My Claim vs. Dentfirst : $177,500.00

    • Status: In Negotiation
      This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
      (seeking public comment)
    • View response from: Dentfirst
    • Claimant Seeks: View.
    • Claim #: 3179873
    • Amount Involved: 177,500.00
    • Filed On: Dec 17, 2015
    • Posted On: Jan 26, 2016
    • Complaint(s):
      • Commercial / Other dispute
  • Notice: There is a $500 reward for the publicly-contributed resolution that resolves this case.
  • Review this case.
  • Propose your solution.
  • Win the reward (1,000)
Claimant's opinion:

1. Started with Dentfirst September 2011
2. Oral Surgeon pulled back teeth and left fragments embed - Dr. left practice
3. General Dentist pulled fragments and front teeth
4. Implants (two lower) by Periodontist, both were set incorrectly - Dr. left practice next day
5. Temporary dentures could not be made to fit and patient forced to go 6 months with no teeth
6. General Dentist could not make a set of lower dentures that would stay in mouth and charged additional fee to reline dentures - still could not fit without injury to gums and jaw
7. After many more office visits the dentist said he needed more time to get it right. After months of weekly calls to office with no results patient called to tell office manger she wanted a refund and was going to another dentist. Patient was asked to give the practice one more chance. She would see a new dentist because first general dentist had died!
8. Second General Dentist made a set of lower dentures that stayed in but caused so much pain they could not be used for eating. Upper dentures now could not be fit because the bone had receded too much.
9. According to the practice manager DentFirst's Periodontist could not do the upper implants that were now needed and a referral was made to another practice (at patient's own expense)
10. Patient left DentFirst's practice in August 2015 without a usable set of dentures.
11. We feel there has been a breach of contract.

Complaint(s) Involved (1) Hide
Commercial / Other Dispute
Exhibits View
What Claimant Wants
  • Claimant agrees to resolve this matter under the following proposed terms of settlement.
  • Status: In Negotiation
    This claim has posted for public comment and negotiation. It will remain posted until resolved to the claimant's satisfaction. Suggest a resolution to help these parties reach a settlement.
  • Dentfirst is asked to agree and settle or make a good-faith counteroffer, offer a rebuttal, or request additional information.
What By When How Much
1. Damages: cost of new dentures Mar 01, 2016 $40,000.00
2. Refund: dentures that did not fit Mar 01, 2016 $12,500.00
3. punitive d Mar 01, 2016 $125,000.00
4. Other – Copy claim to regulators Mar 01, 2016 $14.99
Cash total : $177,514.99
2.5 avg. rating / 16 participants
Response from Dentfirst Hide
  • DentFirst to claimant
  • Status: Rejected
    Respondent has rejected claimant's terms. This claim will remain posted until mutually acceptable terms are agreed to.
The claimant's settlement terms were rejected with the following explanation:
  • "We are very sorry to hear of any troubles you may have had with your dentist. We will be glad to discuss this with you directly. You can contact us at dharlin@dentfirst.com. "

This claim will remain posted until resolved.

Additional Communication Between Claimant and Dentfirst View
Help resolve this case. Earn negotiation points. See how it works.

Public opinion & settlement options Hide

The PeopleClaim community includes volunteers who are passionate about justice – consumer advocates, legal professionals, people with knowledge of specific industries and trades, and anyone who has useful suggestions to help disputing parties resolve a case.
Refresh
  • Show:
  • Sort by:
  • Contributed Solution: The dental office should not have to return any monies paid for services received. However, they should try to make the customer if it's within their expertise to do so. But it seems there is no way to make this customer satisfied. There should be no punitive damages given. Only refunds returned should be what was paid during the time wasted.
  • Resolution suggestion by Dave M (20 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 07-29-2017

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Reply: by Salmon Koenig (242 points) — Retired Lawyer. Now Mediating Civil Cases In Europe On: 07/29/2017

Why do you feel no compensation is due ? This person went through hell. Dentfirst should be ashamed and probably sued if they aren't going to resolve this in good faith

