Public Mediation

M.F. vs. East San Gabriel Valley Rop Technical School

M. F. vs. East San Gabriel Valley Rop Technical School
1501 Del Norte St, West Covina, California, 91790-2105, United States
    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 1737684
    • Amount Involved: 6,455.00
    • Filed On: May 13, 2016
    • Posted On: May 24, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • "I just feel ripped off."
      • "This feels like a scam to me."
      • Failure to honor promises
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Statement of Claim
Claimant says:
"I sent my son to East San Gabriel Valley ROP for EMT program, paid $4,200 for tuition, they claimed great education and training, as well as job placement help after the program.

Later found out from my son that one of his intructors came to class one day, too hung over to teach and passed out leaning on the table in front of everybody. His topics no one understood, his tests therefore, no one passes.

By the end of the program, the school admitted a bunch of new students, and actually started their classes on top of my son's class, in the same room! So my son's class never got the promised Review
weeks . In short, since aug 2015, 2 out of the 6 graduates passed the boards and my son, who diligently studied failed the national boards 4 times. He is not a weak student, in fact, I spoke to the lead instructor, not the incompetent one, and he himself told me that my son is one of his good students

I talked to the school superintendent, feb 2016, she said she will investigate on this and get back to me , never did. I tried to reach her again, and again, no avail

My son, now too afraid to try to go for another school, or any other program, he thinks he will never pass any national test

I hope that people will take their jobs and positions more seriously, esp about kids' education. They ruin the kids' self worth, and the parents' trust in our education system
"
Reply Have a similar problem?
What Claimant Wants Hide
What By When How Much
1. Compensation: emt refresher course May 28, 2016 $275.00
2. Refund: tuition refund May 28, 2016 $4,200.00
3. Pay me for my time: 3 days i missed work ( one day to see Mr. Piccola at school, and 2 days to take my son scouting for emt refresher classes May 28, 2016 $1,980.00
4. Other – Copy claim to regulators May 28, 2016 $14.99
5. Other – Pay for claim posting cost May 28, 2016 $7.99
6. Other – Physical delivery charges May 28, 2016 $2.99
Claimant likes
Respondent:
Cash total : $6,480.97
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Public Mediation
Discover, negotiate, and help settle this dispute. Propose a resolution below.
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Question: by Richard Killian Retired As A Corporate Controller. Enjoyed Resolving Issues.
  • On: 11-23-2016
  • What rebuttal was made by ROP tech school? How long was son in school?  What support from other students does your son have regarding the allegations that this teacher was hung over and not sick from another source?  If allegations are true, have other students filed a similar suit?  Need more detail to judge this claim.
  • Comment: by Kim Fox (230 points) — I'm A Soliciter In The Uk.
  • On: 08-10-2016
  • I'd suggest both parties invite your contacts and friends to help mediate this case.  YOu can post it on Facebook if you use it or send emails to a few friends and ask them to help by reviewing the case and add suggestions as to how it can be most fairly resolved.  That way we get both sides and some constructive solutions for resolution. 


  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Mr Sam Shepard On 07-07-2016
    They need to agree to be more transparent about placement and pass levels-- and let your son retake the course without charge.
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • 3
  • Contributed Solution: by Mr Kim Fox On 07-06-2016
    East San Gabriel should either allow your son to retake the course at no charge or refund your tuition-- providing you can prove that the instructor was hung over or that the course quality was otherwise sub-par. Failing in itself doesn't mean the course was lacking- even if a large % failed. More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
  • Question: by Jim Wicks (1638 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator
  • On: 07-06-2016
  • To the claimant: Can you say what the school promised in their catalog or advertising re the quality of training and what their program participants could expect? What were the expectations; what did students think they would get by taking the course?
  • 4
  • Contributed Solution: by J Petaluma On 07-03-2016
    Offer this student the chance to take the class again, free of charge More...
If you are a party to this claim, click here.
Is this a fair resolution?
Get fast access to our Resolver community, for...
  • help with a PeopleClaim or any other complaint
  • assistance with a purchase or contract
  • expert advice
Other PeopleClaim resolvers

Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.

Public Mediation

The shortest path from your problem to its resolution.
1
Peer to Peer

Engage the other party and use powerful tools to negotiate the best resolution.

Free
If Unresolved
2
Community Resolution

Post your case online and get help from legal professionals, industry experts, consumers & advocates competing to find the best resolution to your claim.

$14.99 + optional reward for best resolution
Full refund if not resolved to your satisfaction
If Unresolved
3
Private Mediation

Lets you mediate your case privately with the help of our professional mediators and industry experts.

Free to claimant. Mediator fees negotiable.
If Unresolved
4
Engage a Professional

Find the best community-reviewed professionals near you to resolve your issue in private online mediation or traditional court/mediation.

Resolution

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

I am (not) alone, and I feel the charm of existence in this spot, which was created for the bliss of souls like mine...~ Goethe

Get a public verdict — create an online trial $50 public trial / $50 reward for successful resolution
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.