Claim #9389761 against: Allstate Insurance Co

    • Claimant Seeks: 3 non-monetary items.
    • Claim NO: #9389761
    • This is claim 1 of 1 by claimant.
    • Amount Involved: $0.00
    • Filed On: Oct 09, 2011
    • Posted On: Oct 24, 2011
    • Bad business practices

The Complaint

What happened

Claimant's opinion:

Allstate Insurance Company canceled our homeowners insurance without warning. We have had homeowners insurance with them for probably going on 30 years. We received a notice that they had canceled our homeowners insurance and we had an outstanding balance of $55.44. They said the payment was due in July 2011 and the cancellation letter was dated August 23, 2011. The agent claims that we would have gotten several prior notifications. If we had received any prior notifications I would have saved them. I go through my mail, and deal with what needs attention and then save all incoming mail for 3 months or more before I clean it out. If we had received a bill I would have payed it! There was not one bill or notification in my back mail only an advertisement from Allstate wanting us to combine our car and homeowners insurance. I believe the cancellation was a ploy to get us to switch over our car insurance to Allstate. The agent even said as much when I called to talk to them about our cancellation. We cannot switch our car insurance at this time so she refused to rewrite or reinstate our homeowners insurance.

Bad Business Practices
  • Policy issue
  • Misrepresentation or fraud
  • Negligence causing harm
  • Poor customer service
  • Unfair practice

We really need help resolving this issue. My husband is suffering from liver failure and I have had to take on all the household duties myself, then I was blind sided by this. Where is people's humanity!

  • Sep 07, 2012, Allstate Insurance Co (responding party) added:
  • I’ve sent Ms. Harrison a letter in an attempt to address any issues. Due to privacy concerns, the details regarding our conversations and exchanges cannot be posted here for public view.


What Claimant Wants

  • Terms under which Allstate Insurance Co can satisfy this claimant
  • Status: In Negotiation
Non Cash settlement
What By When How Much
1. Replace: Reinstate our home owners insurance Oct 24, 2011
2. Apology: for not honoring our long history with the company Oct 24, 2011
3. Change of policy: We should be able to get our homeowners insurance from this company after all the years we have been with them without having to switch our car insurance! Oct 24, 2011
*In the event this company is operating under bankruptcy protection, see notice at the bottom of this page.

All information contained herein is the opinion of the posting parties, who are solely responsible for its content. PeopleClaim offers both free and paid services to help consumers, patients, employee, tenants, and others resolve disputes without lawyers or courts, through negotiated online settlement and public disclosure of wrongdoing or unfair treatment.

Help resolve this claim - Get good karma and earn points.

Get Free alerts when claims post in your area.
Get Alert
Learn more about PeopleClaim
  • What is PeopleClaim?
  • How does PeopleClaim work?
  • What kinds of claims can I file on PeopleClaim?
*Important: Claimants are advised that claims against a party operating under bankruptcy protection, by law must be processed solely through the appropriate US bankruptcy court. Any claims against this party currently posted on PeopleClaim are available for purposes of public business review only and are not an attempt to collect money or recover assets subject to protections under the United States Bankruptcy Code.
*IMPORTANT: PeopleClaim is a public dispute resolution system, independent of the BBB, small claims court, or other dispute resolution services. PeopleClaim is not a law firm and does not provide legal services, opinions, or advice. PeopleClaim facilitates peer-to-peer negotiation and resolution and crowdsourced input on issues of fairness to help resolve complaints. Users should contact professional legal counsel on any matters of law or regulation regarding their claims. PeopleClaim does not review or evaluate the merits of claims submitted through its site, and users are solely responsible for all content filed in their claims.