  • Contributed Solution: Dentfirst and the client shall agree on compensation to the extent of $100,000.00 and refund of amount of $12,500 for the pain and discomfort caused.
  • Resolution suggestion by VARTIKA MISRA (357 points) — A Law Student Having An Inclination Towards Solving Legal Disputes

    Contributed: 05-27-2017

  • Since Dentfirst owes the client an amount of $12,500 in addition to that Dentfirst should be responsible for any pain, discomfort or harm caused to the client during the course of the treatment. As a responsible body, it owes, more than monetary compensation, a sense of due diligence and commitment towards their work, which they have failed to exercise and as a result this constitutes a breach of their medical duty, hence compensation of $100,000.00 should be provided to the client as reparations for the harm caused.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
3
2 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: Minimally Dentfirst owes client a refund and some amount for time and pain caused by the delay. Since neither party wants trial, the consideration for the parties is payment and a resolution for one and minimizing collateral damages for the other.
  • Resolution suggestion by Jessica Lothman (563 points) — Marquette University Law Student

    Contributed: 04-29-2017

  • Dentfirst owes client $12,500 minimally--she came to Dentfirst with an issue that was never resolved; not only was it not resolve, it has been complicated by the delay. As consideration for this time, delay, and pain, Dentfirst owes client beyond the $12,500, but the cost should not be "punitive" rather it should be the cost of resolution. That is, if the cost of getting usable dentures was $40,000, then Dentfirst should pay that cost. The client attempted several times to resolve this issue with Dentfirst seeing several different practitioners during the process over many months and years--all to no avail. As such a final settlement of 52,500 addresses the client's issue--getting dentures.

    The client and Dentfirst also need to resolve the impact publically, personally, and professionally. The idea of using social media to damage the reputation of Dentfirst is one way to go, but is unlikely to lead to a settlement like the one offered above. To this end, I have a question, what is the client's end goal on this matter? I think Dentfirst owes client a personal apology and I think it is appropriate to report the company to the appropriate licensing board (State Dentistry Board, etc.) as the company not only failed to effectively treat the patient, but also did harm; but I think public smearing detracts from the end goal of resolution.  

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
1 participant have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: My solution is to turn this into a class action. Obviously Dentfirst isn't too worried about losing business and they don't care to mediate with the claimant. Is there a mechanism to reach other Dentfirst patients with similar issues?
  • Resolution suggestion by Dev Annand (190 points) — Engineer, Mediator, Cricket Fan

    Contributed: 04-26-2017


How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
2
1 participant have rated this solution
Reply: by Salmon Koenig (242 points) — Retired Lawyer. Now Mediating Civil Cases In Europe On: 07/29/2017

You'd need more plaintiffs for a class action.

  • Contributed Solution: if claimant seeking to a punitive damage, it better for him/her to resolve this issue though court instead of mediation or arbitration.
  • Resolution suggestion by su pang (428 points) — Law,Finance,Internet

    Contributed: 04-25-2017

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
3 participants have rated this solution
Reply: by Christopher Olson (28 points) — I Am An Attorney With 18 Years Experience Litigating And Mediating All Sorts Of Disputes. On: 04/25/2017

That's exactly right. Punitives are awarded in court only after outrageous conduct. Nobody in the history of time has voluntarily made them part of a settlement offer

Reply: by Dev Annand (190 points) — Engineer, Mediator, Cricket Fan On: 04/26/2017

But how realistic is putative damages here?

Reply: by Dev Annand — Engineer, Mediator, Cricket Fan On: 04/26/2017

anyone quote any case law here?

Reply: by Salmon Koenig (242 points) — Retired Lawyer. Now Mediating Civil Cases In Europe On: 07/29/2017

I don't follow your reasoning . Mediation should reach a better resolution than litigation and the parties would keep more of their money. Still if Dentfirst isn't going to engage like a responsible business , litigation may be the best course. Any lawyers out there interested in this case??

