Home Retention Center-Dispute-#2051259

S. W. Vs. Home Retention Center
retentiondivision.org / 888-852-0790, 1539 West 1St Street, Santa Ana, California, 95705, United States
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Claimant:

This company scammed me. This company worked in affiliation with the Payment Reduction Cntr in S.Francisco. I was working with both companies regarding a HAMP modification mortgage. I sent in all the paperwork and information required.
They told me they had been able to get it approved and I had to send a money order in the amount of $1,877.00 in order to pay the legal firm that was trying to foreclose on my property. That was sent on October 15, 2012.

On November 28th I received a letter from the Supreme Court of Albany from One West Bank (my mortgage company) for a settlement conference regarding my foreclosure. At that point I called this company to ask what was going on. I had thought they had approval and had sent my money over to the legal firm that was representing my bank. I also called my bank to explain to them I had been working with this company (along with the Payment Reduction Company located in San Francisco) and they should have all the paperwork. The bank stated they had no paperwork in their files whatsoever.

Since November 28th I've been trying to get this resolved with the Home Retention Center and the Payment Reduction Center. My contact at the Home Retention Center is Walter Sullivan who has successfully ignored dozens of my calls. I did speak with him a couple of times and each time he told me there was just some kind of mistake and everything was being taken care of. For over a month he has strung me along and when I asked for my money back I was told I had to fill out forms. These forms were never sent.

I've left messages, I've tried to get the name and phone numbers of the head of the company or higher managers and I was not given any.

I am seeking the resolution of a refund of $1,877.08. This company has scammed me and other consumers have to be aware of this.

Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants By When How Much
1. Refund: money sent Jan 30, 2013 $1,877.08
2. Pay me for my time: 5 hours @ $50.00 Jan 30, 2013 $250.00
3. Other – Copy claim to regulators Jan 30, 2013 $14.99
4. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Jan 30, 2013 $7.99
5. Other – Physical delivery charges Jan 30, 2013 $2.99
Status: Seeking public comment/suggestions
This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
Cash total : $2,153.05
Help resolve this case. Earn negotiation points.

Contributed Solutions Expand

Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Comment: by Carla — Online mediator
  • On: 06-06-2014
  • Comment: by Andy Lund — Online mediator
  • On: 05-19-2014
  • Comment: by Jennifer Sheehy — Online mediator
  • On: 01-27-2013
Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.