, especially since they know there has been an issue with these rear ends from new. I never asked for money just wanted to pay 400.00 instead of 4000.00. Again it is fine I will never own another Nissan their product and policies suck.

  • Jun 24, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I am not asking for assistance !! I wanted an answer as to why they make you buy the whole rear assembly, instead of just the gears like all the other manufacturers do, especially since they know there has been an issue with these rear ends from new. I never asked for money just wanted to pay 400.00 instead of 4000.00. Again it is fine I will never own another Nissan their product and policies suck.

  • Jun 24, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I am not asking for assistance !! I wanted an answer as to why they make you buy the whole rear assembly, instead of just the gears like all the other manufacturers do, especially since they know there has been an issue with these rear ends from new. I never asked for money just wanted to pay 400.00 instead of 4000.00. Again it is fine I will never own another Nissan their product and policies suck.

  • Jun 24, 2016, Claiming party added:
  • I am not asking for assistance !! I wanted an answer as to why they make you buy the whole rear assembly, instead of just the gears like all the other manufacturers do, especially since they know there has been an issue with these rear ends from new. I never asked for money just wanted to pay 400.00 instead of 4000.00. Again it is fine I will never own another Nissan their product and policies suck.

What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Nissan North America Inc to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint (subject to acceptance by claimant).
1. Other – Copy claim to regulators Apr 27, 2016 $14.99
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Apr 27, 2016 $7.99
3. Other – Physical delivery charges Apr 27, 2016 $2.99
Claimant likes
Respondent:
Cash total : TBD
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • ""

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

Public Mediation
Discover, negotiate, and help settle this dispute. Propose a resolution below.
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Geoffrey Beresford Hartwell On 05-16-2017
    Exchange repair More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Mina Rizk On 04-21-2017
    Go Aftermarket More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Comment: by Janice Pfeiffer — Online mediator
  • On: 04-11-2017
  • I had a problem with a new Nissan and their customer service people in Franklin, Tennessee will bounce you around from one person to another.  I think they do it hoping you will get tired of their games and just go away.  Basically, Nissan has no customer service.  They won't assist you if there is money involved and if you hang in there through all of their switching from one person to another, the last one will do her best to insult you to no end.  They should not be allowed to continue selling cars in the US.  They have no business sense and no regard for Nissan owners.  When I filed with the BBB of Tennessee, there response was they sympathize but their policy yada yada.  Well, Nissan will never make another dime off of me and I would stop anyone I know from buying a Nissan.  They are not a reliable and upfront company.   I sympathize with anyone who owns a Nissan now.  And we need not even get into their recalls.  
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Fran Fellowes On 10-04-2016
    Would like to see Nissan explain why gears etc. aren't available More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Comment: by Jim Wicks (1638 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator
  • On: 10-03-2016
  • Joseph H's question and comment bring up some key points.  It's valuable to get insight into this situation from someone with inside knowledge and long experience.   (Small point:  I would classify this not so much a solution as necessary questions before a recommendation can be made for what a settlement ought to be.)

    The claimant says his mechanic singled out Nissan as being alone in its adherence to the full-assembly-replacement approach – which, if accurate, would seem to say that other manufacturers are finding a way to deal with this type of repair that's more economical for owners.  So maybe there's a basic difference in philosophy between Nissan and the others –and it's one that buyers might want to be aware of before making a purchase if they're thinking of long-term ownership.



  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Joseph Henmueller On 10-03-2016
    Much more repair information is required to resolve this issue. Start with the (4) C's . Complaint, Cause, Correction, and Confirmation of repair. Factual details of each are necessary to make a valid determination. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Question: by Jared Monroe — Online mediator
  • On: 10-02-2016
  • My question is what parts in question have actually failed, that would only cost $200?


    Jared Monroe

    ASE Master certified Technician.

  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 09-28-2016
    Remarkably reasonable query from claimant and remarkably disingenuous response from Nissan regarding Titan rear differential. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Currently helping with this claim
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.