Public Mediation

Narcanon Arrowhead-Dispute-#3974315

J. B. vs. Narconon Arrowhead
69 Arrowhead Loop, Canadian, Oklahoma, 74425-5012, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"Went manic, and psychotic when taken totally off klonopin. Refused a call to my daughter or attorney. No one qualified to deal with my problem. They shipped me to Alternative to Med Center in Sedona,Arizona after two weeks of suffering; who is affiliated with them. They were also irresponsible to handle my problem. According to Dr. Heather Ashton of Great Btirian it takes 6 months to 3 years to TAPER off benzodiazapines. Worst method; stop " cold turkey " as they did to me, second worst a detox clinic, with massive doses of niacin and vitamins; and " Rocky " told my daughters I would not suffer let alone go manic. Was only able to see the Dr. Wooten once a week if that. Blood Pressure went to over 200 to 110 diastolic. He stated this is normal in withdrawal. He gave me no help; my hands were shaking, and couldn't feed myself. Three people died at this facility in 2011. I came very close till ATMC re-instated a half dose pf klonopin. Currently working with a Psychiatrist to get me balanced, and functional. I havn't worked for nine months and spent roughly $60,000. I was non functional for 7 months after entering Narcanon Arrowhead."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Narconon Arrowhead Hide
  • Feb 05, 2013, Narconon Arrowhead (responding party) added:

  • Be advised that state and federal privacy laws, including the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (“HIPAA”), prohibit Narconon of Oklahoma, Inc. ("Narconon") from responding to any inquiry or request for information concerning any person who has applied for, participated in, or received counseling or any services provided by Narconon in its substance abuse and alcohol abuse treatment program. Any unauthorized public disclosure, dissemination or posting of such information may subject the person or entity making the disclosure, dissemination or posting to civil or criminal liability. PeopleClaim risks civil or criminal liability should it post information concerning an individual's drug or alcohol abuse treatment without first receiving a HIPAA compliant waiver or release from that individual. We understand that PeopleClaim may not ordinarily verify the "facts" stated in complaints it receives but in this instance, assuming the facts of this matter fall under the purview of applicable non-disclosure laws, PeopleClaim should consider the liability it may be exposing itself to before “publicly posting” anything.

  • Feb 21, 2013, Claiming party added:
  • I have not heard any responses from from anyone that is continuing with the mis-representation going on at both facilities. There is no medically trained staff; only ex- illicit drug users who get free room and board for their compensation. My addiction was to a prescription medication that was prescribed by a Psychiatrist for twenty years. I wanted to lower the dose because it was affecting my short term memory; my Medical Doctor states this was the wrong method to pursue. Narconnon and ATMC do NOT know how to handle prescription meds; especially benzodiazapines. They have to be taper over long periods of time; high doses of Niacin, and vitamins, saunas, etc; will not overcome a COMPROMISED central nervous system in your brain.

What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
1. Compensation: mooney paid plus flight Feb 11, 2013 $8,000.00
2. Damages: manic, and paschotic, refused HIPPA laws Feb 11, 2013 $50,000.00
3. Recovery of Losses: sent wrong facility Feb 11, 2013 $50,000.00
4. Refund: total damages Feb 11, 2013 $108,000.00
5. Pay me for my time: loss of function, hallicinating Feb 11, 2013 $108,000.00
6. Monetary items with amounts to be determined: lack of being able to function for 9 months Feb 11, 2013 TBD*
Just make me happy!
Claimant invites Narconon Arrowhead to make a fair offer to resolve this complaint (subject to acceptance by claimant).
Claimant likes
Respondent:
Cash total : $324,000.00*
*Amount shown is not final: total will increase when pending amount(s) are known and entered.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Public Mediation
Discover, negotiate, and help settle this dispute. Propose a resolution below.
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Comment: by Mary — Online mediator
  • On: 03-22-2013
  • For more information on other cases against Narconon, lawyers who are filing them, and where to file your OK license complaint, visit Reaching For The Tipping Point forum
  • Comment: by Mary — Online mediator
  • On: 03-22-2013
  • search these words harris evans robert gallion narconon and read the lawsuits filed. Here is a clip from an LA Times article about what happened.

  • Comment: by Mary — Online mediator
  • On: 03-22-2013
  • Google search "Legal Complaint: Teague vs Narconon Freedom Center Michigan
  • Comment: by Mary — Online mediator
  • On: 03-22-2013
  • Here are 2 examples of Narconon's negligent actions resulting from taking people off their psychiatric medications when they are not licensed to.

    Google search "Legal Complaint: Teague vs Narconon Freedom Center Michigan
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.