Resolve a dispute - It's FREE
PeopleClaim helps resolve consumer and commercial complaints
PeopleClaim helps resolve consumer and commercial complaints against businesses, professionals, government agencies, or individuals by exposing bad business practices and unfair treatment. Aggrieved parties are invited to use PeopleClaim's dispute resolution process free of charge or choose premium options that may help resolve disputes faster. Learn more

Claim #3524306 against: Midwest Center for stress and anxiety


(seeking public comment)

  • Bad business practices

Claimant Seeks: $54.90

View All Demands

Create a claim alert for Midwest Center...

Show more claim details

Claim NO...#3524306

This is claim 1 of 1 by claimant

Filed: Mar 28, 2011
Posted: Apr 12, 2011

Get Help:

Online Dispute Resolution Services

Resolve a dispute with this party Resolve a dispute with someone else
All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.

The Complaint

  • Misrepresentation or fraud
  • Unfair practice

Claimant's opinion: I purchased these tapes they give you 14 days free trial, however they never tell you you can't return them after that date. I called to return them they said i couldn't return them and i will st


What Claimant Wants

Terms under which Midwest Center for stress and anxiety can satisfy this claimant

Status:In negotiation(seeking public comment)

Claimant's Terms of Settlement to Midwest Center for stress and anxiety

Mar 28, 2011

Cash settlement

What By when How much
1. Credit: AAD0111--AA&D Apr 16, 2011 $54.90
$54.90 Principal amount:
Contact this claimant

Help Resolve This Case - Add Your Suggestion:

Rules for Submitting New Suggestion.
  1. Be constructive: Every suggestion is required to include a set of resolution terms both parties can agree to.
  2. Consider both parties: Your goal is to find a fair resolution that works for both sides.
  3. Be civil: No abusive language or bashing.
  4. Don't ask for up-votes: Let your suggestion speak for itself.
  5. Do NOT post personal information:

Suggested Resolutions

PeopleClaim Points:8
On 10/04/2015, Hafsa Durrani  suggested:

At times the company reminds the customer about their return policy (if any) before the free trial expires. Did they ever email/mail you with such information? Even before, at the time of the purchase, had they mentioned about their return policy anywhere?


On 10/01/2015, SandraJovan  suggested:

I have mixed feelings about your claim. Return policies should be clear and transparent. I agree there. However, if you bought under a 14 day free trial, that kinda implies that after 14 days you will be charged- if not, what would the 14 days mean? In this case, I think you should pay unless there's some other mitigating facts. Sorry for your problem. Good luck.


PeopleClaim Points:8
On 09/29/2015, Hafsa Durrani  suggested:

I tried to contact Lucinda Bassett, but she has remained unresponsive, probably trying to avoid any real responsibility


PeopleClaim Points:8
On 09/29/2015, Hafsa Durrani  suggested:

There seem to be a lot of other people who have also had similar experiences with this establishment.. perhaps you can make this a public posting, if you haven't already so that there is more awareness for other customers. There are a number of online threads with people who have been scammed by the Midwest through similar fake "free trials"


On 01/18/2015, Blessedabundantly53  suggested:

I tried to put a comment on this page, which was erased. It was not bashing nor abusive language. These people took money from my account before the date that I had to call in and let them know if I wanted the product. They didn't give me time to even review the product. As of today, my due date to send the product back has not arrived, and they have taken almost $200 from my account without my knowledge or consent. This is theft. My account is totally messed up, and my bills not able to be paid because they caused me to have an overdraft of $70.00, not including the money they took out. They admitted that they made a mistake, but have not put my money back yet. The date for return of the product has not arrived yet, and they continue to randomly take money. Since this has been going on since 2011, as I read on other comments, I suggest a Class Action Suit. The product is overcharged, and they have caused me a lot of stress


On 01/18/2015, Blessedabundantly53  suggested:

I wonder if Oprah Winfrey know the behavior of this company that she endorsed on her show. I know that she would not stand by and just watch as she truly believed that these people were credible.


On 10/01/2015, Steve Wonder  suggested:

Wow, Oprah endorsed it? Maybe we can get her to comment here....


Add a Comment

Add your feedback.

Share this claim:
Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Learn more about PeopleClaim
  • What is PeopleClaim? »
  • How does PeopleClaim work? »
  • What kinds of claims can I file on PeopleClaim? »

Van Nuys 91406 Businesses:  A-B C-D E-F G-H I-J K-L M-N O-P Q-R S-T U-V W-X Y-Z
Complaints against businesses, professionals and Individuals in: Van Nuys 91406
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.