Public Mediation

Govberg Watch Repair-Dispute-#1247027

C. M. vs. Govberg Watch Repair
1521 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 19102, United States
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 1247027
    • Amount Involved: 100.00
    • Filed On: Aug 26, 2012
    • Posted On: Sep 06, 2012
    • Complaint(s):
      • Bad business practices
      • Customer service runarounds
      • Problem with a service
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"They broke the coil in my watch, and have since claimed five times (three times in emails) that the watch is unbroken. They continue to make this easily refuted claim, even though two local watch repair services have each independently examined the watch and told me the coil is broken.

Update: Nov 21 2014

"A third jeweler examined my watch and found that the works need to be replaced. Therefore Govberg Watch Repair company's offer to replace the battery at no charge IF THE WATCH WAS NOT DAMAGED is as deceptive as their other replies.
They ruined my watch, and I want them to pay to have the Swiss Army Watch company rebuild or replace the watch works. I have had the third jeweler send the watch to the Swiss Army Watch company to have that done. The estimated retail cost is about 60 dollars. That's what I want from Guvberg Watch Repair.
"
Reply Have a similar problem?
Additional Communication Between Claimant and Govberg Watch Repair Hide
  • Aug 31, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • I have Govberg's emails to me, none of which offered to replace the battery at no charge. The Govberg Watch Repair company continues to make false claims.
    As to Govberg's offer to replace the battery for $60, it's ridiculous. It costs $10 to have the battery replaced in at least two Miami Watch repair shops. Stop stalling Govberg, and say something meaningful, and true for a change.

  • Sep 04, 2012, Govberg Watch Repair (responding party) added:
  • Mr. Martens - We made the offer when you spoke with a manager after sending the watch back a second time. We offered to replace the battery for free to satisfy your complaints and try to make you a happy customer. The price for a battery and pressure test was $60, because of the labor required to prepare and test the watch for water resistance.Our prices are very competitive with other high end watch repair companies.

    Again, we are happy to re-examine your watch and provide a free battery if it is still in the same condition, but we are not going to pay you for a watch that had nothing else wrong with it when you sent it to us twice. We apologize that we have been unable to satisfy your issues, and we hope that you will accept our offer.

  • Sep 05, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • The last time I spoke to two managers at Govberg Watch Repair, both said the watch only needed a battery. You also ridiculed the watch repairers here who examined the watch, and each independantly found it had a broken coil. Is that coincidental? You also said you couldn't accept their evaluation because they weren't trained by Swiss watchmakers. I think American watchrepairers can tell if the coil of a watch is broken. My watch apparently was broken during the several weeks you had it before you sent me an email offering to install a battery and crystal as well as pressure testing it.

  • Sep 06, 2012, Govberg Watch Repair (responding party) added:
  • We respectfully disagree with the people that reviewed your watch, which according to you were friends and not licenced jewelers or watchmakers. Both times that the watch was examined by our watchmakers, all that was needed was a new battery. We are happy to reexamine the watch to resolve your issue.

  • Sep 07, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • I never said the jewelers who examined my watch were friends. They are independant businessmen whom I haven't seen before or since.
    The simple truth is that Govberg Watch Repair damaged my watch, and apparently remains not honest enough to reimburse me.

  • Sep 07, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • I never said the jewelers who examined my watch were friends. They are independant businessmen whom I haven't seen before or since.
    The simple truth is that Govberg Watch Repair damaged my watch, and apparently remains not honest enough to reimburse me.

  • Sep 07, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • I never said the jewelers who examined my watch were friends. They are independant businessmen whom I haven't seen before or since.
    The simple truth is that Govberg Watch Repair damaged my watch, and apparently remains not honest enough to reimburse me.

  • Sep 07, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • I never said the jewelers who examined my watch were friends. They are independant businessmen whom I haven't seen before or since.
    The simple truth is that Govberg Watch Repair damaged my watch, and apparently remains not honest enough to reimburse me.

  • Sep 07, 2012, Claiming party added:
  • I never said the jewelers who examined my watch were friends. They are independant businessmen whom I haven't seen before or since.
    The simple truth is that Govberg Watch Repair damaged my watch, and apparently remains not honest enough to reimburse me.

  • Sep 10, 2012, Govberg Watch Repair (responding party) added:
  • Charles - Please feel free to call us if you would like to discuss the matter further. We would like to arrive at a mutually agreeable solution. Our original position and offer stands. The watch was not broken either time it was sent to us, and all it needed was a new battery. We are happy to review it again, and if it is in the same condition, provide the replacement battery at no charge so that you can enjoy your watch again.

    We have been in business since 1922 and have serviced thousands of customers and are certified repair experts on the top watch brands in the world. We have been in business this long by providing honest, reliable, fairly priced services.

    There is no risk for you to take us up on our offer. If the watch is in fact broken as you state, then our solution will not work. If it does work, then you will have a functioning watch and should be satisfied. If you don't want to send it back to us, we suggest having one of your watchmaker contacts drop a new battery in and let us know if it works.

  • Nov 21, 2014, Claiming party added:
  • "A third jeweler examined my watch and found that the works need to be replaced. Therefore Govberg Watch Repair company's offer to replace the battery at no charge IF THE WATCH WAS NOT DAMAGED is as deceptive as their other replies.
    They ruined my watch, and I want them to pay to have the Swiss Army Watch company rebuild or replace the watch works. I have had the third jeweler send the watch to the Swiss Army Watch company to have that done. The estimated retail cost is about 60 dollars. That's what I want from Guvberg Watch Repair.

What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
1. Compensation: Pay for repair and aggravation Sep 10, 2012 $100.00
2. Other – Pay for claim posting cost Sep 10, 2012 $7.95
Cash total : $107.95
Help resolve this case.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Do you agree with the claimant’s terms?
Respondent's Counteroffer Hide
Message from Govberg Watch Repair: Charles - As we discussed several months ago, your watch was not broken when you sent it in to us either time - all it needed was a new battery. The second time you sent us the watch, we offered to replace the battery free of charge, but you rejected the offer at that time. If you would like to send it in to us, we will look at the watch and, if it is still in the same condition, replace the battery at no charge.
What By When How Much
1. Re-examine watch and replace battery if it is still in the same condition Oct 01, 2012 $60.00
Cash total : $60.00
Help resolve this case.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Do you agree with the respondent’s terms?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.