  • Contributed Solution: A review of DentFirst's responses reflects its ignorance of the claimant's time, money, and pain with getting the teeth fixed. I would suggest that the claimant contact DentFirst again detailing the damages that she seeks, especially elaborating on
  • Resolution suggestion by Jasmin Ellis-Logan (228 points) — Co-Editor-In-Chief At Usc Business Law Advisor

    Contributed: 04-24-2017

  • the punitive damages (switching dentists, going without teeth for 6 months, inability to eat food, damaged gums and teeth). The claimant should not back down from her initial demand. In the event that DentFirst fails to substantively respond to the claimant's demand, then the claimant has no choice but to sue. However, suit should not be filed yet until it is clear that DentFirst understands the severity of the claimant's injuries and demand for compensation.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
4.5
6 participants have rated this solution
Reply: by Christopher Olson (28 points) — I Am An Attorney With 18 Years Experience Litigating And Mediating All Sorts Of Disputes. On: 04/24/2017

A demand of $175,000.00, in my opinion, will fail to get serious attention. It is so excessive that a counter offer would be discouraged.

From my reading of the facts, this is not a case which would give rise to punitive damages. Further, let's not forget that the patient had issues before seeing Dentfirst and there is no admissible evidence to prove Dentfirst caused any additional issues.

Patient needed dentures so she went to Dentfirst. She paid $15,000 and didn't get any relief. Dentfirst should have refunded patient when it had the chance, but that ship has sailed.

By patient's own admission, there are no problems now that she has been fitted with a superior product which cost more than 250% more than the original set.

Patient would have to hire expensive expert witnesses to prevail on this set of facts. Absent a showing Dentfirst caused her condition to worsen, patient is probably only entitled to a refund plus some walking around money for the hassle.

Candidly, we don't have enough information as is. I am sure the patient has not set forth facts which warrant such a windfall absent more.

Reply: by Irene Gomez (282 points) — Paralegal With 8 Years Experience In Consumer And Personal Injury Law On: 05/01/2017

Great comment Christopher. A big part of mediating a dispute brining things down to reality and knowing what might happen if the case goes to court. I hope Dentfirst and the claimant will consider the terms you've laid out and settle. Although, that said, It does seem the claimant has gone though hell with this and probably should get some compensation beyond out of pocket recovery.

Reply: by Salmon Koenig (242 points) — Retired Lawyer. Now Mediating Civil Cases In Europe On: 07/29/2017

Very true.

  • Contributed Solution: I think that the claimant should take Dentfirst to court to get a refund because if they had done it right the first time the claimant wouldn't be having all this problem with their dentures. It's not the claimant fault that the dentures didn't fit.
  • Resolution suggestion by Jennie Alsobrooks (20 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 04-15-2017

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Reply: by Sam Shepard (168 points) — I Love Resolving Disputes On: 04/15/2017

Isn't the idea here to avoid court where the lawyers will end up with all the money?

  • Contributed Solution: My suggestion it to settle for a refund of money paid, e.g. the $12,500. I have mediated to settlement hundreds of cases and based on that experience, both sides will not like this suggestion but it will be much better than the alternative of trial.
  • Resolution suggestion by Keith Schulner (173 points) — Arbitrator, Mediator, With Mba, Master Of Dispute Resolution & Licensed Real Estate Broker

    Contributed: 04-12-2017

  • My suggestion it to settle for a refund of money paid, e.g. the $12,500. I have mediated to settlement hundreds of cases and based on that experience, both sides will not like this suggestion but it will be much better than the alternative of trial. Trial is expensive for both sides and the result is uncertain. Presently the claimant is getting nothing, so getting the $12,500 back and moving on would be beneficial. Likewise, the business could be losing profits because of this bad publicity. The can resolve this for a simple refund and avoid a malpractice case.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
4.3
15 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: $15,000 to claimaint. The amount paid to the potential Defendant is compensation for the non-fitting dentures as well as for the time and effort to procure new dentures.
  • Resolution suggestion by Christopher Olson (28 points) — I Am An Attorney With 18 Years Experience Litigating And Mediating All Sorts Of Disputes.

