Public Mediation

B.H. vs. Moore Cadillac

Overcharged for car repairs

B. H. vs. Moore Cadillac
25450 Pleasant Valley Rd, Chantilly, Virginia, 20152-1307, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
    • View response from: Moore Cadillac
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 1109129
    • Amount Involved: 1,000.00
    • Filed On: Jun 04, 2016
    • Posted On: Jun 15, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • Overcharge or billing error
      • "I just feel ripped off."
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"A few days ago my ABS TRAK light came on on my dash and I made an appointment for my 2009 Cadillace CTS at Moore Cadillac in Dulles, VA. My Service Advisor was Melissa Robinson. I arrived Thursday morning, May 26th to have the problem diagnosed and resolved. The car was driving fine when I took it in to Moore Cadillac Service Dept.

About an hour and a half later, Ms. Robinson came out to tell me what was going on with my car and the repair costs. In repairing my right hub assembly sensor ring and stabilitrak, the repair cost came to a little over $600 which I agreed to pay. About an hour later Ms. Robinson came back to tell me that something awful had happened. Upon testing, the technician fould that the right rear hub went and had to also be repaired. This increased my price to $1,249.02.

On my way home, I noticed the car was acting very irratic in a stop go with my dah lights going on and off. After reaching Leesburg, I decided to stop off to get some gas since my trip to my Atlanta Family Reunion was early Friday morning. After getting my gas, I found that the car would not start. After spending over $1,200 I now had a car that would start and I was well over 20 miles from the dealership. After getting help to push my car out of the way so that others could get gas, I called AAA and my service advisor back. No one at the gas station had jumper cables so I waited the 45 minutes for the AAA technician. He arrived and jumped me. I told him my story on what had happened.

I arrived back to Moore Cadillac to find that my service advisor, Melissa Robinson, had gone for the day and passed me on to a gentleman by the name of Craig. I passed on to him the hell I was going through but he was patient and had 2 technicians to check my car out. They told me that they would have to keep it overnight and would get a better look at it tomorrow. I explained to him that I had already paid for a hotel room in Georgia for my family reunion and that I would be there. Craig set me up for a loaner car for that Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.

I arrived back from the reunion that Tuesday morning back to Moore Cadillac to pick up my car and got another surprise. My car needed an alternator and battery of course out of the blue that jacked the repair costs to my car now a whopping $1,938.37. I feel that I was taken advantage of in going to get one thing taken care of and now oweing nearly $2,000.

A person feels helpless when they have your car and just start adding up parts, and labor charges. Please look into this for me. I already know that I will never go back there for anything and I noticed that each time I went there last year, my repair cost was always at least $500. Please help me if you can."
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Moore Cadillac Hide
  • Jun 06, 2016, () added:
  • Moore Cadillac always has the customers best interest in mind on all repairs. This electrical failure had nothing to do with the hub bearing repairs. Moore Cadillac did not charge the client for any labor to replace the battery or alternator or the check out of the electrical system. Moore Cadillac also paid for the battery and the labor for the second hub bearing. It was unfortunate that the vehicle had electrical issues after we repaired the hub bearings.

    Michael Korelitz

What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
1. Monetary items with amounts to be determined: Repair costs Jun 19, 2016 $1,000.00
Cash total : $1,000.00
Help resolve this case.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Do you agree with the claimant’s terms?
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with no explanation. This claim will remain posted until resolved.
Public Mediation
Discover, negotiate, and help settle this dispute. Propose a resolution below.
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Question: by Me'eraj Imani — Online mediator
  • On: 06-16-2016
    • Cadillac Moore have you contacted the claimant?

  • Comment: by Me'eraj Imani — Online mediator
  • On: 06-16-2016
  •  Cadillac Moore have you contacted the claimant?
  • Question: by Jim Wicks (1698 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator
  • On: 06-16-2016
  • I'm seeing an original price of $1249 and a final bill of $1938, including charges relating to the problem discovered later with the alternator. Moore says they charged nothing for labor to check out the electrical system, replace the battery, alternator, or replace a hub bearing, and also absorbed the cost of the battery. Assuming the original $1249 includes the no-charge for the hub bearing, the difference is $689.  Does that amount represent a reasonable parts cost for the alternator?
  • Question: by Me'eraj Imani — Online mediator
  • On: 06-16-2016
  • Claimant have you had your issue resolved?
  • Question: by Me'eraj Imani — Online mediator
  • On: 06-16-2016
  • To the claimant: have you contacted Moore Cadillac after they commented back?
  • 1
  • Contributed Solution: by Me'eraj Imani On 06-16-2016
    Moore Cadillac should contact the claimant and give a thorough explanation More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Comment: by Me'eraj Imani — Online mediator
  • On: 06-16-2016
  • It is very unfortunate that many practices can take advantage of others when they find themselves more knowledgable about a subject than others. Particularly in the case of the medical community and the auto repair  industry. However there should a more concrete resolution  on a national level like the smog check, that when a repairman claims your car has an issue , it is noted in a system and checked like the smog check system in California ; so this way there is a way to track down the issue to avoid fraud from taking place. The auto repair industry should be treated like or as forensic law.
  • Question: by Jim Wicks (1698 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator
  • On: 06-16-2016
  • I understand from the claimant's statement that estimates were provided for the brake sensor repair and the additional unspecified work on the right rear hub, and that the claimant agreed.  It isn't clear that an estimate for the additional electrical work was provided or agreed to. The claimant says this was a surprise.  Was there any communication about additional work and was permission given to go ahead?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Currently helping with this claim
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.