    Contributed: 03-29-2017

  • The amount sought is too high.    First, punitive damages would never be granted in this matter because there has been no evidence of intentional misconduct or gross negligence.   Further, the respondent attempted to make this better by seeing you on additional occasions.    The $40,000 paid for new dentures suggests that you procured a more expensive product, which is a betterment and not worthy of additional compensation.    For example, if you bought a $15,000 car that was not conforming, you can't receive $70,000 for a much more expensive vehicle.   You might be entitled to $15,000 and your time and hassle which would suggest that you buy the same quality car from another dealer.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
4.2
8 participants have rated this solution
Reply: by Stephanie Moore — Online mediator On: 04/05/2017

i would say client take it and run with because the amount being offered should be more than suitable . no one died nor suffered beyond help in this matter

Answered By: Stephanie Moore — Online mediator On: 04/05/2017

no sir mine were free and there was not a warranty

  • Contributed Solution: Hi Client or Customer My Questions are as follow: What was the original payment plan? Installations or do you have a health insurance?Make a complaint to BBB in the state you are in and the school of Dntistry. Do your homework don't delay.
  • Resolution suggestion by ONNECIA BROWN (41 points) — Criminal Justice Student If You Can't Walk 🏃. If You Cannt Run Crawl. Dont Give Up Keep M

    Contributed: 01-15-2017

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
4
2 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: I think that's way to much for a settlement. If you took care of your teeth and gums to begin with you wouldn't have to wait for your gums and bones to heal for dentures.
  • Resolution suggestion by Kelly Hodges (22 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 01-07-2017

  • First of all you can't get false teeth ..right after other teeth are pulled.  Because of the swelling. 

    And it takes time to get it right. 


How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
4 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: The process is to let the company know that she is willing to negotiate with the involvement of and unbiased dental professional that would analyze the situation and make a statement on the record that can be used either for a trial or mediation
  • Resolution suggestion by Ortis Pyronneau (21 points) — Doctoral Candidate In Field Of Conflict Analysis & Resolution At Nova Southeastern Universi

    Contributed: 01-06-2017











  • The company is responsible for the actions of its employee
    and in a court setting, the award of punitive damages might be higher because of
    the permanent damages the malpractice caused the patient. The patient’s best
    alternative to the negotiated agreement will always be to take her case to the
    court and let a jury decide on the situation. I do not believe that a jury will
    pardon the DENTFIRST for an act that seems deliberate due to the fact that they
    use the client for practice.



    The process is to let the company know that she is willing
    to negotiate with the involvement of a third party unbiased dental professional
    that would analyze the situation and make a statement on the record that can be
    used either for a trial or the next step of a negotiation. I would suggest get
    in contact with DENTFIRST again and give them your position and that if this
    fail they may be looking at a higher payout. I would suggest to look into the
    highest payout on medical malpractice for dental procedure in your state and a
    national average and to let them know what they may be facing.

    you can adjust the demand based on what a third party dentist will tell you
    about the severity of that problem. And if they want you to see an expert to
    ask that they pay for the consultation as part of the dispute resolution
    process.



How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
2 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: If any of the dentists involved are members of the local Dental Society, the patient could go through their Peer Review system to help resolve the issue. If not, they could consider filing a complaint with the State Dental Board.
  • Resolution suggestion by Robert Haake (63 points) — General Dentist In Practice For Over 30 Years.

    Contributed: 12-12-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Reply: by Sam Shepard (168 points) — I Love Resolving Disputes On: 12/16/2016

Robert, Do you feel the terms claimant is asking for are appropriate given what information they've posted here? Any thoughts how a peer review board would apt to rule and what they might award? It might help both parties to add that perspective here.

Thx.

  • Contributed Solution: I think the dentist should pay up
  • Resolution suggestion by Daniel Kissick (41 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 10-13-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
2 participants have rated this solution
Reply: by Irving Eckstein — I Am A Dds Orthodontist And A Dentist And A Pharmacist On: 11/30/2016

Try unfair

Reply: by Dev Annand (190 points) — Engineer, Mediator, Cricket Fan On: 04/26/2017

That seems to be the consensus here Danial. Whether or not the clamant is entitled to punitive damages or ancillary cost can be debated but everyone here seems to agree they need to make it right and help this poor patient. Assume Dentfirst is a dental chain more concerned about their bottom line back as corporate than the patient's welfare? Anyone know?

  • Contributed Solution: Responding full refund sufficient to get the proper dentures plus reasonable compensation for pain and suffering- to be negotiated privately between the parties.
  • Resolution suggestion by Sandra Jovan (329 points) — I Love Helping Mediate Cases In Real Estate, Investments And Divorce

    Contributed: 10-07-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
1 participant have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: Go on twitter start with @ then their name. Start complaining. This will wake them up this is their reputation, they will want you to direct message them. This is how I got my claim started. I just woke up @ Tylenol.
  • Resolution suggestion by Teresa Morgan Smith (199 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 10-07-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
5
1 participant have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: seems he wants to talk. if h and you cannot work out a solution i would tell him you are going to report him to dental board ad very review and claim site there is, tell local news in his area about issue, make and a vid for youtube. this was my sol
  • Resolution suggestion by Cae McCreary (40 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 09-20-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
1 participant have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: Should be granted the cost of a new pair of dentures, plus some money for inconvenience.
  • Resolution suggestion by Natalie Deuitch (41 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 09-01-2016

  • The claimants goal was to receive properly fitting dentures, and thus the end goal of this claim should be to receive that service as initially promised. If the dentist office in question cannot provide satisfactory dentures, the patient should be either fully reimbursed for the dentures they had purchased, or should be given the amount of money needed to purchase a new set at a different dentist who does think they are capable to handle the job. I think the claimant should receive some sort of compensation for inconvenience (not having teeth for 6 months - yikes!) however, I don't think that the proposed $125,000 is appropriate. I think more along the lines of $5,000 would be more than fair. 

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
4
1 participant have rated this solution
Reply: by Teresa Morgan Smith (199 points) — Online mediator On: 10/07/2016

No teeth for 6 months. How humiliating. Dentures now are nor correct. They need to reimburse you plus make you happy. This will get their attention. Find them on Twitter start but don't finish you're complaint. They will panic, this is their name/ Brand. They will want to talk. That's how I got attention to start my claim

  • Contributed Solution: This seems to be a case of incompetent dentistry. I would think for the sake of their reputation they would offer to give her the care she needs and some compensation for what shes been through.
  • Resolution suggestion by Mary Delaney (21 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 08-27-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
1
1 participant have rated this solution
Reply: by Matt Murphy (20 points) — Mediator With Years Of Legal Experience. Give Me A Case And I'll Get It Settled On: 08/21/2016

Don't know but its an important part of the process.

Reply: by Teresa Morgan Smith (199 points) — Online mediator On: 10/07/2016

Matt I have a case on people claim. Take a look. I asked for ungodly amount, but added what I want to make me happy. Teresa vs Allergen pharmasuticals. You will be rewarded if you can get what will make me happy. Promise

  • Contributed Solution: When dental work wasnt done correctly the 1st time it leads to future problems and even health risks i say claimant is entitled to full refunds and at bbq least a percentage of punitive damages. Fair to claimant who was apparently wronged.
  • Resolution suggestion by Hiram Wright (20 points) — I Am Part Time Uber Driver And Part Time Private Dj Look Up Nostalgia Pro Djs On Mixcloud Soundcloud

    Contributed: 07-07-2016

  • 1st leaving teeth fragments is unacceptable

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
3
5 participants have rated this solution
Reply: by Natalie Deuitch (41 points) — Online mediator On: 09/01/2016

Hmm I wish this response was more specific. I think everyone is in agreement that there should be some sort of compensation, the question is just how much.

  • Contributed Solution: Contact the Georgia State Dentistry Department than the American Dental Association
  • Resolution suggestion by April Pollefeyt (211 points) — Pre Law Student

    Contributed: 07-03-2016

  • I would suggest contacting the Georgia State Department on Dentistry Regulation Georgia Dental Association
    Ms. Martha S. Phillips
    Executive Director
    7000 Peachtree Dunwoody Road, NE
    Suite 200, Building 17
    Atlanta, GA 30328-1655
    404.636.7553 (Office)
    404.633.3943 (Fax)
    phillips@gadental.org
    www.gadental.org

    I would attempt to use them as a mediator and then file a claim if possible with the Dentifirst insurance carrier you should be able to obtain this and further guidance from Georgia
    John Oxendine, Commissioner      Office: 404.656.2070
    Georgia Department of Insurance      Fax: 404.657.8542
    2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive      800.656.2298 (State Only)
    West Tower, 704
    Atlanta, GA  30334

    Upon contacting these two agency's that regulate fraud and erroneous behavior and malpractice with this field they should be able to apply a little press with the whole complaint investigation process in order to gain the results in which you are seeking or in the least a  way to at least get them to be  more receptive to your needs

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
3
5 participants have rated this solution
Reply: by Mark Deuitch (154 points) — Ceo And Co Founder Of Peopleclaim. On: 07/07/2016

I'd agree with April, but the idea here is also to post a resolution that both parties can agree to. April can you do that? I'd love to hear under what terms you feel the case could be fairly resolved.

Thanks

Reply: by Mark Deuitch (154 points) — Ceo And Co Founder Of Peopleclaim. On: 07/07/2016

I'd agree with April, but the idea here is also to post a resolution that both parties can agree to. April can you do that? I'd love to hear under what terms you feel the case could be fairly resolved.

Thanks

Reply: by April Pollefeyt (211 points) — Pre Law Student On: 07/07/2016

I feel that the Dentist are liable and should without a doubt fully repair the damages that have incurred thus far. I would think that the claimant would reduce apart of the claim if the Dentist could make the claimant happy and comfortable. The issue is usually the company not wanting to refund monetary adjustments but fixing the claimant's issues and offering maybe the amount of time spent on trying to receive the proper services should be offered maybe in services or visits that would make the exchange seem fair for both sides. Offering the claimant services or maybe an extra pair of dentures or products may suffice and alleviate the on going back and forth.

  • Contributed Solution: the claimant should receive a refund minus the percentage for the extractions of the bottom teeth and dentfirst should pay the fees for the operation for her to get the replacements from a third party
  • Resolution suggestion by Jonesha Taylor (42 points) — Met The Founder In A Peete's Coffee And I Am Interested In Helping

    Contributed: 06-25-2016

  • if the claimant was to receive dentures than her teeth would have to be removed in the first place as for the incorrect implants and the dentures that did not fit were both due to practices on behalf of dentfirst and the specialist that was picked for her operation, the insufficient time in between rectification and error it would only be just if they saw the promise to the end and did everything in their power to help the client get what she came there for.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
3.3
3 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution: Claimant should ask for full pay from Dentfirst.
  • Resolution suggestion by Aline Gadson — My Name Is Aline Gadson. I Am A Trained Certified Paralegal.

    Contributed: 06-19-2016

  • Good. Dentfirst has responded to your claim. Claimant should ask for a fair pay for resolution.  

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
  • Contributed Solution: Counter offer a percentage off her billed expenses. Help her get this resolved in the most professional way possible without adding more expenses to it.
  • Resolution suggestion by Teresa Shipley (220 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 06-15-2016

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
  • Contributed Solution: Dentfirst needs to respond to this claim with a monetary settlement offer to compensate the claimant for her suffering.
  • Resolution suggestion by Nina Tina — I Am A Medical Student Who Enjoys Finding Solutions To Disputes.

    Contributed: 06-02-2016

  • 1. She needs to have someone take a video of her describing her experience with Dentfirst and detailing the suffering that she went through and having anyone who witnessed it, say a few words about it, and then post this through people claim to as many social sites as she can and as many review sites as she can and go through people with really active social media presences who are willing to share her story.


    2. The claimant should gather all the documentation that she has that support the monetary amount that she is asking for, such as the receipt for cost of dentures, as well as any and all receipts from her visits and charges at Dentfirst, as well as any written communication she has had with Dentfirst - and following that, upload all these supporting documents and pieces of evidence that support her claim, to peopleclaim.com


    3. At this point, the goal would be to have generated enough public attention, as well as a strong enough online claim through peopleclaim.com, in order to elicit a response from Dentfirst, and then mediate with Dentfirst and the claimant through peopleclaim.com to reach a resolution that meets the monetary compensation that is sufficient for the pain and suffering detailed in this claimant's case. 


    4. Once the claim is resolved with Dentfirst, and the claimant has received proper compensation for expenses and loss of quality of life, the fact that a resolution was reached will be made public such that Dentfirst will be recognized as a provider that is present in issues involving their patients and their establishment as a whole.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
  • Contributed Solution: Trial and Error
  • Resolution suggestion by Dina Garcia — Online mediator

    Contributed: 05-04-2016

  • I also experienced similar troubles with dentures to the extent I have been toothless for several years and resigned myself to accept it, I really do understand. Dentistry like medicine, is a practice, not a profession. It Texas they are merely given 8 hours continuing education for "practicing" on patience while under the influence of illicit drugs. No jail, no bond, no suspension of license. Nothing.

    Going to court means nothing. I have (won) a 30K court judgment and can not collect a dime. I even tried to sell it and can't get $5000.00 for it. So that's a waste of money.

    I would recommend contacting your elected officials, but that didn't really work out either.

    You could bash them on every website you can find, but yea that didn't work either.

    I once picketed a business, and yes, I  got their attention quick and a resolution immediately.

    So I would say grab a marker and cardboard box, write your message on it. Put it on a stick, and start marching in front of the business.

    BEST WISHES

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
  • Contributed Solution:
  • Resolution suggestion by Mark Deuitch (137 points) — I Love Helping People Resolve Complex Problems And Seeing Justice Served.

    Contributed: 04-25-2016

  • Dentfirst.  Why are you stonewalling this claimant?  It doesn't reflect well on your business practices IMO that you refuse to discuss this claim openly and make a good faith offer to settle.  Hiding behind your lawyers might be expedient but its not good business!!!.     My suggestion is that you make an offer to settle this matter and dispose of it once and for all.    I would imagine the claimant would be willing to take less than they are demanding if you showed some concern for their situation.  You at least owe it to them to respond beyond the CYA response of asking them to contact you outside of PeopleClaim.   Man-up Dentfirst.  Im sure your patients will think more of you. 

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Answered By: Dev Annand (190 points) — Engineer, Mediator, Cricket Fan On: 04/26/2017

read the full post please.

  • Contributed Solution:
  • Resolution suggestion by Jim Wicks (41 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator

    Contributed: 03-30-2016

  • RECOMMENDATION. If the facts of the case are as described by the plaintiff, she would appear to be a victim of professional incompetence (and unprofessional behavior) resulting in monetary expense, loss of her teeth, and considerable suffering and inconvenience over a four-year period. DentFirst should reimburse her for all out-of-pocket expense incurred at DentFirst, and any further expense outside DentFirst for remedial dental work. It seems to me DentFirst owes her additional damages as well, though it's hard to say what a fair amount would be. DentFirst says it is open to discussion, and the plaintiff should certainly take them up on this to find out what they have in mind before she pursues more serious action.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
4
2 participants have rated this solution
  • Contributed Solution:
  • Resolution suggestion by CHRISTOPHER MARTIN (20 points) — Online mediator

    Contributed: 03-03-2016

  • (1) I would file complaint against the dentists involved, with the Georgia Board Of Dentistry. You can file using the online complaint form by accessing their website (http://gbd.georgia.gov) The Board investigates complaints of alleged violations of the Georgia Dental Practice Act. The Board can take disciplinary action against each dentist involved, which will help bring awareness to future patients and will also support your lawsuit.
    (2) File civil suit against DentFirst and each dentist involved (breach of contract, medical malpractice, negligence, injury, etc) You will most likely be required to provide an affidavit from an Expert Witness in order to file suit. An Expert Witness in your case would be another dentist (a health care provider in the same medical field as the ones you're filing suit against) The affidavit or report prepared by the Expert Witness would consist of written testimony discussing the injuries and suffering you experienced as a result of the poor quality of care you received from the dentists at DentFirst. You of course will need a lawyer in order to file suit, things will start getting expensive, however, there are attorneys that will take payment after you win your case. Make sure you file suit before the statues of limitations expire in your state. (3) WORSE CASE SCENARIO!!!! If you find yourself in a situation where you can't file a civil suit for whatever reason (can't afford it, not enough time, etc) File a claim through Small Claims court against DentFirst and the dentists involved. You can sue for the maximum amount allowed through small claims court, which is $10,000. No where near the amount you're already out, but it's better than nothing. No lawyers are used in small claims court, so you wouldn't have to worry about that. The costs to file would be waived since your only receiving SSA for income. 9 times out of 10, when it comes to a business, they will just pay and settled before going to court because they cannot use an attorney and it would end up costing them more money than it would to just pay the $10,000. You have a very strong case and I wish you the best of luck in whatever you choose to do for resolution. God Bless

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Public rating
0
-5
5
2
1 participant have rated this solution
Reply: by Ghazalle S. Hosseini — I Enjoy Helping People Resolve Disputes. On: 04/25/2016

To my understating small claims courts will not take cases if you are seeking higher than the award limited. So it seems to me this case in not eligible for small claims. Also if there was a judgment wouldn't that preclude the claimant seeking the redress for the balance of the amount they are seeking. It seems to me you will be taking a big risk with small claims unless you will be satisfied with the maximum of award limit for small claims in Georgia.

Reply: by Alberta Britt — Online mediator On: 05/31/2016

It may be difficult to obtain another Dentist as an expert witness. They are benevolent to one the other and rarely testify against each other. The code of silence amongst professionals. Hopefully we can brainstorm and come up with an amicable resolution. I lost my husband due to product defect and it's a very steep mountain to climb. NO pun intended but it's like pulling teeth.

  • Contributed Solution:
  • Resolution suggestion by Aline Gadson — My Name Is Aline Gadson. I Am A Trained Certified Paralegal.

    Contributed: 03-02-2016

  • PL Gadson: It seems like the Company DentFirst is not very much concerned about you. It is clear you paid them for services and they did not do their job. Maybe you should try going to a Legal Service where you can sue for the full amount of pain and suffering they caused you in the process of giving you dental care. I feel you should ask for more money and for a full resolution of the problem. I feel they were wrong to leave you in the way they did by not clearing out the broken pieces of teeth from the gums. They should not have incorrectly set in the implants causing you extra pain. They should not have taken so long to fit you for the upper denture. Plus you were paying for these procedures. You should pursue this in a higher court. You want to ask for full reimbursement of what you paid them and also more money for your case of Dental Malpractice.

How would you rate this solution?
  • Unfair
  • 0
  • Very Fair
-5
5
Reply: by Jim Wicks (41 points) — Former Atip Intern, Occasional Contributor And Moderator On: 04/04/2016

Who is "PL Gadson"?

Case Summary

This summary is provided by a third-party contributor and may not fully represent the views of the claimant. Viewers are encouraged to read full details on the left side of the page.

by moderator: Jim

Case involves a series of dental procedures that patient claims left her with substantial debt, suffering, and inconvenience — and no teeth. Claimant is on social security, has no other income, and seeks damages and refund totaling more than $177,000.


Help resolve this case

Read the full claim details, add your suggested resolution, and win the reward.
Need help resolving a dispute? Learn more.
Invite a mediator to help get your claim resolved fairly.
Important: All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.
Claims against parties operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.

*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.